We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #47 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the Essex for 4 nights and it was excellent. The staff is very helpful. Nice complimentary happy hour (beer/wine/sushi) daily and continental breakfast of fruit, croissants, coffee etc every morning. Rooms are small but comfortable. My only complaint would be the bathrooms. They are VERY small and in need of upgrades.

Essex House is quiet and relaxing but offers you free access to the Clevelander next door which is loud and lots of fun if you want to drink, dance, grab a pizza, or enjoy the rooftop deck. I would reccomend this hotel and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMeCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    607
    181
    59
    44
See reviews for
237
662
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After researching the pros and cons of the Essex house my girlfriend and I decided to stay at the hotel for a six day getaway to miami beach. Let me tell you that any nerves or doubts I had about this little gem were erased right when we walked in the door. The service (which in my eyes is more important than the room itself) was exceptional from the moment we walked in until it was time to go. Juliana from the front desk was wicked awesome all week you could easily see that she takes pride in her job at the Essex hotel. This is not to take away from the other workers of both the Essex house and the clevelander because they were also great.

Good location, clean, and comfortable would defiantly book this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyDelvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I cannot begin to express how happy I was to have chosen the Essex House for my birthday spot. Everything was impeccable from the Bell Hop to the Front desk staff. Concierge was aweseome - shouts out to Brad - the number one Rockstar Host/concierge in AMERICA! Brad catered to my every need and went beyond the call of duty to make my personal arrangements. I had no problem with credit card issues like some people have stated. I was able to check in my room earlier than the allotted time. I was able to even store my lugggage after checkout until my taxi arrived. The bonus was having access to the Clevelander Hotel and being treated like VIP by the staff. I was able to eat, drink, party and go back to the quietness of my King Deluxe Suite at the Essex. I will defintely book my next stay at the Essex when I return to Miami! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: I recommend the suite apartment. They are set apart from the hotel rooms more spacious and give grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cee Cee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have stayed in a bunch of hotels in the South Beach area. The Essex House can't be beat for the price. I was pleased from the moment I arrived and was greeted by very pleasant staff at check in. I was able to access my room a few hours before check in time and was pleasantly surprised by it's large size and cleanliness. Hotel is quite but near all the action. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony-on-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I strongly warn against give this hotel your credit card they have been misusing our credit card and we are still fighting with our bank about all the extra rooms which we should not have been charged for.... Horrible experience

Room Tip: Just avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terrig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexHouseTeam, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Terri,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We searched our records for all of October 2012 and could not find any reservations in your name.

Please contact us at reviews@clevelander.com with the dates of your stay and the name the reservation was under, so that we can investigate this matter for you immediately.

Thank you,

Essex House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The Essex house is in a great spot on Collins avenue which is close to south beach, shopping and lots of restaurants and bars. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The only negative is the air conditioning system is really old and really noisy which made it difficult to sleep. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Essex House was a very nice place to stay.......nice rooms, very clean, great location, friendly and helpful staff. JJ was was especially gracious and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here, and will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#60 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#53 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing