We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #42 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The staff is one of the things that really make this Hotel stand out from the rest. Everyone is helpful and friendly, all the time. One can hardly feel more welcome in a Hotel. The Rooms are a little small, and the AC noisy, but that is the only downside in this place, everything else is top. Location is fantastic, despite the proximity to clubs and Ocean drive it is not at all noisy. Prices are not low, but reasonable for what is offered and where it is. I will most certainly stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    619
    184
    59
    46
See reviews for
247
674
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Fact, this hotel is probably one of the best in Miami. It truly deserves a 4* rating in my opinion. I booked this hotel via Hotwire and was not disappointed. I was travelling with my partner and our 16 year old daughter so were given a suite just off the garden area more or less next door to their sister hotel The Clevelander. We did not hear a sound from such a lively place. The room was well equipped with the most comfortable bed and linen we had stayed in within our 2 week stay. Just wished we had stayed here on our inbound journey as well as outbound. The staff were amazing, not only in the hotel but in the Japanese restaurant adjoining the hotel. The food and house wine are amazing and worth a try on the tasting menu early bird menu which is free to try. South beach is a small walk away as are all the best shops that you can shop til you drop. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the South Beach area as it is excellent value for money and bang on location.

Room Tip: the suites in the garden area had 2 double beds and were huge with Jacuzzi bath's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

By far the best place I could have stayed in Miami. It's not only such a cute hotel right off of the beach, but it also gives you 100% access to the clevelander! You get the quiet relaxed Essex and the super party style clevelander. The room is some what small, but good for what it's used for, sleeping. The bathroom is very modern and the entire room is spotless. Staff is very accommodating, and the Essex bar is a nice escape from the crowd on the streets. I highly recommend the restaurant! This location is perfect distance to just about everything, including the gay beach! Can't wait to go again!

OH MEXICO IS A MUST! Breakfast is the best there, a bit of a walk, but great to work off the chorizo con juevos!

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travescence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I just wrapped up my extended stay at the Essex house and I will never
stay anywhere else in Miami. From the minute that I walked
in, I was treated like royalty. Marco, Victor, Damian, Christian, etc...
the entire staff was knowledge, helpful and friendly.
I was a little nervous at first about the proximity to the clubs and
the loud music on Ocean Drive but it was not an issue.
My room was in courtyard and it was tranquil and perfect.
The walk from my room to the beach and was under 5 minutes.
I was far enough away from the madness but right in the middle of it all.
There are fantastic restaurants on Washington Ave.
The Essex House has an amazing happy hour from 4:30 - 5:30 that includes wine
and sushi. How fun!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel for anyone heading to South Beach.

Room Tip: Book a Suite in the Courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotels in Miami are expensive or too away from action. Essex House is the best for its nearness to action, peaceful sleep and reasonably priced. It is attached to Clevelander the known party hotel and the keys to Essex House grant you access to Clevelanders rooftop and party zone. Its very walking distance from the beach and perfect for a peaceful sleep away from the thumping music of Clevelander till 4 in the morning. Reception staff is very helpful. Dont think twice. If you have zeroed in on this hotel, you wont be disappointed with your choice.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on 3rd floor which overlook the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhuwanpurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed the weekend of June 13 thru June 16 2014, I would recommend this hotel right in the heart of everything beach is 2 minutes away . Everyone at this hotel is nice they treat you very well. Juan at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Victor was also helpful, all the staff at this hotel was friendly and helpful the complimentary breakfast was great and happy hour was great! When I visit Miami again I will for sure stay at the Essex hotel.. I love this hotel. Damien and Marcello also were great! Great hotel and staff.my cousin and I enjoyed our stay here. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mindy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Made the mistake of booking over Memorial Day weekend and was tempted to fly straight back to England! Hotel is yards from Ocean Drive and adjoining its sister hotel, the lively Clevelander. Room was very comfortable, if a little dated, but no complaints here as it was spotless. Staff were all wonderful young men and could not do enough for us. Continental breakfast was great and the bread was just gorgeous! Would definitely stay here again but not before checking the local festivities first!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMannix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#52 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#93 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#59 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing