We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #54 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Generally, this is a nice property. The hotel is well situated and clean and the windows are quite sound proof. However, the average room is tight, with no chair or other furniture to lay your things on. There are no in-room safes either. The suites were VERY nice, off a quiet enclosed alley and are definitely the better way to go. There was very low water pressure and getting really hot water was hit or miss. Still, the staff was very friendly and, for the price, this is a very good option.

Room Tip: Go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Essex House for 2 nights earlier this month and we thought it was one of the worst hotel experiences we've had in many years of traveling. We paid $350 for each night to stay in a king suite. If we had paid $150, we still would have thought it was bad, but at the price we paid it was a travesty. Yes, it's an historic hotel with an interesting and lovely lobby and it's close to the beach. And our bed was comfortable. But that's where the good part stops.

First, checking in: There was one person on duty, a young woman who was flirting on the phone with someone. She got off the phone and was sweet but ditzy. She gave us the keys to our suite and told us how to get there, then called her friend back before we were out of sight, giggling away. Never offered bellhop assistance, nor was there anyone else in sight, but we rolled our two large suitcases through a door and outside to where the suites are. Our suite was at the end of the path, and lo and behold -- there was a long flight of stairs to go up! We are not youngsters, and my husband found a guy working on the lawn to help us carry our bags upstairs. Unbelievable.

Our suite was indeed large, but incredibly charmless and DARK. There were no bathrobes or slippers. ($350 a night and no bathrobes???) There was no safe in the room. We tried to call the front desk to ask whether they had a safe but there was no button on the phone for the desk and no written phone instructions. We pressed a "Guest Services" button and it was Room Service. The person who answered said she would have someone at the front desk call us right away. It never happened. When we asked about that at the front desk later, they said they were having trouble with their phone system. (Note: Writing this two weeks later, and I actually tried earlier today to reach their front desk to ask about something I thought we might have left at the hotel. The hotel does not answer their phone. I finally pressed a key for reservations and the person told me they are still having problems with their phone system. ??!!)

Free Wi-Fi was supposed to be included with our room rate. It never worked. Not once. Not in the room and not in the lobby. There was no magnifying or make-up mirror anywhere in the room. $350 per night..... My hairdryer did not work in the bathroom outlet. Had to plug it in at a desk that had no chair and no light. There were big chips in the Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The toilet did not flush well. No newspaper was offered or available.

At the small continental breakfast they offer, there were no plates or cereal bowls. There were a few tiny napkins. The plastic spoons they had were so cheap that they stuck together at the handles.

So are we all talking about the same hotel here??

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi Nancy,

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience at Essex House Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As a small boutique hotel, we depend on customer feedback to help us continue to grow and improve.

We are in the process of improving our hotel Wifi and phone systems, which as you pointed out, were an issue during your visit. We are happy to report that our Wifi was upgraded last week and is now working at a much faster speed. Additionally our phone system is being completely replaced the near future.

We always encourage guests to voice their concerns during their visit so that we may resolve any issues immediately. Our front desk supervisors are always on property and ready to assist in any way they can.

Thank you again from your feedback on your recent stay at Essex House Hotel.

Safe travels,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here, a short weekend and we could not be more pleased. The location is fantastic. Everything is within walking distance and it is such a quaint hotel. The room was wonderful - quiet, clean and the bed was so comfy! The front desk was really helpful. It was just a wonderful getaway. Great place to stay in Miami!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my wife spent three wonderful nights at Essex House. We arrived on a busy weekend
and had some troubles finding parking for our car. Dello fixed that! Camilo arranged so we could get a decent price on accomodation at Essex House. Eric helped us with our bags and took us to the hotel, Keisha, later on, fixed our valet parking The room was perfectly cleaned by Nathalie and the colours in the room, the colours, brownish and mildly green are colours that we love. The house is an impressive original Art Deco building. Brad in the reception took really good care of us from day one! He even made our American coffee more European. And in the fantastic Japanese restaurant in the hotel, Zen Sai, Jose told us everything about the wines and the Japanese dishes and their outstanding Japanese chef. The Chef must be one of the best in the US!
Access to the roof restaurant at The Clevelander with a nice girl serving free ice water is a plus as well as the welcome meeting with free drinks and sushi (rolls).
But allright! We've had better breakfasts than at Essex House. I would have liked to get a plate for my cereals and more variety on the bread and some ham or cheese or whatever for my bread....and stronger coffee without having to consult Brad!
But we will always remember Essex House and their fantastic staff. If we one day return to Miami Beach we will definitely choose Essex House!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingemar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hello Ingemar,

I would like to extend a warm thank you from Camilo, Keisha, Nathalie, Brad, Jose and the rest of our staff for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you found our associates to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our rooms and decors.

Zen Sai is still a new restaurant, and we are happy to hear that you found the food to be outstanding.

Thank you also for your feedback on breakfast. We will be sure to pass this along.

We hope that we can make your next stay in South Beach just as comfortable as your recent visit.

Safe travels,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

It was my first time in south beach with my friends and this hotel made our stay wonderful! It is located perfectly 1 block from ocean drive and the beach. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was big enough. The staff was amazing! Every single person was so nice and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They answered all our questions and did not hesitate to do so. There was a situation going on in the room next to ours and as soon as I called the reception, security was outside handling it immediately. I will return to south beach and i WILL stay at the essex house again!!! I guess the only downside was the small elevator that fits 3 people at a time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metaxia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hello Metaxia,

We are looking forward to having you stay at Essex House during your next trip to Miami! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and found our associates to be helpful.

Until your next trip to Miami!

Safe travels,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

After looking over the list of the many many hotels in SB - WOW we hit the spot!

As we had a one night layover before our flight to St Lucia this was the perfect fit. The hotel is close to everything. It was clean and comfortable. The hotel had a taxi ready for us in the morning for our trip to the airport.

The staff was awesome!

The Clevelander is just next door and a fun place to hang out and listen to some music.

Will definitely stay here on another trip. Hopefully we can stay in SB more than one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmhallmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I traveled to South Beach for the first time on a girls trip from January 10 - January 14. The Essex House was a perfect hotel to experience South Beach! From our first steps inside, the staff was extremely kind, courteous and informative. The hotel is very inviting - especially at night. The lobby is dimly lit and charming. We were in other neighboring lobbies during our stay and I have to say The Essex House really was the nicest one! The room - while small - was immaculate. It serves it's purpose as a clean place to sleep, shower and get ready. Our view was Collins Ave, but still nice to peak out in the morning to see the hustle and bustle on the street. Beds were large and spacious, slept 2 easily. The air conditioning was amazing - kept the room comfortable and anything but stuffy. There were 2 HUGE full-length mirrors in the room which made getting ready to go out out easy. The bathroom was clean, shower was spacious. My only complaints about the room were the lack of outlets and drawers. In a group of 3 girls charging phones and using blow dryers, straightening and curling iron, we could have used a few more outlets. Also, there were no drawers -- and in a small room taken up by 2 large beds it was a challenge to live out of open suitcases for 5 days. Both of these were minor issues though. Housekeeping cleaned our room daily - left us plenty of clean, extra towels. Our first day there we accidentally stained one of the comforters and wondered if they would notice and give us a new one without asking -- upon coming back into the room, there was a brand new clean comforter on the bed. Another night there was a fight in the room next to us. We got nervous when we heard banging on the wall and called down to the front desk. Security came upstairs within seconds, and a few minutes later cops came upstairs as well. We felt very safe knowing security came so quickly to make sure everything was okay. Free towels for the beach were an absolute plus! Free happy hour was amazing - we sat outside on the cute zen themed patio a few times with our free wine and sushi, they also provided a pitcher of delicious complimentary fresh lemonade. The hotel is perfectly placed - mere steps from the beach and Ocean Drive (set back just enough to avoid noise), around the corner from popular clubs on and off Collins, walking distance from any kind of restaurant you could want. Also, having access to sister hotel The Clevelander was wonderful. While we didn't go to any of the parties there (so much going on, we had to pick and choose), it seemed like THE SPOT for day partying action. We did, however, take advantage of using The Clevelander's restroom facilities when coming off of the beach. All we had to do was flash our Essex House key and we could use their nice bathroom in the lobby. Again, want to give props to the staff. We were greeted warmly, offered help carrying bags and catching cabs, given pointers/info on where to go and what to do - the staff is top notch. We had a great time in South Beach and really lucked out picking this gem of a hotel. Do not pass up the opportunity to stay at here if you want to be in the heart of South Beach in a comfortable, clean hotel. A huge thank you to The Essex House for the accommodations. I'd come back in a heartbeat. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaLaPara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,355 reviews
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,443 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,355 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
341 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#76 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $178 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing