We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Overall Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

There are many small, well located Art Deco hotels on South Beach but the Essex House is the best of its type (and i've seen them all). Staff is, for the most part, helpful and friendly (especially Juan, Lyle and Austin). Public areas are well maintained and attractive. Our King Suite was large, private, well appointed and comfortable, with a wet bar, mini fridge, flat screen TV and spacious marble bath. Unusually good A/C kept the room nice and cold. Be aware however that some of the larger, nicer suites are in a separate building that has no elevator. My issues were with valet parking (slow), lack of a fitness room and the fact that the room was not ready for check-in until 5:30PM. Management was quick to apologize for the delay and offered us a 4PM check-out which more than made up for any inconvenience. We'll most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard or Collins Av. Rooms facing 10th St. can be noisy due to the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Jim,

Thank you for your feedback of the Essex House. We are thrilled to hear that you consider Essex House one of the best on South Beach. We strive for excellent customer service. So, we are very happy to hear that Juan, Lyle and Austin were welcoming and hospitable! We are also glad that you enjoyed the public areas and your suite. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the valet parking, but are happy to hear that our management was able to make your stay fantastic. We are glad to hear that you will be back! See you soon!

Regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    635
    192
    59
    50
See reviews for
258
701
65
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just been there in January 2013 for 6 days together with my Boyfriend. The Hotel was like discribed here at Tripadvisor. Nice Staff, and central location. We had a King Suite and the room was located away from the street and all noise. Perfect :) The Size of the room was really good, But the water pressure from the shower was very low. The breakfast is just some muffins so we decided to eat at a Dinner near by which had a good selection breakfast stuff.
We never tried the ZEN-Restaurant. Valet parking works fine and cost 29$ for a day. The laundryservice is good. Deliver your clothes before 10 am and get them back after 7pm. My rescue for the first days since i was without luggage.

Room Tip: The room facing the Backyard are nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Nerod,

Thank you; your feedback of the Essex House is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear that the hotel was everything that you expected and perfect! We are sorry to hear that the water pressure from the shower was low and we will be sure to address that issue. On another note, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the laundry service. We hope you visit us again soon and next time you are here try the Zen Sai Restaurant.

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We travel to Miami annually. Last year we stayed here and loved it! This year we were sorry to have not gone back (we stayed @ "host hotel" with a large group for convention"). Next year we will be back to Essex house! The staff is warm and you are treated special from the moment of arrival throughout. We had a beautiful room and loved the personal service and being greeted by name as we entered the lobby. Close and walking distance to beach and restaurants if that is important to you. Lincoln Road Mall also walking distance for food, shopping, movies etc. Was a great place to stay! They now have a restaurant inside which we cannot review only because we have not eaten there (it was being constructed when we were there last year), but it looks nice. The outside and pool area is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2trvl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights on a girls trip this past January...It was wonderful! Everyone, and I do mean everyone was so friendly, attentive and helpful. I will be back!! Hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnag1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I had a great time last week when we visited the Essex House Hotel in Miami! We had great service from everyone, especially Albin and the concierge, Chad. Definitely will stay there again the next time we are in town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunkisd904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is not suitable for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing hotel. It is set right in the thick of the total mayhem that is Miami Southbeach! Having said that the staff can't do enough for you, but the complimentary breakfast is totally inedible. We suggest paying extra and booking a suit as the rooms are much bigger, if a little sparsely decorated (no draws to put anything in at all).

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you want to party, party, party!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Brenz,

Thank you for your review of the Essex House. We apologize for the noise that you experienced. On the other hand, we are very glad that our staff was hospitable! At the Clevelander, we strive for excellent customer service and we are happy that you were able to experience that. Our suites are incredible and we look forward to your next visit to the Essex House!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay but after we left I tryed to get in touch on the same day and every following day for 1 week, about a scarf I definitely left in the room. Wrote emails and tryed to phone several times. Not a single reply! I obviously don't expect to be able to recover my lost property, but why not reply?!? Poor attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudianMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Claudian,

I'm sorry to hear you've been having trouble contacting us. Please send our account a message with the reservation name and your stay dates. I will check on your scarf immediately.

Additionally, please let me know what email address you have been attempting to reach. I want to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing