We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoy your stay in Essex house in miami south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #43 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy your stay in Essex house in miami south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

very kind and great staff, always ready to help
the room in this hotel was small but clean, comfortable bed and the hotel is in very good location , too close to the beaches, restaurants and not so far from the shopping

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank experiences9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    619
    184
    59
    46
See reviews for
247
674
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Smaller boutique style hotel with a miami history, but none of the luxury you associate with todays major destinations in this town. Comfortable but not exactly luxurious. Price and quality wise, it's about what you'd get at RedRoof Inn, but with a local flair and a slightly more comfortable bed and roomier suite. The front corner suites are a nice size, but the traffic of Collins Ave at night is gonna keep you up.

There is a small pool outback next to a little sushi restaurant, but you're in Miami so why would you be wasting your time at a bar! On the first block off the beach, this is a great location if you're into the happy hour scene or smaller pool parties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay at the Cleavlander during my bachelor party. The Cleavlander is an amazing hotel with non stop partying, however it's very noisy at night. When we expressed some conserns to the front desk they convinced us to stay at their sister hotel The Essex House. It's literally on the same property of The Cleavlander, plus you can enjoy all it's benefits. We stayed in a suite and had no problem sleeping. Service is great and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A friend and I visited South Beach the end of April 2013. She booked our stay at the Essex House on Collins Drive on the advice of a friend and the nightly rate was affordable for the area. The Essex House is an older hotel, with small rooms. We felt the hotel was clean and tbe staff was fabulous, especially Jermaine and Juan, the Bellman. We loved the attached sushi restaurant, made quick friends with the staff there, Kevin bartender was fabulous. Every time we went in, found easy conversation with other guests. The food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location, close to Ocean drive, beaches and lots of restaurants. The Clevander is a sister hotel, lots of partying and music going on there. We did hear music from Clevander during the nite, but it did not bother us. Miami is a fun place and regardless of your age, you will likely be out late.
My only complaint was that sink was small with no counter for toiletries,etc. Bottom line, for the area, this hotel was a pleasant experience, great location and great staff.
My only complaint is that there is little to none dresser space or counter stora

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Miami Beach in May and stayed at The Essex House.
Amazing hotel at a great location, 2 minute walk from the beach, just 1 turn away from Ocean Drive.

Service was great, "Julliana" was super helpful.

You do pay the extra dollar for the location, but it was worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Essex House at the start of our trip! It is a lovely Art Deco building just moments from the beach and walking distance to the shops. We had a lovely spacious room which was immaculate. The service was great and the staff really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vezzasreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at Essex. It's next to its sister hotel, the Clevelander, but a quieter version. Staff was great, great location. In the middle of things but not on top of everything. Great dinner at Zen Sai. Staff was great. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinoK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#52 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#61 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing