We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #43 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent the weekend in South Beach recently and booked The Essex House after having walked through it on an earlier trip. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted warmly by every staff member we saw. The front desk staff were very nice and upgraded us to a suite (we had booked a king room). Our room was very large with a sitting area which was nice. After we discovered that the air conditioning wasn't working well in our room, we were immediately moved to a new suite. There is a complimentary guest happy hour in the bar from 4:30-5:30 every day - go early! They offer free sushi and other appetizers but when they run out, they run out. They also have drink and appetizers specials during happy hour which is from 4:00-7:00 every evening. The bartenders are AMAZING! Julio, Jose and Kevin all go out of their way to make happy hour HAPPY. They're great guys and we really enjoyed hanging out in the bar with them. There are a lot of great places to eat within a short walk. For good lattes and Italian coffee, try Pinocchio on 8th Street which is just 2 blocks away. And for great Cuban food, go to Puerto Sagua which is 3 or 4 blocks up Collins Avenue (towards 5th Avenue). Oh and another plus...the front desk has free bottled waters and beach towels for hotel guests, you just have to ask. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a suite, be sure to ask for Suite #1-8. They're located outside the hotel in an adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    619
    184
    59
    45
See reviews for
247
673
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We are a couple in our early 30's travelling from Australia. We are in the US to learn about the culture, rather than party, so we were initially hesitant when we realized that our 'sister' hotel next door was party central.

But our fears were unfounded. The walls and windows are amazingly sound proof, and we didn't hear a thing.

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but is very well kept on the inside. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and lots of restaurants.

I would definitely recommend the Essex House Hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyntheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. The staff were terrific - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a clean and tastefully decorated art deco building in a convenient location that is within walking distance of all the South Beach area. The room was clean and comfortable. The daily inclusive breakfast was delicious and got our days off to a great start. Fun happy hour nightly as well. Was a treat to sit out on the spacious terrace beautifully landscaped and enjoy the passing rainstorms without feeling like were were on display to pedestrians walking by the property.
Will definitely be back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this gem to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

All I can say is hats off to this hotel. It's great. The staff are great, rooms a little outdated but very clean. I had to point out a few staff members who deserve recognition. First and foremost I'd like to thank Zabria (I asked her to pronounce it and spell it for me a few times haha) she was extremely welcoming and helpful, she made sure i had everything i needed when i needed it. i had to meet the girl behind the phone when i was checking out. Also a great young woman named Kara at the front desk was extremely professional and warm. she made my check out process very smooth. I also got the pleasure in having a bellman named Wally assist me when checking in, he told us many things we can do in miami and kept us laughing the whole time. the room was very clean through out our stay. my partner and i were so happy we decided to stay here for our little get away. I will definitely be coming back and recommending this hotel to my friends !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaraski W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent! Especially the concierge Germaine! He will help to make your stay incredibly memorable! Thank you! The Essex hotel is a great place to stay with clean rooms and a good location. You will have a great time! But make sure you talk to Germaine!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnVeilleux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Essex House over the 4th July weekend and everything was amazing. The service and the location (right near the beach as well as the south beach shopping district) were great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in early and check out late. The cocktails at Zen Sai within the hotel were delicious. There was a great variety at breakfast. Basically there were no downsides to this hotel. A must if staying in Miami Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank issyacdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I didn't book it, the best man did. We went for the WMC and I have to say i wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. Great staff, banging happy hour and the rooms were pretty good. Awesome art deco building with a great reception area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stotie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#55 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#51 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing