We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of half price drinks and poor food”
Review of Ocean Drive

Ocean Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.83*
and up
South Beach Segway Tour
Ranked #7 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beware of half price drinks and poor food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We strolled down Ocean Drive through many of the restaurants with outdoor seating and were literally accosted by female hostesses practically BEGGING us to sit down and eat at their restaurants. I felt like I was in a marketplace in Mexico and not in a good way.

PLEASE NOTICE that in many of the rip off restaurants THERE ARE NO PRICES ON THE DRINK MENUS. The hostess will tell you "Oh, this drink is normally $45 but for you today it is 2 for $25" Sounds like a good deal, right? Yeah, until you get your bill and you are charged for $100 for your drinks. Never trust anyone there. It is disgraceful, really. I expected so much more out of South Beach.

Thank goodness we had the sense to get the heck out of there before we ordered anything. I just had a bad feeling about it and I googled several restaurants and read review after review of people that had been ripped off.

The food looked horrible!! The pizza looked like a microwave pizza.

Beautiful area that has been corrupted by someone with a lot of power that can get away with it. Try Lincoln Road area - it is better than this tourist trap.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,586
    2,863
    959
    282
    142
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Thinking back to the beginning of our Trip, we stayed for 3 nights on South Beach Ocean Drive. We found the experience unpleasant, waitresses seemed rude towards us, and the majority of people we encountered seemed shallow and unfriendly. Unless you have a fast car to flaunt along Ocean Drive, or so called 'perfect looks' then it may be hard to fit in here, which is ok with me!!! Im certain we were ripped off along the way as our money seemed to deplete rapidly...Swimming in the sea was a highlight though, and the hotel room we stayed in at the Zocean was excellent. But, I don't think we will visit South Beach again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Beebleweebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Must-see on South Beach to-do list”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you're traveling to Miami Beach, then Ocean Drive would be on the list of places to see. It boasts with hotels, restaurants, and night clubs. Many restaurants offer live music and dance performances to attract tourists and actively compete with other venues to lure you to dine with them. Many spots display menu items outside as well.
By day, it is less packed but by night foot and car traffic gets very heavy. Parking is expensive and not easy to find. I would recommend parking elsewhere if driving for you is a must.
Evening stroll is a good option if you're into people watching. Nightlife scene becomes very vibrant and loud and not very glamorous.. quite a few drunk, obnoxious people and groups of guys scanning ladies up and down..
If you're into heavy partying then it's probably the place for you to be. Otherwise, go see and put a check on the list on Miami Beach attractions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyInes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“neon nightlife”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

great atmosphere, fantastic sights, sounds and with the Heat games playing in every bar - a real sense of positivity while everyone is having a good time. be sure to have enough money and check out the Clevelander for a good night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Donks with a chance of Class”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What is a "donk" you ask? Urban dictionary puts it best, "Any POS late 80's or early 90's American heap (preferably an Impala) that has large enough wheels installed until it resembles (and rides and handles like) a Conestoga wagon." This is what you'll find driving up and down Ocean Drive in a hydraulic infused parade. You might also run across an actual baller who decided to park a stupid expensive vehicle on the side of the road, which attracts a lot of people trying to use their ipod as a camera to capture the rare sight of some car you won't ever ever own, let alone ride in.

In summation - it's the place to be with shops and bars, but a lot of "peackocking" from the rich and the wannabees. Enjoy the show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BriggsDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Drive also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing