We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy your stay in Essex house in miami south beach”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #54 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

very kind and great staff, always ready to help
the room in this hotel was small but clean, comfortable bed and the hotel is in very good location , too close to the beaches, restaurants and not so far from the shopping

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank experiences9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Smaller boutique style hotel with a miami history, but none of the luxury you associate with todays major destinations in this town. Comfortable but not exactly luxurious. Price and quality wise, it's about what you'd get at RedRoof Inn, but with a local flair and a slightly more comfortable bed and roomier suite. The front corner suites are a nice size, but the traffic of Collins Ave at night is gonna keep you up.

There is a small pool outback next to a little sushi restaurant, but you're in Miami so why would you be wasting your time at a bar! On the first block off the beach, this is a great location if you're into the happy hour scene or smaller pool parties.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were originally booked to stay at the Cleavlander during my bachelor party. The Cleavlander is an amazing hotel with non stop partying, however it's very noisy at night. When we expressed some conserns to the front desk they convinced us to stay at their sister hotel The Essex House. It's literally on the same property of The Cleavlander, plus you can enjoy all it's benefits. We stayed in a suite and had no problem sleeping. Service is great and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A friend and I visited South Beach the end of April 2013. She booked our stay at the Essex House on Collins Drive on the advice of a friend and the nightly rate was affordable for the area. The Essex House is an older hotel, with small rooms. We felt the hotel was clean and tbe staff was fabulous, especially Jermaine and Juan, the Bellman. We loved the attached sushi restaurant, made quick friends with the staff there, Kevin bartender was fabulous. Every time we went in, found easy conversation with other guests. The food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location, close to Ocean drive, beaches and lots of restaurants. The Clevander is a sister hotel, lots of partying and music going on there. We did hear music from Clevander during the nite, but it did not bother us. Miami is a fun place and regardless of your age, you will likely be out late.
My only complaint was that sink was small with no counter for toiletries,etc. Bottom line, for the area, this hotel was a pleasant experience, great location and great staff.
My only complaint is that there is little to none dresser space or counter stora

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Miami Beach in May and stayed at The Essex House.
Amazing hotel at a great location, 2 minute walk from the beach, just 1 turn away from Ocean Drive.

Service was great, "Julliana" was super helpful.

You do pay the extra dollar for the location, but it was worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Essex House at the start of our trip! It is a lovely Art Deco building just moments from the beach and walking distance to the shops. We had a lovely spacious room which was immaculate. The service was great and the staff really helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vezzasreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at Essex. It's next to its sister hotel, the Clevelander, but a quieter version. Staff was great, great location. In the middle of things but not on top of everything. Great dinner at Zen Sai. Staff was great. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinoK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#32 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#116 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $154 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing