We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Essex House Hotel Nov-Dec 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #48 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Essex House Hotel Nov-Dec 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a great stay at the Essex House Hotel. We were warmly welcomed at the desk and received amazing service from the bell boy. We were in a separate building as we had a suite. I would highly recommend the suite- single rooms in SB are on the small side but our room was so spacious. Our bathroom was huge!! The bed was comfy and room was clean. Chad the concierge was great and helped us secure transportation to the Pats-Miami game while we were there. My husband called him prior to our arrival and he even gave us his cell number in case we needed to contact him. We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant Zen Sai located onsite. It was good however a little overpriced for the quality and quantity of some of the items. We took advantage of the 50% off coupon for hotel guests. The service was amazing for dinner and our waiter provided great recommendations. The hotel is steps to Ocean Blvd. and the Clevelander which is the sister hotel next door. Lots going on at the Clevelander, if you like entertainment there is a lot happening here. It was nice to have the action next door but go back to a nice quiet hotel. We traveled with friends and we had the 2 suites on the top floor and had our doors open having drinks one night before going out and security noticed and came up to check it out. We felt very safe and were happy about this. We would definitely go back to the Essex House on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a suite!! Sooo much room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyp40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    679
    206
    63
    54
See reviews for
282
751
70
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Unusual stay as Art Basal had taken over half the hotel. Our room was on a corridor where all other rooms were converted into galleries, we did get our room changed as the art deals heard through the wall of the room next door was maybe a step too far. Aside from the art the hotel itself was well placed for the beach and the bars/shops. Typical art deco hotel but showing its age a little. Rooms were ok sized and clean. Self parking was available in the car park next to hotel for $12 for 12 hours.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank londonjp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I anticipated a great stay after reading the reviews and was not disappointed! My friend and I stayed at the Essex while we were attending Art Basel Miami the first week in December. I arrived to see piles of drywall in the lobby and wondered why a hotel would renovate their lobby during one of the busiest weeks of the year, during Art Basel. It turned out that the hotel was hosting an art event of their own..."Verge", and that the drywall was to be part of an artist's installation which was completed later the next day. We were delighted that we were staying on the 3rd floor of a hotel that was such a big participant in the annual Miami event! Our room was quiet, clean, and had everything we needed. The people at the front desk were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, clean and private, and not too sunny as there were high hedges and trees surrounding it. The hotel even had an excellent restaurant on the premises, plus a daily happy hour with free booze! We couldn't be happier! Hope to return again next December!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I had 6 days of heaven at the beginning of November 2012.The hotel is fabulous, extremely clean, with the bed linen and bathroom towels changed daily.The whole place is kept spotless.The staff are very courteous and pleasant. Nothing seemed to be a problem for them.Big thanks to Scott, Brad and Keisha.

The situation is terrific, a few paces from South beach where the restaurants and live music are fabulous.

We highly recommend the hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

David and Jennifer Greenhalgh

Room Tip: Any room would be good enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi David and Jennifer,

Your review was so wonderful that we shared it with all of our associates! Scott, Brad and Keisha are all top notch associates, and they were happy to be remembered. We're very glad that we were able to create such a wonderful experience for your vacation.

We hope that we can make your next stay in Miami just as enjoyable!

Best wishes,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and i stayed here nov 15th-23rd 2012. The service from all the staff is excellent , hotel is very clean. We found the size of our room to be large ( room 305), had everying we needed. Our room was cleaned every day, beds were huge and comfortable.
The happy hour that is in the lobby 4.30-5.30 is a nice touch and free!.
I have stayed in many hotels in the usa and this is certainly one of the best. if i am in Miami again i would 100% choose the essex hotel, even the location of the hotel is great on collins ave just next to ocean drive in the heart of south beach.
The only 2 things that you could look at is no security safe in the rooms, and maybe the bar could be a bit more inviting.
Enjoyed our stay, we will be back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I organized a sales meeting for 15 people at the Essex House and we all had a great experience. The hotel is centrally located and is nicely rennovated art deco/ Miami style. The rooms we're clean, the staff were polite, professional and outgoing. Maria Nino - the sales coordinator for the hotel, ensured that we were well taken care of. The meeting room which is located at the Cleevlander Hotel (next door)
offered a funky/comfortable alternative to a stuffy conventional boardroom setting. I would definately recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

this hotel is in a great location, walkng distance from ocean dr on south beach . rooms are very big , clean and comfortable . the staff is excellent thur out the entire hotel . julio sotelo manager at the zen restaurant and his staff is outstanding !!, the food and the drinks 5star , the happy hour there is a great way to start your evening . only 1 thing i was in room 222 great view but thin walls . i could hear the guy in the next room snoring lol

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babeeyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing