We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent location, and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying in the Essex House Hotel with my family, having a great time. Rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds, and a large TV. We asked for a fridge in our room and it was delivered free of charge to our room within an hour. We were provided with clean beach towels daily. This hotel has very friendly staff, especially the receptionists at the front desk, Damian, and Edward. They had a great sense of humour, and were very kind, and knowledgable. There's a nice, small, cozy pool, and a restaurant that serves daily continental breakfast from 7am-10am, and is later an Asian cuisine restaurant. There is free lemonade in the lobby around lunch time. There is also happy hour from 4:30pm - 5:30pm, with wine, sushi, and beer. Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel, and would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    636
    192
    59
    50
See reviews for
258
702
65
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

A nice hotel near South Beach on Collins Av.
Not to expensive but not cheap either but it's worth the price if you check it's location.
With your room key you get free acces to the Clevelander ;-) Nice if you want to party on South Beach

Room was clean, rather a small bed and big flatscreen TV but it missed an extra chair and/or a little table in the room. It was quit an empty room, so lots of space to place your luggage :-)
Bathroom wasn't impressive for a 4* hotel but it was clean ...

Complementary breakfast was basic but good.

The pool is a poststamp big but who needs a pool if you have an Ocean one block away. Ask for a beach towel at the reception ;-)

Staff was friendly and helpfull.

We had a nice weekend in Miami

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pallieter_landlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the weekend before our cruise wedding, and they treated us well. I was surprised to see that the pictures on their website were accurate, and the suite was very clean. The walkway to the room had calming water features. The lobby was gorgeous, and the woman who checked us in was very polite. The breakfast nook was a great extra. I was very surprised when the manager brought us a bottle of wine to celebrate with our wedding party. Location was fab and we used the Clevelander Sportsbar and Rooftop. Only negative was that we were charged twice and check-out took a lot longer than it should have. The same desk clerk who hailed us a cab had to check us out. It was our wedding day and already kind of stressful. Despite this issue, we would stay here again and have already recommended it to others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed at the Essex House. We were here this time prior to a Cruise for our Mother's 80th birthday. There were three generations of ladies staying. We were greeted with smiling faces from start to finish. There was not a handicap accessible room available for my Mother so we were given a Suite instead. It worked every well for my Mother! The staff is very knowledge about anything in the area and very helpful getting transportation. Thank you for making this memorable occasion perfect!
Michelle

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle3232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel facade is beautiful and the reception area interesting. The main bar doubles as the breakfast room. It is the first time that I have ever stayed at an 'alleged' high range hotel where breakfast is served 'a la plastic'. Plastic bowls, plastic plates, plastic cutlery and cardboard mugs. I was horrified. The choice was awful, the toaster worked randomly and it was cramped and badly laid out. Of an evening it becomes the main bar again which was pleasant, with friendly bar staff but extremely cold. The bedroom was clean, but the bathroom tiny. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, but if I visited Miami again I'm not sure that this hotel would be on my 'favourites' list - sorry.

Room Tip: The sister hotel just round the corner is very loud, so ask for a room on the hotel side farthest aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StantonJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed for a weekend with friends and couldn't be happier with the hotel. Loved the staff, location, food, drinks, rooms and it was close to all the nightlife. You can also walk right across to the beach. I can't wait to visit again and would definitely recommend Essex House!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 394AmyLc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I went to Miami for a girls weekend and I had low expectations for the price I paid but let me tell u... Prime location, amazingly friendly staff and gorgeous rooms w enormous showers.... Not at all the typical south beach digs. And soooo close to everything! The staff was beautiful and friendly and treat u like kings and queens. Essex house is my new home in south beach.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kseascaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#25 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing