We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Grubby & Grimy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
Ranked #138 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grubby & Grimy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here for the amount this hotel charges you can find much better locations close to beach and in the same locality. Staff were unhelpful and sultry and rooms dirty. Very basic indeed. Pictures they use to promote the hotel must have been taken a long time ago. The pool area is disgusting and dirty and we did not dare to step in! Never again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank S4AVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    83
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
62
55
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We rented 2 rooms here for a girls weekend. It was our second time staying here. The location is pretty good, about a 10 block walk to the Clevelander, about 3-4 blocks to the Lincoln Road mall and less than 2 blocks to the beach. For the $15/night resort fee, you get 2 free beach chairs ($20 value) and free wifi. The hotel has a nice enough pool with good lounge chairs and a bar with a nightly happy hour where they have a featured $1 drink. The rooms are pretty big, with a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen and large living room with dining area. The kitchen is great because we can make our own breakfast and save some money, since South Beach is definitely not cheap. I like this place. It is old and a little worn, as most places in South Beach are, but overall, it is a good deal, and pretty clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advonefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about
your stay.

We are happy that you find our location to be great
while close to Lincoln Road and the Malls.

Hope you will stay with us again during you next
visit to Miami Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hi All, I recently returned from the USA. Where I took my wife to Miami. After too much choice we choose the Dorchester suites.

This was a mistake.

We booked a queen bed room, we were given a room with two double beds. not very romantic. Fanny on the desk was rude and didn't care that we were on honey moon and told "Come back tomorrow and we can see what we can do" terrible attitude.

All the table and chairs in the public areas were not clean or have in my opinion ever been cleaned, especially the hammock.

For the ridiculous price tag of this hotel, you would expect a clean bathroom. Well avoid 314. You can not polish a turd. By putting a waterfall tap and square shower head does make up for the bath scum and dirty walls,

The pool, only chlorine made it safe, it was dirty and we never used it,

The gym, old and clearly had never been cleaned EVER!!!! and the air con was never on, so it took 1hr to cool the room before you could work out.

In summary poor staff, poor hygiene standards, over priced hotel, AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!

Room Tip: Another hotel anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RikMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and my partner were visiting Miami as part of a trip to celebrate his 30th birthday. This fact was listed on our initial booking by our travel agent, with a request to give us a nice room if possible. No effort was made by the hotel for this, and quite the opposite in fact. We had booked for a double room (with a double bed to share) in this hotel between the 9th and 16th June 2013. Upon arriving in the room, there were two beds. I phoned the reception and was quite abruptly told that is what they class as a double room in America- double guests and therefore two beds, which has been untrue in all other cities we had visited- this would have been listed as a twin room. I said I had paid for a larger bed for us to share and would like to be moved, and she said there were no rooms with double beds available, but if I wanted to upgrade I could do so for $350 extra for the week! We refused, and stayed in the drab room we were given, hoping to make the best of what we had got. The rooms were basic and in need of some tlc. The beds creaked as soon as you even put a bag on top of them. Very noisy air con.

Avoid any dealings with a girl called Fanny on the reception desk. She is rude, patronising and unhelpful. All other staff we dealt with were nice.

We spent most of our days at their sister hotel, the Marseilles across the road, and I would advise others to do so if you have already booked up this hotel. The pool is cleaner, the staff are friendlier and the overall atmosphere is much nicer. You get free towels and loungers there too without being questioned.

Also upon check in at the Dorchester, we were given a card that stated that with our booking we would get 2 free sun loungers and an umbrella on the beach. After asking at the desk about this, they told us we would have to pay $10 per person per day for this privilage of 'free' sunloungers. Breakfast at the hotel is very pricy too, and didn't look or smell very nice. I would avoid.

Only plus point to the hotel is its location, but there are plenty other to choose from in that area. Reading other reviews it seems you need to pay for an expensive suite to get better treatment at this hotel, which is ridiculous, if you had that money to spend I would advise you to go to a different hotel. Another couple who checked in at the same time as us, left and paid for a room in a different hotel for the week. If we had had that money spare, we would have done the same.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
560 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

At the end of a great roadtrip from New York etc.we had booked the Hotel for three nights for our party of three.The hotelroom was not too big and we could switch to a suite for only 100 usd.
The staff and household were very friendly .Swimming pool was OK only fitness room was in poor condition.Overall needs hotel some renovation.Location is perfect,near beach and oceandrive and only three blocks away from Lincoln road, the place to eat,shop and walk in Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for gardenside rooms because those are quieter then streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman1stal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay
with us.

We are very happy that you find our staff to be friendly, and
that we are in a "perfect location" near Ocean Drive
and Lincoln Rd.,

We take notes about comments regarding our Fitness
Room and deginitely will make it even much better.

Thanks again, and hope to see you again during your
next visit to Miami Beach/ South Beach.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We traveled with our 10 month old son and were overall quite pleased with this hotel.

Positives:
- Spacious suites, mostly updated
- Friendly staff
- Big, clean pool
- Clean property
- The suites are all accessible from outside only, and give onto a nice courtyard and each have a small balcony
- Great location, less than a 5 minute walk to the beach, but in a quieter part of SB, which was nice since we traveled with a baby

Negatives:
- Bathrooms could use an update; it would be nice to have floating floors in the bedroom and hallway instead of carpet
- The sink in the kitchen is ridiculously small (dinner plate wouldn't fit), it was very difficult to do dishes without creating a gigantic mess

But there was one MAJOR negative...
On our 3rd day, a group of about 25 people arrived (aged 25-45). They were very nice and friendly when we saw them at the pool and crossed them around the property. However, when night fell, they partied, LOUD. I realize we were in Miami, but this was on hotel grounds and well into the night (past midnight, and even until 3 or 4 am). We did not say anything on the 1st night, since we figured it was a one time thing and that the hotel would say something to them. Unfortunately, on the second night, same story. My husband politely asked them around midnight to keep it down, which they did for maybe 30 mins, but the the noise started again. We barely got any sleep, and they ended up waking the baby (and I have a very heavy sleeper, who never wakes at night). They were so loud, I could clearly hear the dialogue on their TV through the bedroom walls (at 3 am)! In the morning, I went to complain at reception. The staff were very nice, apologized and told me that if it happened again, to call them from our room. 3rd night - SAME story. My husband called around 10:30 and was told security would go speak to them. By 11, no change, so I called and was told the same. At 11:20, still no change. By this point, we had really had enough of all of this, so my husband went to reception in person and created a bit of a scene. Unfortunate that it had to get to this point, but we finally got some peace and quiet! The manager came to apologize in person and so did one of the party-ers. However, we were quite disappointment that it took that long for something to happen. I don't understand why the hotel didn't say anything to them by the 2nd night, and certainly why it took 3 calls and getting angry for them to actually do anything at all. We were honestly more upset at the hotel's handling of the situation, than the situation itself. We were expecting something more than just an apology, maybe a waiving of the resort fees or something similar, but nada. It didn't ruin our trip, but certainly put a bit of a dent in it.

Room Tip: If staying in a suite, ask for a ground floor room if traveling with small children, no elevators. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalledChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I personally would like to thank you very much for
your detailed analysis of you stay.

We are very pleased that your overall observation
of our property is great. As you mentioned, our spacious
updated suites, big clean pool, clean property, great
and quiet location, are what set us apart from many
other Hotels in Miami Beach.

On the other hand, we are very sorry that the group who
were here, during your stay, were on the louder side, and
as you rightly noted, when the matter was brought to
our attention, we immediately took action; nevertheless,
once again, please accept our apology.

We do hope to see you again during you next visit to
Miami Beach/ South Beach: thanks for choosing us.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in a King Suite for 3 nights. The bed was comfy and the large suite (bigger than my first apartment!) was clean, nicely done, and had everything we needed. Service was attentive and friendly. Our flight landed past midnight and checked in late with no problem. We came in drenched from a bout of rain, and the man who checked us in immediately gave us some towels and offered us an umbrella. We also had a problem with our bathroom the next day, and staff came to fix it immediately. We had a first floor suite and got some late-night noise from people on the main walkway, but was not a major problem. We noticed the wifi connectivity was very weak, maybe because the suites are located in a separate building. Overall, the location can’t be beat, and the amenities were satisfactory. We’d stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajoto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKHGM, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I would like to take this time to thank you for
for you feedback. I am the person who gave
you the the towels to dry you off upon your arrival
in the rain. It was more than a pleasure doing
this act of kindness because here at the Dorchester,
our guest are super special to us and our entire
staff are always ready and willing to go above and
beyond to ensure that our guest feel at home and
have a great stay. We are also pleased that you
enjoyed your overall stay. We hope to see you again.

Yours,
E. Hewitt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#125 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#83 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#78 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#118 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#101 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
City Center
Sanctuary South Beach
Sanctuary South Beach
#145 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Property: Suites of Dorchester
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7413
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing