We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal on South Beath”
Review of Essex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essex House
Ranked #53 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Deal on South Beath”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Given the location, price, amenities, and especially QUALITY of service - one of the best on the beach. This classic design hotel is kept up exceptionally well. Rooms are newly remodeled and one of the cleanest I have experienced on SoBe in the 15 years I have been going there for vacation. Specials are great such as free beer form 4-6pm and half price happy hour until 9pm. If you want some quite chilling yet the option to be at the heart of the SoBe vibe - Essex House is it (They share services with the Clevelander next door with the noise of the Clevelander. My stay was charming and relaxing and unforgettable.

Kudos to all the staff who go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Hi Don,

Thanks so much for visiting us at the Essex House Hotel! We are so proud of our recent remodeling, and glad you experienced great service and truly enjoyed your stay. We’ll see you again soon—see you in the lobby for happy hour!


Thanks,

Shana M.

Essex House Management

Clevelander and Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    695
    216
    67
    56
See reviews for
294
772
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We encountered a difficult customer service issue regarding the logistics of our room. After meeting with the Supervisor, Paula Callejas, it was IMMEDIATELY resolved. She listened effectively to our concerns & immediately resolved our issues way beyond our expectations. Throughout all of my travel experiences, Paula is by far the best Supervisor I have personally worked with. My loyalty will always be with the Essex House & Cleavlander Hotel! The hell with 5 stars, I give these guys 5 black diamonds lol! Mahalo Paula!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Manager at Essex House, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Monique,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that Paula created the ultimate experience for you. Please let us know when you will be returning! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best,

Shana M.
Essex House Management
Clevelander and Essex House Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Essex House is a good place to stay for a number of reasons. It is reasonably priced, the staff is attentive, the rooms were clean (I did the bed bug check), and at Collins and 10th the location is great. Its a sister hotel to the Clevelander Hotel, so you get access to all the amenities of the Clevelander with the benefits of going to sleep in a quiet room. I recommend this place, and I had a great time in South Beach!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartan0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My BFF and I stayed her to celebrate my 29th birthday and we had the. best. time. ever. The first thing i have to say is another reviewer gave a tip about the bus that travels from the airport to 16th and Washington, which was a great tip; for $2.35 it got us close enough and the walk the rest of the way was pretty short. Zen at the front desk was knowledgeable, courteous, and was very entertaining. The rooms were nice and clean and honestly I didn't hear any other patrons except at night time when it was time to go out. Of course, that didn't bother us because we were pretty much all on the same page doing the same thing. Happy hour in the bar was very good and the bartender was an absolute gem. Great personality and great service. I have nothing negative to say, this hotel was everything that I was looking for and I am a germaphobe that was extremely paranoid about the cleanliness of the hotel. I was not disappointed. A quick side note, that i found to be funny. One morning the housekeeper came relatively early and my friend told her we didn't need anything, later on that day when we realized that we possibly did need a littler service we put the tag on our door and left out for the day. When we returned HOURS later, she caught my friend off the elevator and asked her "what exactly did she need because she asked her this morning and she said she didn't need anything and now it was time for her to go home." Normally any other time I would have been offended and probably complained but the way the conversation transpired I just found it to be pretty hilarious. The service was good, great location, you really can't find anything else better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shesheisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here from July 29-August 1 and it was great. We had two rooms and they were able to set us up in adjoining rooms. We arrived early and our rooms were available. We were greeted with complimentary rum runners and the staff did everything they could to accommodate us, even trying to secure parking for us at a discount in the garage next door to the hotel when we didn't get our rented scooters back in time and had to keep them overnight. The garage didn't give us a discount, but we really appreciated the staff's concern and help. Essex House is a great option for staying in South Beach. Ignore comments about bad service. It simply doesn't exist here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My son chose the Essex as his home while on his 2 week R & R from A'stan. He has a suite. Great choice. We joined him for a week. Had a blast. Essex in the heart of SoBe and the Art Deco Historic District. 1/2 blk from the beach. Brogan is a superb bartender. Try his Mojito called the GloMo. Superb. He'll tell you the story behind the name. We have stayed at the Ritz, Waldorf Astoria, etc. The Essex experience was the equal of the aforementioned.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtsuka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in Suite 2, it was great! Front desk staff very friendly, the room was large and bathroom is amazing! YOU MUST have a mojito at the bar, they are better than the reviews;) the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVNtheDRM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex House

Property: Essex House
Address: 1001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-5011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essex House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex House is an award-winning South Beach hotel in the Miami Beach Art Deco District. Surrounded by nightclubs, cafes and designer boutiques, Essex House is an Art Deco landmark property in the heart of South Beach. The hotel features 70 rooms including 14 luxurious suites to help you leave all of your stress behind. Your stay includes complimentary continental breakfast, a daily happy hour at Zen Sai Restaurant, and access to the nightlife at our sister property, Clevelander South Beach, located just steps away on Ocean Drive. Essex House Hotel is the perfect choice when you want the best of all worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
Essex Hotel Miami Beach
Essex House Hotel South Beach
Essex Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing