We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Beach Plaza Villas
Ranked #15 of 29 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent location to the beach and various attractions. The hotel is currently going through a restoration in the courtyard, but this does not effect hotel guests in anyway, leaving the possibility of a nicer outdoor section. Construction along Collins, no fault to the hotel, makes it slower than usual to drive to the hotel.

Sebastian at the front desk shined at his guest service attitude, very professional,which reflected in every way possible in the most positive manner possible in his handling of guest services. A true asset to the hotel!

My only comment is the shades within the room- they could be better, in order to insure not so much light comes in; makes it harder to sleep. The rooms are nice, classic look and feel, but still modern.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, I think you will be very happy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MValentino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the proximity to the beach is great. Our room was clean. We appreciated the hardwood floors in our room as we were always tracking sand back to the room. The hotel is older, and if you come expecting it to be like a modern Hilton, you will be disappointed. The bathroom is smaller and less fashionable than new hotels. Breakfast was free and typical for many hotels: bagels, muffins, yogurt, juice, hot water for oatmeal, and coffee. If you need more than this to be happy, you need to plan on going out to eat or stay somewhere else. There are many restaurants nearby. You need to be aware that you are staying right on South Beach, which is a party kind of place on the weekends. Depending on your room location, you will hear outside noise (music, people laughing, etc.). It was not an issue for us, but we live in a house full of teens and are used to a bit of noise while we sleep. We did not hear much room to room noise, except while in the bathroom we could occasionally hear the neighbors. The front porch of the hotel is a nice place to sit, eat breakfast and watch people. Parking at South Beach is tough. We paid the $25/day valet parking at the hotel. It was well worth the expense.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was very sceptical reading the negative comments about this place, we came hoping for the best. At the reception we immidediatly asked for a quiter located room, we were told our room was at the back by the garden. Our luggage was taken up to our room by a very polite bellboy! Our room was awesum! Its was large with a sofa and had a kitchenette in. I assume we got one of the villas of beach plaza. Everything was really clean and smelled fresh. The bathroom was a good size to.
We had a king size bed which slept very comfortably.
The place is located on quite a busy street so a bit of noise is normal and acceptable.
Its also close to the beach, just one block away, unfortunately we had lots of rain so had to keep busy doing other things.

One downside of this hotel is definatly that it has no free parking. They offer a valet parking for $27.95/day which you can use as you please. If you dont use the valet service you have to leave your car on the street and pay per hour. The streets are also very busy around the hotel. Do make sure you dont leave valuables or small change in the car. Though we only had under $2 in coins (for toll routes) it went missing. Not making a big fuss about the coins that got stolen, but seeing you pay so much money for secure parking you atleast expect your car and everything in it to be safe!

Other than that great place to stay! Would recommend to anyone on a budget!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa they are bigger, and located toward the back so less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NursePonpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The front desk staff were very pleasant and the porch overlooking the main drag is a nice place to do some people watching. Like many others have commented the place needs TLC. Peeling paint, dingy, dirty corridors and the included breakfast is pathetic. The only thing we could eat were the fresh oranges. The walls are paper thin so we heard all the drunken teenagers coming back from the bars.
South Beach is a very expensive destination and our friends paid 5 times what we did to stay at the Ritz-Carlton for an average room. Don't know what to recommend. Pay something in between and stay on the beach to really enjoy what this place has to offer.

Room Tip: Save up and stay someplace decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

FIrst thing is that the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I also thought that the hotel itself was very clean. But, the property in in major need of some TLC. The paint is peeling just about everywhere! Even the furniture in my rooms were in poor shape. The elevator is very old and in fact, I got stuck in it. But, the worst thing was the bug infestation in my bathroom. The bugs even got into my toiletries. But, the staff was very helpful about finding a different room and making sure I was happy with it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location is good, but that's the only positive thing I can say about it! At $197 per night including the, somewhat diet, breakfast, it is terrible value for money. Useless staff complement the establishment which, in my non-expert opinion, is an electrical health hazard to say the least! Was booked for a week, but left after 3 days, even though I lost all the money! Still have some of their breakfast cards...if anyone is interested!

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is ghetto.
Customer service provided was very bad (receptionist and management) and the hotel itself is one star, no 3 star as rated.
We had the room in the old building on the left side after the garden, and it was a pretty unpleasurable stay, in a very tiny and deary room.
We bought for US$ 63 per night - firesale - expedia - and final price, at the reception, including resort fees, was 90. The hotel was overprized per US$ 63 already.
Be aware from this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#114 of 212 in Miami Beach
33 reviews
Collins Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#118 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,364 reviews
La Flora
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,550 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Address: 1411 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range: $139 - $1,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing