We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“bad deal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suites of Dorchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
Ranked #138 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad deal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Priceline rated this hotel 2.5 star. Far from it. Bed had hair an bathroom was dirty. Bell boy refused to give me my car keys unless i gave him a $5 tip for doing nothing. Bottom line - dirty place and bad service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    78
    37
    6
    10
See reviews for
53
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Situated on the edge of the Art Deco area the Dorchester is within easy walking distance of Ocean Drive and the beach as well as nearby Lincoln Rd with its pedestrian district of shops and pavement restaurants. We stayed in one of the suites which are situated at the back of the hotel so relatively quiet. The apartment was very spacious with a small outside sitting area.
In the front of the hotel set back from Collins Ave is a pleasant courtyard area for relaxing/drinks /breakfast, with a reasonable sized swimming pool nearby. There is a Happy Hour everyday when a limited range of free drinks are available. The hotel also provides an umbrella and 2 chairs on the beach. Parking is expensive but that is true of the area generally.
The breakfast was average and the service poor mainly because one girl was expected to do virtually everything except the cooking! ( it was too much for one person.)
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and the location was good
.
BUT on checking out we signed and setled our bill in full, only for the hotel to take a further unauthorised charge from my credit card the next day after we had left!! I have emailed the hotel several times requesting details of this charge, but have failed to receive a response.
So Beware!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Having stayed at variious Miami Beach hotels (Sagamore and Alexander All Suites) I can safely say this is the best deal on Collins avenue. Clean spacious one-bedroom suites await travellers at a reasonable cost. With umbrellas and chairs included in our stay, I would have to say this is the best kept secret on the strip. Yes the drinks are overpriced but they do offer drinks for 1$ during happy hour....so get your good wine at Publix! It would have been nice a heated pool, but we weren't in Miami for that!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lapastaepronta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Very good location and comfortable rooms but everything was extra - parking, breakfast, etc. The staff were able but not necessarily amiable. The location however was very good and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRAMME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This October we stayed for 6 nights at Suites of Dorchester, having the 18th birthday of our daughter at Miami Beach! It was the first time we had chosen this hotel. We came down from NYC and continued our trip at the Keys, the Gulf of Mexico and Orlando.
We've read carefully all the (often negative) critics of this location, but we got a very good deal concerning the price back home in a travel agency. In overall, everything was satisfying us, we had no complaints.

Location:
Dorchester Hotel & Suites of Dorchester are located at Collins Ave. between 18th & 19th Street, so you are on the beach in only 5 minutes. Shops and restaurants at Lincoln Road Mall or famous Ocean Drive are only a few blocks away (15 minutes walk). This is a perfect location in my opinion.

Rooms:
We had a suite with a large living room (with a queensized sofabed), a bedroom (w 2 queens), small bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and dining area. A lot of space for the 4 of us! It was even larger as we expected it in advance, it's more like an apartment. The suite was well maintained, had 2 flat TVs, charming decors, good toiletries and everything was very clean. Housekeeping was very good. Fridge/freezer in the kitchen seems to have a problem with cooling the food/drinks. The suites are situated in separate buildings in the rear of the whole object, so there was no disturbing noise to be heard during the nights either of Collins Ave or the bar area/backyard of the hotel.

Dining:
We had a breakfast in the hotel the first morning after our arrival. They have 4 to 6 items on the menu, and we had chosen the Start your day right breakfast. It was okay for us and the prices are moderate (when you come down from NYC it seems to be cheap). The next days, we had a quick breakfast in our suite, just to earn some bucks for the shopping activities ;-)).

Service:
The staff at the desk, the concierge and the other employees are all very kind and extremely helpful (e.g. special wishes concerning the 18th birthday of our daughter; some little issues with broken lights or the hairdryer). Wireless internet was possible throughout the location at no extra cost and the wifi had a good connection in our suite. We couls even print out our driving directions and some coupons in the lobby, where they have an internet corner w printer. And finally, we weren't charged with a resort fee. Nice bar and a large pool for a SoBe hotel.

Overall we would definitely recommend this place and personally would stay at Suites of Dorchester again when coming back to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Suites are larger than rooms and have a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoHangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leipzig
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

cannot fault the stay apart from the wait for breakfast even though the place was empty and the quality of what was served

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cztim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Positives: Reception staff are friendly. The suites are huge, I would say one bedroom apartment would be a more accurate description. Two television sets one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. All the areas in the suite were clean. The bathroom toiletries were nice. Microwave, fridge-freezer in the kitchen. Nice swimming pool. Resort fee that includes free wi-fi, two loungers and a parasol is good value for money. The signal for the wi-fi was good in the lobby area. One doesn't have to carry towels to the beach one can get them from their sister hotel on the beach front. Fantastic happy hour, bar staff were both friendly and efficient, drinks during the happy hour excellent value for money. Good quality air conditioning in the suite.

Negatives: The kitchen cupboards were of an okay quality but not fantastic. The air conditioning in the room was very noisy. One can manage to sleep but it takes some time to get used to it. The quality of customer care in the breakfast room varied from reasonably friendly to rude. If staff had a bad day they should not make that obvious. Some of the breakfast/kitchen staff did not hide the fact they were in bad humour. Hotel guests are there to have a good time and not to think oh god going to breakfast again. They would definetely benefit from customer care training. I would describe the quality of food on offer for breakfast as poor. The choice wasn't great and not what one would expect in an hotel where a lot of the guests are international tourists. I am not familiar with health and safety standards in the US but one of the days I asked one of the guys dishing out pancakes how could one know if the serving spoon for pancakes was not used for the burgers and his reply was that there was no way of knowing. In which case I asked if he could give me some pancakes or let me use the spoon he was using to dish them out and initially he looked at me as if I have asked for something out of this world but something in him must told him his reaction was not great and did proceed with my request. The gym is small. Parking is very expensive.

Room Tip: Have breakfast in your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#142 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#119 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#81 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#110 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#145 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Property: Suites of Dorchester
Address: 1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing