We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #48 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel with my husband , son , daughter and their partners and must say the location is great practically on ocean drive. The hotel was quite small and friendly. We were on a Bed and Breakfast basis and it was all you needed. No cooked breakfast just cereal, fruit, coffee and muffins. I also thought it was very good value for money when you consider where we were. The sister hotel Cleverlander was right on ocean drive at the back of us and seemed to be party,party,party! It wasn't too noisy and gave us VIP access which was great bcos we were staying in Essex House.
Only thing I could complain about there was a little but of a damp smell in the room but it was very clean so don't know if they have had a problem with dampness in the past.
Loved South Beach , cocktails very expensive . Do the bus tour into Miami , everglades and boat trip well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    679
    206
    63
    54
See reviews for
282
750
70
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is located near all of the best hotspots on SoBe. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about restaurants & clubs. The manager Christian made sure we were taken care of from check in to check out. The beds are comfy, rooms clean overall (my only note was a dirty remote control. eew). The security was a constant at entrances that were for guests only, adding to the feeling of exclusivity while keeping out the riff raff. Lobby employees were also quick to greet us on our way in and made sure we were well accommodated. This hotel is quiet compared to the Clevelander (which is also great place) and because you get access to the Clevelander, you can easily transition from chill to party time! Also ESPN was live broadcasting from there for the HEAT game. Does it get more exciting than that?...yes I'm sure it does! I recommend this hotel for a great beach getaway. PS the sports bar has amazing chicken wings!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayInMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Having stayed 5 nights at Essex House over the memorial day weekend we have to pass comment about the hotel and staff. From checking in with Damian Marcello who was excellent over the whole stay, the rest of the staff who were very helpfull, the location of the hotel was spot on, the continental breakfast was way above expectations ,would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyandAvril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

It was just a 3 day, 2 night stay but it was the best two days ever. It was just my friend and I visiting south beach before our cruise left on Sunday afternoon. From the moment the cab dropped us off to the moment we left Sunday, we did not have to carry our luggage once. Service was the best service I've ever had at a hotel. Edward at the front desk is amazing and has such a bubbly personality. Victor was very careful with our luggage and told us the best places to go in the area. Because this was a sister hotel of The Clevelander, we enjoyed their bar and nightly parties. Essex/Clevelander actually gave us VIP access to one of the hottest clubs in South Beach so that was really fun. The hotel looks just like the pictures you see uploaded. It is a 2 minute walk to the Beach and all the good food in the area. You can't believe you're in the middle of the craziness of South Beach because it's so peaceful coming back to your hotel room. The hotel is very clean and quiet. This is one of the best hotels in South Beach and I wouldn't hesitate to come back. I definitely got my money worth and more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Since the moment I checked in, the whole staff was attentive to my needs. The manager Christian made sure our stay was just perfect. The rooms were clean and the beds are super comfy. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a wonderful stay at south beach close to the beach and party spots! Great service!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estefania J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

WOW WOW WOW. Brilliant hotel for everything. Despite the staff appearing to be young they certainly know their jobs. From the moment we arrived to the very last minute we left the service we received was perfect. A special mention has to go to Julio and Kevin the bar tenders, spent many a happy moment chatting with them and others. Reception staff were perfect too. Even when we arrived at 10:15pm because our airline couldn't perform and staff at Essex delivered beer to our room. Would recommend this to anyone. The restaurant/bar served happy hour with sushi tasters most nights to residents. Our room overlooking the courtyard was perfect didn't hear a thing!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here mid-May. Staff was friendly. Our room was on 2nd floor, facing collins ave, we had no problem sleeping, no noise at all. The room was small and outdated, bathroom was very basic but we didn't expect much for the rate we paid either. Breakfast was included and was decent. There was also wine/snack hour everyday which was nice. We were also given free access to Clevelander and took advantage of that a few times (checkout the rooftop of clevelander). The location of the hotel is definitely perfect, close to everything. I'd stay here again for the value.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Collins Ave (away from Clevelander) are likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpnyc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing