We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel, great location, great service”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #52 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Loved the hotel, great location, great service”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My girlfriends and I were so happy with the Essex House! The hotel was so cute, very clean and the staff was so friendly! We loved the little details such as how they delivered a bottle of wine and chocolate covered oreos to our room one evening, had the free happy hour, and how the cleaning staff lined up all of our shoes in a row. Also, the location is perfect! The hotel is a block away from all of the South Beach action and is within steps from the beach and boardwalk. The Essex has a small quiet relaxing pool (part sun/part shaded) that was nice to relax at if you want some quiet time or you could walk around the corner to the Clevelander (so fun!) I definitely will be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    696
    216
    67
    56
See reviews for
294
773
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ranger, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I loved the location and the Zen Sai restaurant. J Jordan was one of the nicest hotel clerks that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He helped us with information about places to go , shop, and eat. The happy hour and complimentary breakfast were great. It was very clean and extremely quiet for the area we were in. I would recommend it highly and will stay there next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location is perfect. The staff are wonderful. I especially loved the bartenders and wait staff at their restaurant Zen Sai. Zen Sai has to be one of the best hidden gems in South Beach. They had a great complimentary happy hour and continental breakfast at the hotel. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the Essex for 4 nights and it was excellent. The staff is very helpful. Nice complimentary happy hour (beer/wine/sushi) daily and continental breakfast of fruit, croissants, coffee etc every morning. Rooms are small but comfortable. My only complaint would be the bathrooms. They are VERY small and in need of upgrades.

Essex House is quiet and relaxing but offers you free access to the Clevelander next door which is loud and lots of fun if you want to drink, dance, grab a pizza, or enjoy the rooftop deck. I would reccomend this hotel and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMeCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After researching the pros and cons of the Essex house my girlfriend and I decided to stay at the hotel for a six day getaway to miami beach. Let me tell you that any nerves or doubts I had about this little gem were erased right when we walked in the door. The service (which in my eyes is more important than the room itself) was exceptional from the moment we walked in until it was time to go. Juliana from the front desk was wicked awesome all week you could easily see that she takes pride in her job at the Essex hotel. This is not to take away from the other workers of both the Essex house and the clevelander because they were also great.

Good location, clean, and comfortable would defiantly book this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyDelvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I cannot begin to express how happy I was to have chosen the Essex House for my birthday spot. Everything was impeccable from the Bell Hop to the Front desk staff. Concierge was aweseome - shouts out to Brad - the number one Rockstar Host/concierge in AMERICA! Brad catered to my every need and went beyond the call of duty to make my personal arrangements. I had no problem with credit card issues like some people have stated. I was able to check in my room earlier than the allotted time. I was able to even store my lugggage after checkout until my taxi arrived. The bonus was having access to the Clevelander Hotel and being treated like VIP by the staff. I was able to eat, drink, party and go back to the quietness of my King Deluxe Suite at the Essex. I will defintely book my next stay at the Essex when I return to Miami! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: I recommend the suite apartment. They are set apart from the hotel rooms more spacious and give grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cee Cee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have stayed in a bunch of hotels in the South Beach area. The Essex House can't be beat for the price. I was pleased from the moment I arrived and was greeted by very pleasant staff at check in. I was able to access my room a few hours before check in time and was pleasantly surprised by it's large size and cleanliness. Hotel is quite but near all the action. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony-on-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing