We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Avalon”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #120 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A cozy and not big hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and bright. We stayed in a comfortable room with ocean view. Good sound insulation. There were no bothering sounds at night. Very comfortable beds. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant several times: delicious food and good service. At the reception you get full and detailed information about how to rent a car, what places to visit, how to get somewhere. Anna and Jorge from the reception became our good friends! They helped us a lot and we would like to thank them! Also we liked Ruben and liked talking to him!
We liked the atmosphere of the hotel and its location (in Art Deco district, just by the beach). Lots of cafes, shops, and bars nearby. We had a wonderful time there and we plan to return to this hotel next year! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitriy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 872 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrrived at the avalon hotel to be greeted by a very friendly and helpful fellow behind the check-in counter. If you have any questions just ask and they will try to help you where to eat..what to see.. price of a taxi....you ask and I'm sure that you can have suggestions.....the hotel was clean . Serves a nice breakfast in the morning. and is right across from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blucab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The only thing better than the location was the service. The front desk was more than accommodating. We had an endless supply of clean dry towels to take to the beach. The free breakfast makes this an Evan better value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndabrowsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Guest Services at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Comments like yours inspire us to do our utmost to guarantee the best experience possible.
Thank you for your great review and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Staff and Management of the Avalon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The avalon couldn't be in a better location: directly across from the beach and a stone's throw to everything there is to do in South Beach.

The hotel itself is old and the rooms a little small but kept very clean and renovated, it smells great, the bed is comfy, lots of TV channels, coffee, robes, the concierge even called on friday night to see if I needed advice on what to do. It has a certain cozy ambiance that made my boyfriend and I love it.
There's no pool or hot tub.

The only downside is the price: at over $200 a lot of nights you don't get what you would from a $200 hotel most places, but South Beach isn't most places and you should expect to pay double for a hotel of the same quality anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr4velc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is very old. Parking is terrible. 27.00 a day to valet. The hotel is very dark and dingy. The location is about the only positive thing I can say about it. There is not a pool at this location. You have to go to their sister hotel which is very far away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent value for money and the location - in the heart of South Beach - is unbeatable. The staff make the difference and were extremely helpful and accomodating. At night the veranda and lobby transform into one of the best restaurants in the area. Ocean Drive also transforms into a parade of people and tricked out cars that give South Beach its reputation as a party destination. Rooms were recenty updated & the bed linens were top quality. As a family with adult children the Avalon was a perfect spot for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Avalon in the laid back summer tourist season and had a lovely time. The room was small but very clean. The staff was exceptionally kind and we tremendously enjoyed our conversations with the elderly gentlemen who greeted us each day. (So sorry we can't recall his name!) The location was a perfect walking spot to the beach along Miami Beach. Take the walking tour of the Art Deco district and you'll better appreciate the charm of this older hotel. Also, do the morning yoga on the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#109 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#196 of 212 in Miami Beach
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#150 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $134 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing