We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would come back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #100 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Would come back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Avalon for two nights the second week in July. First of all there is a public garage just a block down 7th St. Second the continental breakfast was included which is unusual for hotels on the Drive. Our room was very clean. We did have a problem with the toilet running, but that was very quickly repaired. We had requested a quiet room and got one. We were afraid of noise and music from the first floor restaurant, but it closes about 10, so noise would not have been an issue from an Ocean Front room.

There are a couple easy improvement that could be made though, one is the AC is vented to blow directly over the beds. Another is there is only one ice machine and one soda machine for the hotel.

Other than that we were pretty happy there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    318
    156
    53
    50
See reviews for
154
255
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice if you are just looking for a place to sleep if u are going to be out majority of your stay this is the place. Ana was very nice great people person and also the young man with the glasses was very nice. I could have used more cable channels but I'm not complaining about the law and order marathon. Housekeeping very nice I would come and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVELIFE20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We have visited South Beach multiple times and have stayed in several other hotels. This was, by far, our best visit, and this hotel was a large part of it. It was prime location for us: directly across from the beach (there are no rooms on the beach in this area), close enough to walk to party central near The Cleavelander and Mangos yet far enough away from the noise when you've had enough. It's a short and safe walk to and endless number and types of restaurants and shops. We drove here yet only used our car once and that was just for cruising.
This hotel is classic art deco in the Art Deco part of South Beach. It is not a resort, and it's not new. There is no pool or gym, but the larger hotels to the north cannot provide the unique/classic design, warm atmosphere, and ideal location this hotel offers. The staff was the icing on the cake. We had the good fortune to time our coming and going while Ana was at the desk. She made us feel like family to the point that we found ourselves saying we were "going home" when heading back to the hotel. She is friendly and knowledgeable and provided a lot of very sound and accurate information and recommendations. We only got to know Jorge at check out and found him just as friendly and helpful. I hope both of these exceptional staff members will receive the recognition they deserve for their exceptional service.
The entire staff from housekeeping to valet service to the restaurant staff was outstanding.
We will definitely choose this hotel for our next trip to South Beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ForeverYoung0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of it all in Miami. The staff was very pleasant and let a check in super early after we took a cruise that ended in Miami. We only had 1 night but we def took advantage and really got to experience Miami. The beach is right across the street! Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Miami beach :)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunsetkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you are headed to South Beach this hotel is a great stay. Directly across from the beach and walking distance from shopping and great restaurants. We arrived on an early flight and were pleasantly surprised to have a room ready at 10:00 a.m. Really - you go to South Beach to be outdoors and this hotel doesn't have all the bells and whistles but is more than adequate to sleep. Noise was not excessive and breakfast was average at best. Traffic is CRAZY in front of the hotel so if you drive your take a taxi be patient. A cute place for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheFLKeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here in July with family and the room was tiny. I paid for an ocean view room but all I saw out the window was palm trees. The smell was horrible, it smelled like mildew. The to top it all off they had my reservation under a different name, I had paid a night months before my vacation and the entire time during my stay they hassled me about the payment and the reservation being under a different name. It ruined my trip. Horrible stay, never stay at this hotel, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy7518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We get that this isn't The Ritz or The Hilton, but your staff can make or break the place. So why have uninterested staff (not all of them) who treat guests as an unnecessary distraction. If they don't want to be here, move them on and get people that are willing to engage and be helpful.
And can you get someone to do some general maintenance; our room had no cold water to the bathroom sink, shower curtain was about to fall off the wall and the shower tap handle falls off.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from Ocean Drive as possible to ensure you get quality sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Dwayne,

Thank you for your review. We at The Avalon Hotel are very sorry you were not happy with our staff. We will certainly address your concerns with our team. We will be looking into the issues you mentioned regarding your room accommodations as well. Your room tip about sleeping facing Ocean Drive will be helpful to future guests.

Thank you for your business and we ask you to come back so we can meet all of your expectations.

Warmest Regards,

Staff and Management Avalon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#43 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#23 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#83 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#177 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#183 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing