We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Beach Plaza Villas
Ranked #15 of 29 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Room was the smallest I have ever stayed in.  We had a room with two beds which was great as we needed one to put our luggage on.  When you sat on the toilet your tush was on the toilet paper roll.  If someone tried to open the bathroom door while you were seated they hit your legs.  There was no vanity only a pedestal sink in the bathroom and the only electrical outlet was over the toilet.  When you opened the door to get in the room it barely cleared the bed.  We couldn't get  the hotels luggage cart in the elevator (the elevator only holds 3 people max).  The elevator was out of service one day for maintenance, during spring break?  That is the negatives.  The positives are location, location, location!  We got a cheap rate during spring break 125 a night.  Yes that is cheap for South Beach during spring break.  It is on Collins which is the street behind the beach.  Great spot.  Also everyone of the hotel personnel went out of their way to be helpful.  Hotel is showing its age. Breakfast was bagels, oranges, muffins, yogurt, oatmeal, orange juice, milk, and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    67
    83
    42
    41
See reviews for
49
105
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Room was nice and looked recently updated. Service was good, its south beach so dont expect anything spectacular. Price was right and close to everything. Would stay again but would take a room not facing Collins ave as it is loud in front.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing Collins ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Good hotel for value. It is right behind the Ocean Drive strip so you get to enjoy the scenery without being bombarded by the noise and tourists. It is also right at the beach. Arrival at the hotel was on Sunday morning at 11 am and the check in was hectic with only one person working at the front to check in and check out all the guests, plus rent beach amenities and store luggages. There was no room to store the luggage at that time, so I was forced to leave my luggage out in the lobby. Thankfully, when I came back it was still there. The room has an old world feel with vintage lamps and hardwood floor. It was an upgrade from the lobby scene and quickly made me feel more welcome. The room contains a locker big enough to stow away your ipad. There was an extra socket in the washroom. If you need to plug in your device by your bed you’ll have to sacrifice a lamp.

This hotel is within walking distance to Lincoln Road Mall and Washington Street as well. It is clean, comfortable and safe. The workers are polite and attentive. There was a clog in the bathtub and someone came to fix it immediately. The continental breakfast is a no fuss quick meal. It was better than what I had expected. They offer fruits, coffee, milk, tea, muffins and quaker oat meal. Overall stay in Miami at this hotel is good and would recommend this hotel.

Things to note:
Hotel provides beach amenities, chairs, umbrellas, etc available for a rental fee
Beach towels are provided at no cost
Regular rooms do not have a fridge

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed during spring break and I was very impressed with the customer service. I work at a hotel so I am all about how the staff treats the guest. To the front desk to the housekeeping to the concierge was amazing. The room was nice the only complaint would be that there is no fridge or microwave in the standard rooms. Otherwise its right in the middle of every thing you come to South beach for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sicilan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The fact that this hotel was in the Art Deco area drew me in. I read mixed reviews and decided to take a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised that the positive outweighed the negative. I stayed in the king size room. There was a tub and it looked like it was recently renovated with fresh cauking, etc. It looked over the courtyard which was fine with me because it was quiet. I was on the 3rd floor.

The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable of local restaurants, sites to see, etc. Contrary to some reports about their 'FREE' contentinal breakfast, unless you like 2nd rate free cooked breakfasts, their selection was very health conscious and I appreciated this. There was fresh fruit, juice, blueberry & banana muffins, yogurt & oatmeal. For those wanting sweets, there was fruit danish, begals with cream cheese & butter. Their coffee was fresh & delicious. They also tea or milk if you wish.

The beach is a block away and the Ocean Drive scene is right there if you like a youthful crowd. Espanola Way is 2 blocks away if you desire a variety of latin cuisine. Lincoln Rd. is 3 blocks away for many boutique shops.

I have to mention their bar because of their selection of drinks and a barmaid with a personality and a half! Her name is Dali (forgive me if I spelled it wrong!) and she can make any top shelf cocktail you want.

Do not expect a brand new modern hotel, instead accept that this hotel is a piece of history artfully decorated to represent a long gone era and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I was in 307 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, helped us navigate and offer ideas for bike routes to Biscayne Bay. Our room on the 1st floor was beautiful and quaint. Our friends room on the 3rd floor was old and outdated. Loved having complimentary wine on the patio from 5-6 everyday. Walking distance to everything in South Beach. A couple of suggestions: have orange juice instead of sunny d for breakfast, invest in a waffle maker (cheap and good for business). Another suggestion to improve business and repeat customers is to consider having a hot tub or two in the courtyard area instead of having the cabanas that were never used when we were there. That would be an amazing addition!!

Room Tip: First floor has some nicely renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Had to switch flights to beat storm in NY that never came. Since I was arriving at 9:45 pm, all I needed was a clean room with a good bed. Went on Hotwire and got Beach Plaza. Perfectly fit bill. Nice double room, clean, comfortable bed, good AC, decent breakfast. Lovely front desk staff. Great location. Good moderately priced choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#160 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#91 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
La Flora
#17 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Property: South Beach Plaza Villas
Address: 1411 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing