We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“bad surprise” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Plaza Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Beach Plaza Villas
Ranked #15 of 29 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad surprise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is ghetto.
Customer service provided was very bad (receptionist and management) and the hotel itself is one star, no 3 star as rated.
We had the room in the old building on the left side after the garden, and it was a pretty unpleasurable stay, in a very tiny and deary room.
We bought for US$ 63 per night - firesale - expedia - and final price, at the reception, including resort fees, was 90. The hotel was overprized per US$ 63 already.
Be aware from this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    67
    83
    42
    41
See reviews for
49
105
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although this is an old hotel it was very clean and the staff could not do enough for you it is only 2 min walk to the beach and central to everything if you are on a budget this is the one only cost us $300 for 3 adults and 2 nights i would definatly return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you want to go to South Beach without paying the exorbitant prices, South Beach Plaza Hotel is the place for you.We spent five days and it was great. For one, you are the heart of South Beach, that means you don't have to drive anywhere;the beach,restaurants, clubs and activities are located within a few blocks. But you have to deal with the noise on the streets from a place that never sleeps. On the other hand, my room had very few amenities ; no microwave or refrigerator, just the bare minimum, an ironing board, Tv & lock box. . There is a bar inside the hotel that opens at about 6pm, with $5 drink specials, a complimentary drink for guests between 5-6pm(don't be late) and Hookah priced at $25 ready to go. One other thing that threw me for a loop is the $25 valet parking, a little expensive, but worth it, but you have to pay everytime you come back to the hotel with your car.

Just remember, in South Beach, everything is overpriced and undervalued.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back that will block out more of the outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REBELBedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

For the price, this place was fine for us. Walls were thin and floors were creaky, but the location was ideal, and the staff was pleasant if not overly helpful. Decor was minimal but sufficient. If you are looking for a place on South Beach and you are on a budget, you could do far worse than this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friends and I booked a suite that had a king bed plus a sofa bed. The kitchen was pretty large but there was absolutely nothing stocked. We had to visit the bar to beg for a knife to cut up limes! I assume people just steal everything so they don't bother to stock anything. We were out late so didn't really notice if it was too noisy but the suites are quieter rooms since they are located back off of Collins Ave. Cost-wise it was pretty outrageous until you consider it was a high-season weekend in South Beach. The location is excellent: Close to Lincoln Road, 12th Street Beach, Washington Ave clubs, etc. We didn't make the breakfast but I could hear people enjoying it in the courtyard right outside our room!

Room Tip: If you go to bed early at night you should not stay here (or anywhere else in South Beach . . . Sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_in_EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The SoBe plaza was a convenient, one night stop over for us while waiting for friends to arrive in Miami so that we could continue our trip on to Key Largo and the Rainbow Reef
Dive Center. The hotel is a much older building, 1936, but for the location and price it was a good choice. We were within walking distance to many different shops, clubs, and restaurants.

We experienced the high automatic gratuity at the restaurants we visited but really enjoyed wandering around the area and beach. The hotel staff were friendly. The courtyard between the hotel and villas was a nice, romantic place to hangout for the evening.

Our room was "clean" and furnished in a worn elegance kind of style. It was romantic in a "when we were young" way. It reminded us of our stays in Jamaica. The included continental breakfast was less than wonderful. The coffee and juices were watered down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun-4-Us77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best thing probably about this place is the location. The hotel is in the middle of the action in South Beach. The clubs and restaurant (which are not cheap and they add 18% gratuity to every check, which NO ONE told us) are really fun so this place is great if you and some others just want to have a place to slept for the night. FYI try not to get a room by the alley way because in the morning there is so much noise back there. The bar they have is ok if you are just looking to pre-game for the night. The breakfeast is a joke, everything is package and nothing fresh, better off going someplace and having a great meal or getting take-out from the other hundreds of places around. The room was ok. The beds were average and "hardwood black floors" was a little off putting, but I didn't realy care. The only thing I really like about the room was the bathroom. It was modern looking and fairly small, but sufficient. The only thing about the shower was when turned on it was half the time blasting HOT WATER, no matter how cold we try to put the shower. That was probably the worst thing about the hotel. Again this place is good to crash for the night, no good breakfeast, oh parking 25 dollars a night-try to look before you take it.

Room Tip: No back alley rooms. Please if you want to wake up peacefully DONT GET A ROOM BY THE BACK ALLEY. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmoralTEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#160 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#37 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#92 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
La Flora
#17 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Plaza Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Plaza Villas

Property: South Beach Plaza Villas
Address: 1411 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Plaza Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your South Beach Plaza Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Plaza Villas Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing