We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend Celebration”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #53 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in November for a long weekend. The location of the hotel is great. One block away from the main strip and on Collins Ave with tons of shops. I was a bit concerned about noise but the suits are located in a courtyard area and it was away from the street.
The building itself is beautiful and the common areas are very comfortable and keep in charachter with the hotels art deco style. There's a great front porch with seating and that connects to the resturant/bar and pool. Nice place to lounge around and have a drink.
The room is set up like a studio and is very large. There is a seating area with a loveseat, two chairs and a coffee table. Our room had a very small wet bar area with a sink, kurig coffee maker and small refrig below. I read some reviews that the walls were very thin and you can hear the people next to you.... This is true. With the tv off you can hear people talking pretty easily. Our neighbors were pretty quiet so it didn't present an issue for us.
The bathroom was large and bright but was showing some signs of use. Nothing horrible but the tub had some large chips and the grout probably needs to be redone.
Overall, the hotel is very nice and in a good location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We rented two suites for a milestone birthday. The suites like many of other reviewers have commented on are small and do not include a separate kitchen / living area. Our suite was on the top floor and it was very bright and almost wall to wall windows. The hotel staff was friendly and offered numerous suggestions for the area. The room was clean although both my husband and I commented on how "springy" the bed felt. The people in the other suite said their bed was awesome, so this may depend on what room you get.

We did not participate in the hotel happy hour (most restaurants have pretty awesome happy hour specials) but did hear other guests commenting on how nice it was.

The best part about this hotel is the location. We were close enough to everything in South Beach to walk. As a group and for the price of this hotel we would all stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mrdate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for two nights with friends from Seattle and absolutely enjoyed our stay. Great location, outstanding staff, very helpful, enjoyed the daily happy hour and the opportunity to meet with other guests. Great views of the beach and surrounding area from their sister hotel next door. Will be back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A lovely hotel in the "Art Deco" area of Miami Beach. The quiet "sister" hotel to the Clevelander. Happy hour / free beer & wine runs from 4.30-5.30pm and includes light snacks. All the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you & receptionists were very helpful, even arranging for a softer mattress to be brought to our room after the first night. The only drawback is no parking - it has to be paid for at $25 per day. One block from the busy Ocean Drive and the lovely beach. A smashing place to stay for "Art Deco" enthusiasts!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Essex House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation! We are pleased that you enjoyed our historic Art Deco architecture. South Beach truly is a wonderful area to explore for Art Deco enthusiasts. We are proud to have preserved our rich history and wonderful architectural features.

Excellent costumer service is one of our top priorities, and we are happy to hear that our front desk associates made you feel at home.

We hope to make your next trip to Miami just as enjoyable as this one!

Safe travels and best wishes,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's clean, people are really nice and polite. We stayed for three nights at the beginning of august and we have appreciated the location: few steps from the beach and the very crowded ocean drive. The standard room is in the average, bed was ok in a european style, the bathroom quite little but with a bathtube. Don't expect a great room....but you are there to spend your time outside!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we found the staff to be very helpful indeed. We were checked in by Bella who was extremely friendly. She gave us a voucher for one free drink each which included anything from the bar including cocktails. Also included was free hot snack each. We were also told that between 4.30 - 5.30 was Happy hour where they served beer and wine to hotel guests for free. The first night we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant as we were quite tired and did not want to go looking for a restaurant. Boy are we glad that we did because the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Just one block from Ocean Drive and the beach. Also it is actually on Collins avenue and one block from Washington which both have great shopping. Overall very clean, friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good time in Miami.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Essex House is one of the best boutique hotels of South Beach. Great location and friendly staff made may stay very special. Happy hour from Monday to Thursday was a big plus. Sister property has a cool lounge and rooftop to party all night.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel, no matter the room you will be assigned to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,348 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
327 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,431 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
572 reviews
Dream South Beach
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $168 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing