We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with top notch service”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #52 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with top notch service”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We'd spent quite a bit of time researching South Beach hotels and settled on this one. Yes, we knew it was next door to the Clevelander which is quite the party hotel, but the Essex is really very different. The building itself is historic and very well preserved and maintained - but its quite contemporary inside. We opted for the cheaper standard room which was spacious with a very comfortable bed and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. Free wifi was a bonus and useful. The pool was really nice - on the small side but very well managed and nice and leafy/garden like as pools go. Whats best though is the very cool barman delivers really excellent drinks to the pool area - and with an extended happy hour, its all too easy to take an extra Pina Colada and lounge the afternoon away :)

They have towels for the beach which was nice, and the front desk was awesome.

The only (minor) negative is the Clevelander next door - but we had a room that faced it and had no issues sleeping. After living in the middle of a city for many years it was actually quieter - and the A/C muffled anything else.

Would we stay here again ? Absolutely. We had a spectacular time and Miami exceeded our expectations. Great restaurants, very cool bars (try the Sky bar at the Shore Club) and amazing cuban food.

The Essex House and her staff made us feel the most welcome we've felt in a long time. Great job!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    701
    216
    68
    57
See reviews for
299
779
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We found this hotel on trip advisor and the reviews were right. Fantastically helpful staff, we stayed in Suite 10, huge bath!!!
Our children were put in a room that someone had smoked in and moved immediately when we mentioned it.
Good dipping pool, and lovely cocktails at the Clevelander

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulip54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelander-MGT, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your "Fantastic Experience". We will look forward to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The hotel is located right behind the Clevelander, of which it is a sister hotel, and the location was perfect in relation to other bars, restaurants, and the beach. The stay was with a couple of buddies during the 3-day Presidents Day weekend, so we thought any of the decent hotels would be booked solid. We lucked out with this one as they did have a room available, and were very happy with our stay. The only negative was the construction noise outside on the street which got a little loud, but was no fault of the hotel's. The staff was courteous and helpful - in particular, Gina. We had a question about our bill and how it was itemized. She wasted no time in understanding our question, going into the office, and coming back with an answer. She printed another document outlining the items on the bill and made sure we were ok with what was there. She did all this happily and professionally and represented the staff at the Essex well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbhatt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelander-MGT, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and location of the Essex House Hotel. We will definitely recognize Gina for representing well our associates.
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Essex House was a great option for our group of friends over President's Day long weekend. Service was friendly and helpful from check in, ordering extra towels to activities recommendations. The rooms were clean, good sized with new carpet and furnishings.Most importantly the beds were comfortable and had nice sheets.
The location was 1 block from the beach and Ocean Drive. Bike rentals were just across the street and Lincoln St., News Cafe, Pizza Rustica, La Sandwicherie and Wet Willie's were all within a 3 block radius. Cab rides at to reach the nightlife were inexpensive; no more than $10 to reach our further destination. Also, Guests at the Essex House are given full access to their sister hotel The Clevelander Hotel with their 2 sundecks.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight_Risk_Sunbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelander-MGT, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities our sister property, the Clevelander, has to offer. Hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had booked 5 nights at a different SoBeach hotel and it didn't suit us so we stayed one night and sought out another 'by foot'. The Essex House is sister property to the Clevelander, a hopping night spot on Ocean Drive...however, the EH is just around the corner on Collins and is quiet and private. It's from the 1930s, and has a beautiful lobby, veranda, and small private pool at the side. The rooms are all nicely renovated and comfortable although on the small side (esp the bathroom). There is no safe, no clock radio and no drawers, but overall the room was very comfortable for our 4 night stay.
The hotel should be very proud of it's staff, especially Gina at the front desk (a real jewel..and asset)...and Jamal one of the bellmen who we dealt with the most..In addition, the barman (oops don't have his name) from Hawaii was most hospitable and friendly.Happy Hour is from 4 to 9pm! EH offers free use of the internet in the lobby in a private setting here as well.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelander-MGT, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Our treasure is to have our guests leaving completely satisfied with their stay and the amenities we have to offer. I am glad you met many of our friendly associates and will be staying with us again! Thank you for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I just had the most unique experiance with the Essex House reservations department. It has been my experiance that your typical rep can help you with dates and prices. Well ok.. you may ask "what more do you expect"... I have to say I expect service with a smile and Miss Philomese C. DID NOT dissappoint. She was extremely knowlegeable about the property AND the area attractions. I had several difficult questions and she took the time to ask my permission to place me hold (OUTSTANDING by the way) in order to provide a thorough answer. Im very pleased and excited about my impending March stay at ESSEX HOUSE!

If this is the level customer service attitude displayed through out the hotel I'm looking forward to QUITE the EXPERIANCE! Kudos Essex House!

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
Thank NSM2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelander-MGT, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback!
Here, at the Essex House Hotel, we strive to provide an exceptional service to all of our guests and we are glad to hear that you experienced it from the reservations department.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My wife and I spent one night at the Essex House and we were looking forward to see this Art Deco gem from the inside -- and we were not disappointed. The patio, pool area and lobby are beautiful, and we found the rooms to be clean and spacious. The elevator is a little slow, but it is only a 3 floor hotel, so we used the stairs. The only negative was that we checked in on Sunday and had to wai for a while as they were behind in preparing our room. Small thing -- we headed for the beach, which is only a block away. Overall, a lovely piece of art history and a pleasure to have stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelander-MGT, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed this unique Art Deco Hotel. Our rooms and public areas were recently refurbished so it its great to know that all of our guests are enjoying the new decor and cleanliness.
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing