We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and the staff was the nicest and attentive staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #98 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Perfect location and the staff was the nicest and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel Avalon for a quick getaway. The location was perfect, cost was reasonable and staff was extremely friendly especially Ana.

The restaurant has an incredible chef ( chef Kal) and the food was excellent. the wait staff was also very nice (thank you Christopher )

I would encourage everyone to book your stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justineot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    327
    161
    54
    50
See reviews for
157
270
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I visited with my Girl Friend stay for a week in South Beach. The room seem a bit small and not so much other then a place to sleep. We were out all day at the beach and hit up the bars and clubs by nite. I think next time I will spend more money for a better hotel. But yes the location was great I mean the first time I didn't have to rent a car while I was in another state. Everything was so close to me other then the Airport...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited with my husband & our 2 daughters (tween & teen). Our room was in the rear, just over the kitchen, which was very noisy (pots & pans, dishes clang, silverware, etc) in the later hours (10 pm) when we were trying to sleep. The head shop across the street was very loud, as was the music from the restaurant across the street. Crank the ac a bit to cover the noise & snuggle!

Love the hotel charm! Great location, exceptional staff! If I were of the jet set & in to the night life, this would be an exceptional location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

First things first: Me and some friends decided to stay at this hotel since it was right on the strip and it was pretty inexpensive compared to some of the other hotels on the strip. Let me first say the location is perfect. But it wasn’t the location that made the hotel perfect it was the guy at the front desk, Jorge. Once we got to the hotel we were greeted by Jorge and let me tell you, he was a ball of personality. He treated us like we were celebrities. Each day he had a smile on his face and directed to anything we needed.
Rooms: The rooms were a decent size. We always had fresh towels, clean beds , extra blankets and pillows anytime we asked. The maid was an older Trinidad woman with a wonderful accent. She was sweet and helped make our stay here even more comfortable. I’ve stayed at a lot of hotels and for the most part and as long as the room and the hotel are clean, they’re all the same. What made this hotel special is the people that worked there. My cousin and friends all agree, we'll be staying here each year and it’s all because of Jorge. The way he greeted us, answered our questions, pointed us in the right direction. That alone has us hooked. Good customer service is hard to come by, and great customer service is even harder, but the Avalon hotel showed us that great customer service still exists. Each staff member treats the hotel like it’s their home and they make everyone feel right at home. We stayed at the Marriott the year before and didn’t get half as much quality service that we got from the Avalon. All in all the customer service here makes it a 5 star hotel!!!! Ill definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyb234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is right in the middle of the Art Deco area and the beach is right across the street. You really can't beat the location. The valet will park your car and retrieve it for you. Be aware the daily parking fee is 25+ per day. The hotel is very nice, the staff was great. The room was nice but Room 116 is right next to the kitchen and the street, so if you expecting to get any sleep, forget it, unless you use earplugs and turn on the AC. I expect the other rooms might have been a bit better, but for the price, it kind of sucked. But again, if you want to be in the middle of it all, its great place, just be picky about the expectations of your room location.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judadams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A relaxing weekend parties and fun shopping the hotel is across from the beach near shopping an right on the strip the room was very nice the service was great I enjoyed it a nice 3 day vacation I will stay there again it was great an the breakfast was really nice also !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location is fabulous- Ocean Drive, right across the street from the boardwalk and Miami Beach. We rented bikes and biked all of Ocean Drive and Lincoln Ave. If you have never been to South Beach, Ocean Drive is crazy busy at night- so, the street noise is easily heard from the room, but that would be the case with any of these locations. The hotel itself is boutique style- clean, comfortable. The bathrooms could certainly use some updating, but I was fine with it considering the price and location (I got a deal on this hotel off of Priceline). We also ate at the hotel restaurant- A Fish Called Avalon. I really enjoyed it, but my husband was not a fan of his meal. They primarily serve seafood, and the restaurant had a very romantic feel. It was a bit pricy though- especially the drinks. Not the place to go if you are there to party!

Room Tip: We had room 302, which was ocean-facing. Great views, but probably more noisy than rooms on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#186 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#93 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing