We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Got what I expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Beach Plaza Villas
Ranked #14 of 29 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Got what I expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The fact that this hotel was in the Art Deco area drew me in. I read mixed reviews and decided to take a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised that the positive outweighed the negative. I stayed in the king size room. There was a tub and it looked like it was recently renovated with fresh cauking, etc. It looked over the courtyard which was fine with me because it was quiet. I was on the 3rd floor.

The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable of local restaurants, sites to see, etc. Contrary to some reports about their 'FREE' contentinal breakfast, unless you like 2nd rate free cooked breakfasts, their selection was very health conscious and I appreciated this. There was fresh fruit, juice, blueberry & banana muffins, yogurt & oatmeal. For those wanting sweets, there was fruit danish, begals with cream cheese & butter. Their coffee was fresh & delicious. They also tea or milk if you wish.

The beach is a block away and the Ocean Drive scene is right there if you like a youthful crowd. Espanola Way is 2 blocks away if you desire a variety of latin cuisine. Lincoln Rd. is 3 blocks away for many boutique shops.

I have to mention their bar because of their selection of drinks and a barmaid with a personality and a half! Her name is Dali (forgive me if I spelled it wrong!) and she can make any top shelf cocktail you want.

Do not expect a brand new modern hotel, instead accept that this hotel is a piece of history artfully decorated to represent a long gone era and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I was in 307 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    80
    42
    40
See reviews for
49
102
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, helped us navigate and offer ideas for bike routes to Biscayne Bay. Our room on the 1st floor was beautiful and quaint. Our friends room on the 3rd floor was old and outdated. Loved having complimentary wine on the patio from 5-6 everyday. Walking distance to everything in South Beach. A couple of suggestions: have orange juice instead of sunny d for breakfast, invest in a waffle maker (cheap and good for business). Another suggestion to improve business and repeat customers is to consider having a hot tub or two in the courtyard area instead of having the cabanas that were never used when we were there. That would be an amazing addition!!

Room Tip: First floor has some nicely renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Had to switch flights to beat storm in NY that never came. Since I was arriving at 9:45 pm, all I needed was a clean room with a good bed. Went on Hotwire and got Beach Plaza. Perfectly fit bill. Nice double room, clean, comfortable bed, good AC, decent breakfast. Lovely front desk staff. Great location. Good moderately priced choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Tiny rooms- dirty floors- but there was some road/ building construction going on.
Be sure to request a room away from the street! Collins is quite busy especially Friday and Saturday night. ( I am thankful I had ear plugs). Continental breakfast was a disappointment - sunny d for orange juice and publix bagels. Jerry's Famous Deli is just a block away-
Location is the best- 1 block from Ocean Dr Restaurants and beach - and Espanola Way and Lincoln Rd are easy walks. Great for people watching- that is for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorriemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I needed a great value to do business in South Beach. This property answered the call. For reasonable money I got reasonable value. The room was right. The bed was right. The location is terrific. You can be very happy here.

On arrival I spoke to the hotel manager and mentioned I wanted a very nice room. He supplied me with one. I was very pleased. The valet parking was a plus and only $5 more than self park. The people were very nice to a person.

The hidden value here is that the location is right next to the 14th St bathhouse on the beach. I think this is a big thing. It is also near a great Starbucks for breakfast and midday coffee. If you want South Beach this is a great value.

One warning... yes, breakfast is included. It is very basic and health nuts will not be satisfied. It is fine to fill up children and non-discriminating adults. Count it a plus if you don't want to buy your breakfast. Free is free and that is a good thing.

All in all I would be happy to recommend and happy to come back. Good job here by the hoteliers.

Room Tip: Ask the manager at the front desk for a plaza view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APoet2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location is absolutely perfect! You are a block away from the beach and Ocean Drive. Lincoln Road Mall is about a 5 minute walk away. You will find everything you need within a walking distance.

The rooms and public spaces are modest and clean although the whole place does have this musky 'old house' smell to it. The service was great, the front desk people are very informative and nice.

Sadly the wifi barely worked if worked at all during my week long stay there. There is no pool nor room service available but they do serve continental breakfast.

All in all, it was a great deal at a prime location and I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalllya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is very old, the rooms are small like most older hotels, but maintained in great shape and very clean. Shower worked fine and the bed was comfortable. There is a small bar in the lobby and the continental breakfast was enjoyable, especially eating out on the porch. The staff was nice and accommodating, and the location is very good, just a short walk down to the beach, and shopping/restaurants nearby. The price is affordable, or was for us as we scored a "deal" online. Only downside was the ongoing construction in front of the building on the road, and lack of free parking. If I go back to Miami Beach, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#160 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 4,062 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#105 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#75 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Property: South Beach Plaza Villas
Address: 1411 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing