We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
Ranked #141 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
stockholm, sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Dorchester Hotel&Suites 21-24Feb2013. We were a big party of 4 families (altogether 19people in 8 suites).
Originally we were booked in the standard hotel rooms but the hotel was very kind and upgraded us to suites. The suites were quite big, bedroom, livingroom and a kitchen. The location of the hotel is excellent, only one block away from the beach and within walking distance of a lot of shopping, restaurants, Ocean Drive etc. The hotel has a pool and also a bar (for drinks in the evening and breakfast in the morning), had the buffet breakfast 2 out of 3 mornings and it was OK for the price we paid.
All in all I found the hotel value for money (no luxury but South Miami Beach is expensive).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annahelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    80
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
58
54
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Front door man helpful when we first arrived, front desk staff friendly, room was clean and large -had a king suite with separate kitchen and balcony overlooking large water feature, comfortable bed but the best part is location-parked our car once and walked everywhere. Great place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dishrodheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Dorchester Suites.
Rooms were big, the staff was excellent, friendly and extremely kind and helpful.
Suite had a kitchen with all the necessary kitchen wear.
The location is fabulous and access to the beach is across the street.
In 10$ resort fee you will get complimentary chairs, towels & umbrellas through their agreement with the Marseilles across the street.
Also wifi charges was included in the resort fee. Pool water was warm and clean.
The floating bed was very beautiful and relaxing. They offer 1$ drink every day during happy hour 7PM-8PM.
Hotel valet parking charges were 28$ for a day. There is a parking garage on 16th st just 2 blocks awaw that offer secured and gated parking in 16$ for 24 hours.
Lots of restuarants nearby which opens till late. You can also catch Airport flyer bus just across the street.
Ocean drive was also 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We got a 1 bedroom suite for $200 a night, which I thought was a great price. The room had 2 double beds, a pull out couch, a desk, a dining room table, a full kitchen, 2 closets and 2 flat screen tvs. It was clean and nicely decorated. I thought the hotel was well maintained considering its age. It was close to the beach, about a 5 minute walk and only about 8 blocks to the good bars on Ocean Drive. The 2 free beach chairs and umbrella that we got each day were great to reduce our costs at the beach. Most of the people we spoke with at the front desk were friendly and helpful. This was a great place for 5 girls to stay on a girls weekend because we could spread out a lot more than we could in a hotel room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advonefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHCHA, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time let us know about your great experience at our property. It let us know that we are doing a great job and encourages us to do even better. As we continue to listen to our guest needs and wants, we always try to go
above and beyond in giving you the best value for you budget.

Once again thanks and hope to see you during your nest visit to “Sunny Miami”.

Yours,
Everton hewitt, CHA
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got this hotel on Priceline for $115 a night and I could not possibly have been more pleased with what we got for that price. The room was a good size, the staff was excellent, friendly and extremely kind and helpful. We were allowed to check in early, given a room with 2 beds on request even though they had us down for a king room (and they were sold out for the weekend). Yes the bathroom was showing signs of age, but the beds were clean and comfortable, and I loved the wood floors. The location was perfect, and it was lovely to have access to the private beach with complimentary chairs towels & umbrellas through their agreement with the Marseilles across the street. My kids loved the pool (it was rather warm due to being directly in the sun all day, but nice and big with plenty of chairs) and the floating bed in the courtyard. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilbunnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Let me just say that I would definitely stay here again.

South Beach hotels can be really old and this place has been renovated with new furniture & paint to look pretty nice even though the hotel bones (and things like fixtures, A/C, flooring, etc.) still look like they are from the 70's. The place grew on me because the rooms are HUGE -- actually they're 1 bedroom apartments -- with kitchens and this makes up for the somewhat tired surroundings. If you're staying with a small child like we were, the extra space is wonderful. We were able to have a babysitter sit in the living room in the evening while our baby slept in the bedroom.

The location is fabulous and access to the beach is across the street, but easy. Noise levels are low and the hotel is recessed from the street so there is also no traffic noise.

Finally, the price is great for what you get. This is ultimately what sold me and why I will come back. It's not the newest, fanciest hotel on the strip, but it's comfortable, clean and an amazing value for what you pay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the beach, a 5min walk and you are on the beach. The rooms were clean and nice. The lighting in the rooms weren't too great, but that was fine since we were out most of the time. Staying here, we were given free vouchers to beach chairs and umbrellas while we visited the beach. This was great, especially when it's so hot. Free beach towels were provided when went to the beach. Our room had a kitchen with all the necessary kitchen wear.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#125 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
City Center
Villas at Shelborne
Villas at Shelborne
#185 of 205 in Miami Beach
2.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#115 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#114 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#101 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Property: Suites of Dorchester
Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7413
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing