We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great for walks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Drive

Ocean Drive
Book In Advance
$59.00*
and up
South Beach Segway Tour
Ranked #7 of 116 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
529 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“great for walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

great street for walking, but at the evening turns into zoo, packed and crowded... a lot of fancy restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,032
    2,538
    825
    235
    114
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Kitts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Art Deco style well conserved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice buildings, Nice cars, Nice Girls most of the time...
Tourist trap obviously but pleasant for half an hour of cruising around...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JdS123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewoka, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
380 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Only thing going for it is the Retro architecture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 2 days of our vacation on Ocean Drive before driving down Highway 1 through the keys. Have to admit, this stint was the low point of our trip. The area is definitely for the young (or young at heart) and the very wealthy. We did enjoy walking around and checking out the retro hotels which are beautiful all lit up at night.

A walk down Ocean Drive was a loud blur of honking horns, different languages and ear-piercing radios! Absolutely no parking and what was available 2-3 blocks away was $30/day. We had a lot of good laughs people watching, even though some of the "beautiful people" probably had a good laugh at us too gawking at the expensive cars with blaring music, sidewalk cafes hawking their specials, drag queens, musicians and an eclectic mix of people of all nationalities.

Beware of the sidewalk cafes on Ocean Drive! They lure you in with their reasonably priced specials, encourage all the little extras, serenade you, smother you with compliments and keep you ordering. But the drink prices are not published on any of the menus. Beer $12+ Mixed Drinks $25 & up and a gratuity is added to all orders. The 4 of us racked up a tab of almost $500 our first night which really gave us a bad taste for the place and a hard and expensive lesson learned. I know it was our fault for getting caught up with the excitement...but whew! Enough said...

Now for the beach...all I can say is fabulous! Clean, white with beautiful turquoise waves crashing in. Another great place to people watch and our guys certainly enjoyed the views! LOL

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's not 'the place to be' in Miami for no reason. The architecture, the restaurants, live music, the eclectic crowd and the general feeling of South Beach makes it a must-see place when you travel in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcAndre_StG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOUD, tired and low brow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hate this strip. What a cartoon. Tries to be interesting and happening but it's like walking through a circus midway of freak show hawkers. The blasting techno music is so old and inappropriate for a dining scene that we understand why most of the seats are empty. Plus the food is awful across the board. Skip this strip, really.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkDeniseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Drive also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing