We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A friendly, Art Deco hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #110 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A friendly, Art Deco hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel has a laid back atmosphere and a great location. We stayed two nights in the sea view room in the corner, which benefitted from two windows. It was brilliant. It is an Art Deco building in the great location. I will stay again when I'm back on the South Beach.

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view room, best to get one in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iwoneczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    317
    155
    52
    50
See reviews for
152
252
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was offered one rate and rhen switched. They reel you in this small rat hole and nickle and dime was you check out. Towels were dirty, room was poorc and management suvks. Very outdated hotel. Roaches too...the huge one. Don't be fooled by location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hfgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Isle of Man
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed on Ocean Drive quite a few times over the years always on business usually attending an event/conference that is happening in the big resort hotels further up the coast. I love the Art Deco buildings of the area and the close location to the boardwalk/beach. It is very touristy and as a result more pricey but what's not to love.

The Avalon is pretty much in the centre of Ocean Drive and as a consequence the evening goes on a while outside. I was in a corner room almost directly over the hubbub, but it really wasn't that bad and it certainly didn't bother me or interrupt my sleep. But if you are a light sleeper and require an early night (why would you on Ocean Drive?) then you need to bear this in mind or ask for a room further back in the hotel.

So to the room, I was in room 308 which was very nicely decorated, clean and tidy on my arrival. The bed is large and the bedding extremely comfortable. The room had a iPod/iPhone radio alarm system which was a nice addition. If like me you are charging various devices every night its great to have a somewhere else free to sort the phone. There was a flat screen TV which had loads of channels but whether this is good or not I'm not sure as It didn't go on much. there was a fridge which you could stock yourself (don't go to the 'market' shop across the street though as you'll come out with a serious lack of goods for your cash).

The bathroom was quite large and well equipped. Not what I would describe as a power shower but certainly adequate. The toiletries all did the required business of cleaning, shampooing etc etc. Towels where large enough and in plentiful supply. There was a couple of waffle cloth robes supplied which is a nice touch (although quite why I think that I'm not sure as I never wear them, but am disappointed if they aren't there).

One small point (and its only a point) the hanging space is quite small and if you've a few items to hang its quite cramped. It wasn't too bad for me but if two of you are in the room then you might want to use the supplied iron and board more regularly than I would like.

The staff are great, friendly and very helpful. I had boxes shipped to the hotel prior to my arrival and this was handled without fuss. There was a standard continental breakfast included in my rate. Not the greatest but plenty of coffee and the usual bagels/toast/muffins and fruit.

In the evening the main lobby, porch and pavement transforms to a restaurant. The transformation is startling and the food is very very good. They serve till quite late which was useful as my flight arrived in the evening and I spent 90 minutes being welcomed to the country at the airport.

There is also a small bar which allows you to enjoy a drink, you can eat there as well. Again the staff in the restaurant and bar are attentive without being overbearing and are very helpful.

As you are on Ocean Drive you do pay for the drinks and food, but you can always head to other areas of South Beach. But to soak up the atmosphere and people watch its great. Would I stay again, an resounding yes and I would recommend it as a hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms further back in the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice 3 star hotel in South Beach.
Pros: Nice aroma throughout the hotel
(I believe they put an aroma vaporizer in the central air to keep this)
Nice view from my room.
Windows opened to leave fresh breeze in **
The fresh orchid next to flat screen tv.
Clean room and public areas.
Mini Fridge in closet *
Great location.
Nice live entertainment at night outside of the hotel
Free wifi

Cons
The man in a suit and glasses that checked me in was the metro sexual type with the weird attitude to match. Check in was difficult and upon handing him my ID that clearly states I'm female. He wrote MR. before my name on the hotel check in forms. Which he said he would take care of and upon going to the lobby in the morning to get new room keys and to sign more forms noticed that he had not done so which really annoyed me. The woman who fixed it was nice but this shouldn't have happened in the first place. Especially for a hotel that pays attention to details as much as this one does. It was clearly an intended slap in the face by this man. . Which HIGHLY disappoints me.

$50 for valet parking

breakfast that included salami and cheese whole grain bread, some yogurt and a few bananas

basic low quality fiber pillows

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idaliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It can be a gamble finding an Art Deco hotel on Miami Beach that allows you to enjoy the charm of a bygone era, but offers accommodation that is of a decent standard. The Avalon is one that fitted the bill. Right in the heart of South Beach, the room was clean, tidy and the bedding linen crisp and white. The staff want to ensure that your stay is comfortable and it was a nice touch to receive a welcome phone call to check that all was in order. Breakfast is included in the rate too - it's a basic Continental European spread, but good enough to set you up for the morning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrynDHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend of mine. The service was very good, and for us it was just a dream vacation coming true.
The front desk team was very friendly, they even have a Dutch guy working in the front desk!
Overall, I loved my stay, loved the weather, and will definitely be returning there!

Room Tip: The room in I had in the back was very nice and quiet. I preferred the higher floor room but was ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryFlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Sept. 2012 my husband & I flew from Phila. to Florida, when we arrived that afternoon the weather was great, we got there early but they checked us right in without waiting. I already knew the rooms were small in this area ( south beach Art Deco) but very nice and the bed was like sleeping on clouds, that was the best sleep ever. The beach is directly across the street & the hotels are on the strip like a mini " Las Vegas" with restaurants & nightlife.... and the 2 for 1 drinks were off the "chain". The staff was great & free breakfast buffet in lobby every morning. There's nothing bad to say about our stay. We will DEFINITELY return. If you want to have fun this is the place Art Deco area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovenygiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#174 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#49 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#165 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing