We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great personell”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #103 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
california
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great hotel, great personell”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Avalon hotel during spring break. George was very friendly and helpful to us, offering us suggestions. If you want to be in the heart of south beach, this is the place to stay. They have a great free breakfast in the morning.The beach is across the street, We roamed around,really enjoyed seeing Miami. You dont have to rent a car, we got a bus from the airport to the area.we will be back again.Thank you, Avalon , for helping to make our experience great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guests Service at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments and 5 star review.

We are so pleased you were able to have a true Avalon Experience. Our location, staff and complimentary breakfast have been a South Beach standard for over 20 years, and it is guests like you that keep us going strong.

We are pleased to have been able to host you,

Please call us direct next time you are making plans to return, we would like to extend our warmest Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    355
    183
    57
    53
See reviews for
169
301
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel has a great location and extremely reasonably priced for location in the heart of South Beach. The manager and front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Those that have reviewed this negatively must be forgetting the low price they paid. I think their demands are way too high considering th reasonableness of the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Finance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed 1 night at the Avalon hotel. While location could not be better, it's on Ocean Drive, the rooms are not clean, they smell weird, and are very noisy. Beds are not comfortable at all. We could see dust on the carpet ("see" dust...imagine that). I would not recommend at all. The only positive thing is how nice the staff is. Really. Breakfast selection is very limited and everything is served in disposable dishes, which is a shame and lacks style!,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feriel_Brux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Do not sacrifice quality/ location for the price. I wish I could leave a zero rating. The experience we had for spring break was horrible booked through price line and was happy with the pictures but once we got there it went downhill. Heymon was rude; we saw roaches and the room had a wet feel to the air, as well as no hot water what so ever. They sent someone up who tried to argue that water was coming out when all it was doing was dripping. Then they sent up maintenance who tried to compensate by putting us in a different room but by that time we had, had it with the hotel and staff. We were given the run around on who would give the money back between price line and the hotel. Finally after telling maintenance and the front desk staff my plans of shouting my bad reviews in front of the restaurant they both came to the agreement to refund the rest of the trip. I had a jacket in the “closet” and I cannot get the fishy smell out of it. The Avalon smell is embedded in my jacket it is horrible. There was also a strange man staggering from room to room trying to get in everyone’s room at 5am for goodness sakes. If you want to have a nice trip do not go to this hotel.

Room Tip: In order to get a good room do not choose this one and pay close attention to the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ashley F,

Firstly, I would like to apologize for your recent stay. It is clear you were unhappy, and we humbly offer our sincerest regret. It is not our usual review and we will be sure to look into all of the different issues relating to your stay.

We would very much like to have an opportunity to speak with you personally. Please feel free to give me a call at your convenience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I guess everyone may have a different opinion on anything.
And this opinion depends on one's caracter, age, hotels already visited, country/continent of origin, etc.

Nevertheless, all professionals know that when providing services, one must bear in mind that the price the customer payes must be in accordance with the service rendered.

This was the second time we went together to this hotel.

Nobody can discuss the location of this hotel : it is on Ocean drive. One good point.
Furthermore, usually, the perosnnel is nice ; this time, an excellent newcomer (new, for us..) was there, I think his name is George : he really knows how to handle customers. Precious guy for the owner.

NEVERTHELESS, one cannot really acclaim an onwer for the location : this is geography.
But when asking people to pay 300-400USD a night, he must CARE; And I have to say that in Avalon they do NOT:

a. Rooms have been renovated for the last time... nobody knows when. Have a look at mine and tell me if, at this price, I have to see the stain of the wall.
They should, at least, repaint.

b. Breakfast : this was really cheap/"cheap".
Furthermore : plastic forks and paper dishes?
With the litter bin just beside the "buffet", full of the rests of people who has already finished eating?
Not acceptable.

Outside is nice but : tables not covered by anything, just old wood.

c. Service : this is the only hotel of Ocean drive whch has no bar outside. If you want to have a drink to your hotel... no way. Of course, you can take your drink at the bar and go outside but... no service, no naps, no lights !
They have a restaurant but even after restauran0t is closed, no way to stay there.

I am certainly not comparing this last hotel of our tour with the one just before in Cancun - FA Grand Coral Beach is difficult to compare with anything.

BUT, I find inacceptable to ONLY sell location at ANY price. This would be, in Europe, a 1-2 star hotel. At 100-150-even 200USD/night, it is acceptable. More than that, it is a disgrace.
At least, the owner should have the courtesy to offer more upgraded services when, in high season, his guests pay, from 300 to 400 or even 500USD/night.

This is not just a question of price : one can see the lack of interest of the owner for his hotel everywhere (almost broken table at the lobby, etc. Even - and this amazing - the tables of the "chic" restaurant of the hotel wer far from being in accordance with the standing of the restaurant... they were not even similar, etc).

It is more a question of mentality. And personnaly, the mentality which consists in taking money without service, I do not like.

Of course, what I like or not, nobody cares, as this is Ocean drive and the hotel will still be full tomorrow. But this is not the question...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spyridon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Spyridon2014,

I would like to offer our humble apology with regards to your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. It is clear you were not satisfied with the rate on the room nor the services offered. Your comments are taken into very serious consideration as we do value the opinion of our guests.
We have been in business in this area for many years, and do in fact enjoy a loyal repeat clientele. I can assure you, the issues that you have brought up will be conveyed to all management and ownership and will initiate plans to better serve our customers.
We thank you for the time it took to send your feedback to us and should you ever find yourself in this area again, please let us know if there is something we can do to make it up to you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The location is great by the beach. Pools towels can be borrowed and the breakfast is basic stuff. We had a eoom to the Ocean Drive but asked for a another room not facing the street and it was no problem. The view to the street was great but we preferred a good night sleep after a long flight. Late check out was no problem either! The staff was great; no matter what we got all the help we needed.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kahtryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Kahtryn,

We are glad to hear you were pleased with our service and our staff were able to move you.
We hope you had a chance to rest but also to experience some of the SOBE nightlife during your stay!
We look forward to having you back with us!
Always remember to call direct for best rates.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel as part of our stay on our honeymoon. The location was awesome! The staff was very friendly. The rooms are small but updated and clean. Had a great time. We would recommend the Avalon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrswax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mrswax,
Congratulations on your nuptials!
We are honored you chose to stay with us on your honeymoon!
We wish you all the happiness and look forward to seeing you back for your anniversary.
Please call us direct so that we can personally take care of your accommodations.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#189 of 208 in Miami Beach
751 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#172 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing