We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #44 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
allentown, pa
Level Contributor
430 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Friendly, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in a King suite (which is located in a courtyard) for three nights. Unfortunately we paid about $300 a night, which I think is pretty steep. However, the location was perfect and we wanted to be in an Art Deco hotel. The suite was very spacious, but there was one problem that I think is unforgiveable--no place to put your clothing other than a closet with one high shelf and hanging space. There was absolutely no drawers, no dresser! With all that room, I don't understand why. I had to put my underwear, pjs, etc on the bottom level of the coffee table. Weird. The bathroom was similar. A lot of space, but no drawers. Thankfully there was a large window ledge. The room was clean and the bed linens were very fresh and felt good. There was a bar sink and small fridge and a keurig with some coffees and teas. The bottled water was $6, so we didn't touch it! The room was comfortable, but they could have fit a full sized couch instead of the two-seater. They also had two comfy armchairs. There was a pub table and two wire bar stools that were hideously uncomfortable. The lighting could also have been improved with another lamp or higher wattage bulbs. With such a lovely courtyard, it would have been nice to have a small chair on the patio to enjoy the fountains and peace and quiet. Because it was quiet! We had two small problems--the toilet seat was broken and there was no hot water the first morning. However, both were fixed quickly. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous at the front desk. The breakfast was adequate, but we felt the staff there was not as quick to refill muffins, fruit etc. We felt like what the put out at first was supposed to last through the morning. (That was kind of like the sushi at happy hour. but it is free, so we aren't complaining). Parking ...there is a garage next door. If you tell them how long you are staying at the Essex and prepay, they will give you a receipt that will allow you to come and go. You just need to get the attendant's attention. Even if the garage is "full", all you need to do is honk and you will be allowed to park because you have prepaid. It was $25 a day, which is cheaper than valet (which I think is $37). We did not use the pool, but did use access to Clevelander's rooftop deck, which is spectacular.

Room Tip: If you don't mind steps, I might suggest a higher floor in the courtyard building because you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    619
    184
    59
    45
See reviews for
247
673
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

They are both owned by the same folks, the Clevelander is for the younger generation and right on Ocean Blvd., the Essex House is right behind the Clevelander and sits on Collins Ave. and is more sedate, family or not-hot-to-trot-see-and-be-seen couples oriented. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The wifi is free. The free breakfast is continental style. Parking is a bit of a problem unless you valet to get guaranteed entry into the parking garage next door.

The rooms and bath are spacious (at least in the suite we had), the windows are newer and do a good job of keeping out outside noise (there is construction across the street at present). There is new carpet on the floor. The bed linens, mattresses and pillows all seem to also be new. The decor is a bit dated, but I'd guess they are going for a period look, so maybe the dating is by design?

Nice South Beach location so pretty much everything is in walking distance.

I'd recommend EH, don't think you can go wrong here. Oh, did I mention the free beer and wine between 4:30 and 5:30pm in the lobby? And who else has a chrome space ship for sale for only $65k (? I think that was the price?) in the lobby?

Room Tip: The restaurant is closed on Mon. when we were there, so that's why I can't tell you about it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregfromDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Originally wanted to book at The Clevelander but no one under 21 is allowed to stay there. Having my 17 yr old son with us, that wasn't an option. The reservationist said she'd check to see if there were rooms available at their sister property Essex House located directly behind the Clevelander and one block off the ocean. Trip Advisor reviews were pretty good and there was a room available for a decent price for the area so I booked it. Very glad I did. All staff members we encountered were super nice and extremely helpful. The lobby is spacious, has couches and a fireplace and fresh lemonade in the afternoon. The happy hour sushi and wine/beer was decent as well as the continental breakfast. Coffee/tea/juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and pastries. The room was spacious and clean, bit of a musty or ammonia smell when we first arrived- perhaps from the cleaning supplies? Nice covered outdoor seating area, pool was small but grounds were pretty. From the hotel can walk a few blocks on the same street to shopping or go right out the back way to Ocean Drive and walk 'the strip' where all the nightlife is. Lummus Park and the beach is right there too. I rely on Trip Advisor reviews so I wanted to take the time to write one about Essex House- highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynnBB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited Miami Beach with my girlfriend the week before Christmas. Overall, we had a very nice stay at The Essex House. Great location, only one block away from Ocean Drive. Wasn't too noisy but I would imagine it would be much louder in the area during spring break time. Staff was welcoming and free beer/wine in the lounge was a plus.

Room was pretty good for my standards. The pictures on the website make it look nicer than they really are. The rugs looked a little old, and bathrooms were pretty bland. The breakfast was extremely limited. Basically just toast, yogurt, and muffins. Can't complain too much though consider I paid only $150/night!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is my second stay in South Beach and it was certainly a step up from the last place.

The location is perfect - a block from the action on Ocean Drive and close to everything else. The lobby is spacious and relaxing and there is a nice porch for sipping wine or people watching.

The rooms, as most here, are small, but adequate. A bit worn perhaps, but that adds to the art deco charm. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom, while suitable for only one at a time, is workable. Our AC unit was terribly noisy, but we weren't in the room that much and mostly had it off anyway. The walls can be a little thin...

The complimentary wine and beer was nice, but not very good wine and the snacks were enough for maybe two people and vanished quickly. The breakfast was all cold stuff, and just ok. The pool was small and shallow, but in a nice setting.

The hotel shares the back half of the block with the rockin Clevelander, located on Ocean - I can't imagine staying in that noisy place. But for partying at night, it's off the hook.

I found the staff attentive and helpful and had no issues.

I'd stay here again if I could next year.

Room Tip: Don't' get a room backed by the Clevelander - it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Architecturally the hotel and its lobby are very attractive being built in typical art deco style, and it retains many original features, such as the fireplace. The location is excellent being just one block back from Ocean Drive and the beach. Its age shows a little in the rooms. The rooms are quite small and although there was a walk in cupboard there was no drawer space. However the beds were very comfortable.Our first room was very noisy at night due to a disco in a nearby hotel but we were transferred to a quiet room without a problem.Breakfast was generous and it was very pleasant to eat it on the terrace or beside the small swimming pool.The japanese restaurant in the evening is excellent. We ate there twice and can thoroughly recommend it.Overall a very nice hotel in a very good location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 310 which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The location is great - just one block from the beach, staff is friendly and service oriented, but rooms are brown, old carpets and bath room looks like something from the 80s. We stayed two nights and had good fun in Miami, but next time will probably go for a more modern hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#57 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing