We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Beach Plaza Villas
Ranked #15 of 27 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Got what I expected!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The fact that this hotel was in the Art Deco area drew me in. I read mixed reviews and decided to take a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised that the positive outweighed the negative. I stayed in the king size room. There was a tub and it looked like it was recently renovated with fresh cauking, etc. It looked over the courtyard which was fine with me because it was quiet. I was on the 3rd floor.

The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable of local restaurants, sites to see, etc. Contrary to some reports about their 'FREE' contentinal breakfast, unless you like 2nd rate free cooked breakfasts, their selection was very health conscious and I appreciated this. There was fresh fruit, juice, blueberry & banana muffins, yogurt & oatmeal. For those wanting sweets, there was fruit danish, begals with cream cheese & butter. Their coffee was fresh & delicious. They also tea or milk if you wish.

The beach is a block away and the Ocean Drive scene is right there if you like a youthful crowd. Espanola Way is 2 blocks away if you desire a variety of latin cuisine. Lincoln Rd. is 3 blocks away for many boutique shops.

I have to mention their bar because of their selection of drinks and a barmaid with a personality and a half! Her name is Dali (forgive me if I spelled it wrong!) and she can make any top shelf cocktail you want.

Do not expect a brand new modern hotel, instead accept that this hotel is a piece of history artfully decorated to represent a long gone era and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I was in 307 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    92
    43
    42
See reviews for
52
110
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, helped us navigate and offer ideas for bike routes to Biscayne Bay. Our room on the 1st floor was beautiful and quaint. Our friends room on the 3rd floor was old and outdated. Loved having complimentary wine on the patio from 5-6 everyday. Walking distance to everything in South Beach. A couple of suggestions: have orange juice instead of sunny d for breakfast, invest in a waffle maker (cheap and good for business). Another suggestion to improve business and repeat customers is to consider having a hot tub or two in the courtyard area instead of having the cabanas that were never used when we were there. That would be an amazing addition!!

Room Tip: First floor has some nicely renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Had to switch flights to beat storm in NY that never came. Since I was arriving at 9:45 pm, all I needed was a clean room with a good bed. Went on Hotwire and got Beach Plaza. Perfectly fit bill. Nice double room, clean, comfortable bed, good AC, decent breakfast. Lovely front desk staff. Great location. Good moderately priced choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Tiny rooms- dirty floors- but there was some road/ building construction going on.
Be sure to request a room away from the street! Collins is quite busy especially Friday and Saturday night. ( I am thankful I had ear plugs). Continental breakfast was a disappointment - sunny d for orange juice and publix bagels. Jerry's Famous Deli is just a block away-
Location is the best- 1 block from Ocean Dr Restaurants and beach - and Espanola Way and Lincoln Rd are easy walks. Great for people watching- that is for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorriemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I needed a great value to do business in South Beach. This property answered the call. For reasonable money I got reasonable value. The room was right. The bed was right. The location is terrific. You can be very happy here.

On arrival I spoke to the hotel manager and mentioned I wanted a very nice room. He supplied me with one. I was very pleased. The valet parking was a plus and only $5 more than self park. The people were very nice to a person.

The hidden value here is that the location is right next to the 14th St bathhouse on the beach. I think this is a big thing. It is also near a great Starbucks for breakfast and midday coffee. If you want South Beach this is a great value.

One warning... yes, breakfast is included. It is very basic and health nuts will not be satisfied. It is fine to fill up children and non-discriminating adults. Count it a plus if you don't want to buy your breakfast. Free is free and that is a good thing.

All in all I would be happy to recommend and happy to come back. Good job here by the hoteliers.

Room Tip: Ask the manager at the front desk for a plaza view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APoet2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location is absolutely perfect! You are a block away from the beach and Ocean Drive. Lincoln Road Mall is about a 5 minute walk away. You will find everything you need within a walking distance.

The rooms and public spaces are modest and clean although the whole place does have this musky 'old house' smell to it. The service was great, the front desk people are very informative and nice.

Sadly the wifi barely worked if worked at all during my week long stay there. There is no pool nor room service available but they do serve continental breakfast.

All in all, it was a great deal at a prime location and I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalllya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is very old, the rooms are small like most older hotels, but maintained in great shape and very clean. Shower worked fine and the bed was comfortable. There is a small bar in the lobby and the continental breakfast was enjoyable, especially eating out on the porch. The staff was nice and accommodating, and the location is very good, just a short walk down to the beach, and shopping/restaurants nearby. The price is affordable, or was for us as we scored a "deal" online. Only downside was the ongoing construction in front of the building on the road, and lack of free parking. If I go back to Miami Beach, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#170 of 208 in Miami Beach
490 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#192 of 208 in Miami Beach
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deauville Beach Resort
#172 of 208 in Miami Beach
4,701 reviews
Collins Hotel
#97 of 208 in Miami Beach
956 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#145 of 208 in Miami Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Property: South Beach Plaza Villas
Address: 1411 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing