We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The front desk staff were awesome!”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #101 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The front desk staff were awesome!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was great! Located across the street from south beach. Front desk staff (George and Anna) were awesome! Both made sure we had everything we needed and found us a great superbowl party! They made us feel welcome and like nothing was too much to ask of them. Rooms were clean, bed was slightly too hard for my liking, however I can't wait to go back to the Avalon!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlynnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    354
    182
    56
    53
See reviews for
169
299
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Situated in a great position in Ocean Drive, it seems to come back in time..Very nice old Miami style, great view on the ocean. Really friendly staff and globally clean. A bit noisy in the external rooms, but worthy for the stunning view..

Room Tip: If you like silence choose a back room, but if you want to experience something else ask for the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldosegantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed for one night which was more than enough. The location is perfect, right on the beach, the wifi is free, breakfast is included and the staff is friendly, but that's the positive. The pictures on the website doesn't match reality, at least not in our case. We had a classic room on the 2nd floor. The hallway smelled horribly (like a public restroom) when we arrived, the room was small (even by European standards) but smelled less bad than the hallway, had two queen beds, everything was worn down, the remote was sticky and we couldn't get a window open to let some air in. There was nothing cozy, bright or fresh to be found and no orchids even though that is what the webpage claims you can expect of a classic room. We had to move a (the only) bedside table to get access to an outlet (the only one we could find and gain access to, not counting the one in the bathroom) - and we shouldn't have done that - cleaning was needed. Breakfast is nothing out of the ordinary, but it's there. I am glad we just had to stay for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirlcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Travelgirlcph,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Avalon Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the ideal oceanfront location of the Avalon Hotel. Your comments are appreciated and will be discussed amongst management in order to better serve the needs of all of our guests.

We would like the opportunity to have you stay with us again, please feel free to contact us directly should you like to speak regarding your stay.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Or at least have a health inspection.
The Bathroom was not clean. Even a roach taking a walk, in the top of the old tv.
The only good thing about the Avalon hotel is the exception location, by the water.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graciane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear graciane2010,

We are disappointed to hear of the experience you had on your recent stay. The Avalon Hotel has been serving Miami Beach visitors for years and is committed to meeting all expectations. We are committed to looking after the issues you have mentioned and making the necessary changes. Should you ever find yourself coming back to our area, we would like an opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel has the least "hustle" of any other on the strip. That said, the location is perfect - just across from the beach but not too close to the noisiest part of the "strip". The hosts are very helpful and it is not an imposing organisation, but very calm at breakfast and dinner. The rooms are not amazing but the breakfast is fine and the dinner very good. The desk staff is particularly welcoming and helpful with small details and large. Be aware this is not luxury accomodation, but is ok for family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I ended up at the Avalon after the Garden Hotel (a few blocks away} did not have my reservation though I had a copy of my confirmation with me. I was upset since I had made it months in advance, the desk clerk at the Garden was completely unfriendly and unhelpful, and I had to run around looking for another hotel. When I got to the Avalon, the staff immediately made me feel welcome and glad to be there. It also ended up being cheaper because there was no "resort fee" as is charged at the Garden (though the Garden is not much of a resort--the entry is very dreary and half of the hotel is a closed-off construction site as they are renovating). Breakfast, wi-fi, and beach towels were all included in the room price at the Avalon.

For being Ocean Drive, it was quiet; it is not a party hotel. It has a nice dining room (expensive for dinner--I didn't try it) and front porch with tables rather than one of the mediocre sidewalk restaurants with huge cheesy drinks and blaring music that line Ocean Drive. Worked for me.

The decor is old-fashioned. It had the feel of a decent old-time European hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and adequate, nothing special but good value for the location. The breakfast was included--a standard hotel continental breakfast, but it was extremely pleasant to have it on the porch and in the restaurant which has large windows for people watching.

Every single staff member was great. They were helpful and they all seemed to enjoy working with the hotel guests. In the end, I was lucky that the Garden messed up. This is a much better place to stay and I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmack777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear NMSKY,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that our staff welcomed you and that your experience was reflective of the service we pride ourselves on.
Next time, you must treat yourself to dining at our restaurant A Fish Called Avalon, it is truly worth it, and will complete your South Beach visit! Be sure to contact us directly at vacation@avalonhotel.com. We will be sure to offer the very best rate and best room available as our loyal repeat guest.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on way home from cruise we were in Miami prior to cruise so we chose this hotel from other reviews and the actual location it's sea facing so we went in to ask about requesting a sea view room the guy on reception couldn't have been any more helpful think he was called Jorge he upgraded us free of charge as we were celebrating our anniversary.
So after the cruise we knew exactly we would be the same guy even offered us breakfast as we arrived early ..due to this helpful attitude we decided to book a meal for the evening which was so lovely the waiters were very helpful advising the days specials ..it was the most expensive meal we had in Miami but was worth it would recommend it none the less both hotel and restaurant

Room Tip: Email ahead if you want sea view but they can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy that we could make your vacation very special. We will make sure to let Jorge and our restaurant staff know about your kind comments.
We are looking forward to your next visit and feel free to contact us direct.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#171 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#188 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing