We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #122 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 1, 2012

great little hotel at a reasonable price. Good size rooms, clean and nice friendly staff. All round a good bet if you want to be in the centre of things on Ocean Drive.

Have to recommend the attached Restaurant also, food was fresh, tasty and big portions!

Room Tip: ask for one not at the front of the hotel to stay clear of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 877 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great spot, close to all the action. Rooms dated, but adequate and spotlessly clean which we value most of all. Aircon was a little noisy, but so is my friends snoring and we weren't in the rooms much as the nightlife is amazing even just a short stroll down Ocean drive. Breakfast included wont win awards, but was ok and made us look forward to lunch. Staff were superb and friendly. I'd stay there again due to location, helpful staff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JustinH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Please read me review

We stayed at the Avalon in miami 8/18-8/22 we are two woman in our late 20"
I was a little scared to book this hotel at 1st because of all the reviews and pictures.
but if i wouldnt have booked here it would have been a big mistake!!!

Staff: was great and helpfull!! But i have to say Anna was amazing. she info us on everything around and when we asked for something she was on it!! she is a sweet,caring woman!! she made our vacation. I can never thank Anna enough!!

The room we stayed in 120.. two double beds.. housekeeping was great they came everyday the room was clean always and the bathroom was very clean and always always new towels.. The breakfast was great too lots of choices!!
ONE TIP- have a print out of what channel is on what station on tv..

The locaition was perfect to resturaunts,shop, and best of all the beach!
Also was we went to the Sister hotel THE SOUTH SEAs they have a great pool,bar,lunch time resturaunt. it was great but you should take a 10dollar taxi. dont walk its kinda far in the heat-
-The price was amazing for this hotel
There is nothing bad to say about the Avalon.. Anna THANK YOU SO MUCH
we will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location is superb, just in front of the beach. Yet, similar hotels with lower rates can be found in nearby parallel streets, especially Collins and Washington. Therefore, location is not so important in this case.

Staff in the front desk is very polite and helpful. Maids are a bit less polite, but there was no problem with cleanliness in our room. Regarding this, the only problem is that there is a seafood restaurant working in the lobby, and sometimes the fish smell is quite annoying in the elevator - our room was from it, but closer rooms may face this problem, which they should try to minimize.

King size bed is very comfortable. Safe is also provided. Air conditioning is powerful (it has to be, during summer!) but noisy.

By and large, however, the problems are fairly negligible, and the hotel is very good!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room far from the elevator and in higher floors, to avoid the fish smell from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel was perfectly located in the heart of where you want to be in South Beach. From the warm welcome from Ana to the fantastic recommendations from Jorge - the entire weekend was perfect!
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a good time in South Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoneandonlymissV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

let me start by saying PERFECT location beautiful hotel, AWESOME STAFF< George, Ana Ruben..just wonderful people who were kind funny and went above and beyond. I've been to Miami before at another hotel but the staff here were just such beautiful people,The Avalon is my new and ONLY hotel i will stay at from now on. The breakfast was good fruit cereal french toast pastries etc enough for myself and who I was with, even housekeeping went above and beyond anything we needed or asked for was always a YES OF COURSE just such a great staff, the hotel is VERY well maintained and walking distance to everything and everywhere I loved everyone there and it was sad to leave but I will be heading back hopefully in a few months.DEF 5 stars I would give it 10 if I could!! I cant wait to go back!!!

Michelle Cardona
room 314 xoxoxox

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor slept like a baby no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is right across from the beach in the mix of all the restaraunts, shops and clubs! We were upgraded to a ocean-front room and all our needs were catered to! The room was a little small but a big king size bed and they gave us a air matress! George and Anna were the best staff ever, they gave us club passes and were very down to earth and made all our reservations and made sure we were happy 23/7! Even the room service was great, our room look like a tornado hit it twice and the maid made it look brand new everyday! I have no bad things to say! Plus the restaraunt in the hotel was the best one we ate at during the whole trip! their food was amazing!! We are planning a trip back next year and will defnietly be staying here! Especially if george and anna are still there!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms have the greatest view, you can see everything on the beacha nd whats happening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#112 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,585 reviews
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,444 reviews
The Colony Hotel
#149 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#197 of 212 in Miami Beach
785 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 700 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $138 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wecome to The Avalon Hotel This iconic Art Deco favorite is known for its Ocean Drive address in the heart of South Beach. When staying at the Avalon, you will be in the middle of the South Beach action with its bustling sidewalk cafes, Art Deco buildings, amazing shopping, and unforgettable nightlife. As you enter the Avalon you will step back to a relaxing time, where our welcoming and seasoned staff will pamper you. In the evening, the Avalon lobby and terrace magically transforms into A Fish Called Avalon Restaurant, for over twenty years a culinary Miami Beach institution. Enjoy candlelit tables, nightly live music, fresh local seafood and other culinary delights created by Chef Kal Abdalla. For glamorous people-watching, there is no better place than our outdoor terrace right on Ocean Drive. Our guest rooms are light and fresh, with luxury linens for your comfort. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks and Wi-Fi will keep you connected, while waffle-weave robes and organic toiletries help you relax and rejuvenate. Avalon guests are treated to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Other amenities include complete business center, and beach towels. Guests of the Avalon also enjoy pool, beach, and restaurant privileges at the South Seas, our sister oceanfront property, just a short stroll north along the oceanfront boardwalk. • An Art Deco boutique hotel• Oceanfront in the heart of South Beach on famed Ocean Drive• 10 blocks to the Miami Beach Convention Center• 15 miles to Miami International Airport• 10 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Miami Beach
Avalon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing