We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and nice hotel at good price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #43 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and nice hotel at good price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The Essex House hotel was really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and serviceminded. We slept really well in comfy bed. Didnt hear any of the noice from the busy area around ocean drive. The breakfast was more and better Than expected, bagels or toast with Philadelphia, butter or jam only though but also Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, muffin and other sweet bun, orange juice and coffee served in Their bar/restaurant. All really good and enough to start the day.You could sit inside close to the bar where the breakfast is served or outside next to the street and poolside. One minus is the shower which sometimes took time to have warm water. Really close to a nice swim on south beach. I recommend you rent bicycles and go a bit north where the beach is cleaner and not as crowded but the hotel has a nice location. Close to shopping on Lincoln mall and other stores around and also some entertainment, restaurants, clubs, bars on ocean drive if you are in to that. We didnt like ocean drive that much, Busy, partying touristic etc but it didnt disturb us at all. It was nice to see. The hotel truly is priceworthy. Bus stop not far away to take you to down town, aventura mall or the AirPort!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    625
    185
    59
    47
See reviews for
250
685
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was here for a bachelorette party the second weekend in August. When I checked out we took care of our bill. The next week I saw a 170 charge on my card. I've been calling the hotel for 3 days and leaving messages but no one had returned my phone call for an explanation. I wanted to see if we could clear this up before I take the next step but as you can see from their unprofessionalism and scamming ways they do not care.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna2881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed there for three nights and the service standards were exceptional. Modest but perfectly acceptable room complimented by outstanding service by all staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment which is close to the beach and popular restaurant and entertainment strip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just returned home after a wonderful stay at the Essex House. The location is ideal for shopping, eating and beaching. No need for a car once you arrive.

First impressions: Great A/C on a very hot summer day, extremely friendly front desk service, and time-capsule-like (but somehow modern) lobby decor. Felt like we walked into the 1920's

Rooms were small and visibly old (for example, I imagine there are at least 20 layers of paint on those interior walls), BUT the furnishings are modern and very comfortable. And the room had a HUGE closet. The bathroom is small, but clean and bright. In short, this is not a dime-a-dozen chain hotel. It's a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel with history and character. And it was lovely! (The elevator in particular was like a time machine. Loved it.)

We purchased dessert in the hotel restaurant one night. Delicious treats, with excellent/pleasant service. We also took advantage of the free breakfast in the morning. It was the typical self-serve, "continental" fare and, in my opinion, a nice extra at this hotel. Not having to "hunt" in the morning is always a relaxing feature.

In closing, my absolute favorite aspect of this hotel was the outstanding customer service. Friendly, personable, helpful. I don't usually comment on this aspect of a hotel because I believe "good" customer service to be a standard requirement. But at the Essex House, it was exceptional and worth noting. No pretensions or fake-ness. These are real folks, enjoying what they do and making your trip memorable.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful stay at Essex. The staff is awesome, and very nice ! We stayed 13 nights, our room was always cleaned. I liked the proximity from the beach, ocean drive and everything else. I definitely recommend it !!

It's also pretty quiet, what I liked, especially because ocean drive is not.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. We stayed from Saturday to Tuesday. Many reviews commented on the noise from the Clevelander, we couldn't hear a thing once in the hotel. We stayed on the first floor. Room was small but clean, water pressure could be better. Staff is excellent. Will definitely stay there again. Beach is right around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location, very nice staff, rooms well decorated and clean, beds confortables, close to everything (beach, restaurants, shopping). The beach is really beautiful, nice, clear and warm water.Would definitely go back and recommand it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendirgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#47 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#83 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing