We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suites of Dorchester
Ranked #142 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Ive visited Miami several times now and stayed at a different hotel each time. This was probably the best ever. I have more disposable income but still cant afford the ritz or lowes. So this hotel is a great way to feel rich and pay a decent price. The lobby an the rooms are modern. The room had a bathroom with a stand alone shower. Inside he actual room was a jacuzzi tub. The water stayed hot while filling the huge tub. So hot that it burned and we had to let it cool off. The shower never went cold either. The bed had soft comforters and were light and airy. Perfect for Miami heat (pun not intended lol). The mattress was very comfy There were two windows perfect for fresh air. The room had a desk and pull out sofa in it's own sitting area. So that made the room very spacious and large. There was plenty of space to maneuver. The only thing missing was a fridge and microwave. We wanted to bring leftovers back to the room but couldn't so we wasted a lot of food. It did have a flat screen with cable. Leaving from the lobby there's a garden with seating. Everyday there were people enjoying the shade with drinks. The bar is in the garden and offers happy hour from 7-8 free drinks. I just assumed they were rail but I never went inside to find out. Upon checkin they give you a voucher for a umbrella and two beach chairs for each night stay. You can get it at the marselles hotel on 17 hundred block of Collins. Not far at all. Very convient. As far as location it's close to some nice restaurants. Not far from the beach you just have to cross the street as it sits on the non beach side of Collins. The clubs are around 15 and Washington which is one block behind the hotel and 8 blocks down. In-between the numbered streets are Lincoln rd and espanola way so it makes you think it's only 5 blocks but there are those extra streets. You can also walk to the main shopping area on 5th and Collins but it's a long walk but doable. I did it but caught a cab back lol. Everything is close to this area and its very lively on this section of the strip.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank felishagreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear FELISHAGREENE,
Thank you for your sincere comments and for taking the time to explain to our readers all there is to do at the Suites of Dorchester. It makes us so happy when our guests enjoy our suites and Miami Beach. We hope to have you back soon.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 187 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

This property is the best overall value on south beach! Was amazed that such a nice place went over & above by providing free drinks at their courtyard bar every evening! Also had a user issue with the A/C unit, which ended up being just that, my lack of user knowledge, but management waisted no time as they were at the door within minutes to fix the issue! Anything we needed was supplied without any hesitation or delay!
Would recommend this property and any/all sister properties to anyone whom wishes to enjoy a carefree stay on the sexiest beach in the world!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2010

Dear ROSELEN,
Thank you so much for your sincere comments! Our staff loves meeting and surpassing our guests' expectations. Your words are the best fuel for our team to continue servicing the thousands of people that visit Miami Beach each day. Thank you for letting us show you a piece of our magic and service culture.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

The staff are very helpful and friendly in this boutique hotel. The courtyard has a cute floating bed that me and my friend swang in while having happy hour drinks at their swanky bar. Everything is clean which is very important to me. The location is perfect. We walked most of the time and the one day we decided to drive we got towed because if no parking a

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funnsun1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Dear FUNSUNN1001,

Thank you so much for your sincere comments. We love being able to meet your needs and more. Also being compared to anything Sinatra, is well, out of this world! Please come back and see is soon. Our friendly staff will be here to meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at the Dorchester for a long weekend in November. I flew in from the West Coast and my Best Friend drove down from the Daytona area, and we shared a one bedroom suite. That suite was roomy, spacious, and comfortable. I have lived in apartments smaller than the suite! The bedroom was large and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was tight, but the fixtures were lovely. The living room had a sofa comfortable enough to sleep on There was a separate dining room, and the kitchen was furnished with all the utensils we needed. There was a small porch which overlooked the courtyard fountains and flowers. The furnishings and carpet were a bit worn, but comfortably so - exactly what one would find in a typical European hotel.
The desk staff were extremely helpful with suggesting places to eat and other navigations. Desmond, the night clerk, was exceptionally polite and helpful.
The hotel lounge has a 'Free Cocktail' Happy Hour - they choose one cocktail to serve each evening and although they advertise it as 'free', there is a $1 fee for each drink. The pool is LARGE and was always deserted - the water was warm and relaxing. Did not partake of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraveLoveRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2010

Dear TRAVELOVERN,

Thank you so much for your comments. We know that we have a unique product that is a jewel of a find in South Beach. Real-size apartments with all the real amenities of a hotel, kitchen, living rooms, let's just say, it is hard to go wrong there. We are so happy you like our service and amenities. I will personally let Desmond know about your comments, and we know that he always goes the extra mile for our guests. We are glad to be what you needed during your stay in South Beach.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We have stayed here several times. The Dorchester is an old property that's split into two separate areas - the suites and the regular hotels rooms. We've always stayed in the suites. Took a look at the regular hotel rooms once, which were pretty ordinary. The suites are great value for South Beach, modernized with a full kitchen, big couches and comfortable king bed in the bedroom. Great value for a family, although I don't think the couches convert to a bed and I seem to recall our friends had problems getting a rollaway when they stayed there. The great thing about having a suite is that you can go to the supermarket and stock up, then eat in your room, which saves $$$. The rooms are quiet too, which is a major plus in Miami as the walls tend to be paper thin here and people like to party so you're bound to be up all night unless you choose your hotel carefully. If quiet is important to you, try to get an upstairs room not backing out onto the street. There's a fantastic souvlaki/felafel shop opposite if you are hungry and it's cheap. Pool area is okay, nothing to write home about. You are right in the midst of the expensive hotel row (Shore Club, Delano etc) and a ten minute walk to Lincoln road where there are loads of restaurants and shops. Right across the road from the beach too. It's long walk to Ocean Drive though. One word of warning, the hotel staff are hopeless and not interested in helping you. We had a package Fedexed to us and they lost it for five days, we were at the desk twice a day trying to sort out the problem. It was only when we said we were calling the police that it was finally located!! If you go in realizing the management is terrible and don't have any special requests, then you'll be fine. If you're after a more upmarket suite experience, try Z Ocean Hotel (Crown Plaza) up the road.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jvalera, Manager at Suites of Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2010

Dear CANYONMUM,

We would like to thank you for your sincere comments. Our suites are a one of a kind product, only bettered by their awesome location. I also noticed in your comment that there was an opportunity for better tracking of a package of yours at the desk, and for this I apologize. Nevertheless, I appreciate your sincerity and would like to let you know that we are trying our best to make the Suites of Dorchester the number one destination spot for those looking for larger accommodations, with all the amenities of a hotel, and superb service.
Sincerely,
Juan-Manuel Valera III
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Dorchester is not a luxurious hotel but it is very cosy. The suite I stayed in was very big, with lots of storage and it was nice. Cons: the air conditioning was too noisy, there weren´t enough kitchen utensils. Pros: the location - it's very close to my favourite street for a drink or shopping which is Lincoln and not far from the famous Ocean Drive (I would have gone there more often if it weren´t for the stupid men with huge snakes around their bodies for a picture); the quick response of the staff to satisfy your needs and the service is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsabelTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Very nice hotel and lovely rooms...everything you would want for an overnight stay - we were going to a concert at the Jackie Gleason Theatre and it was only a 5 minute walk away...perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
#122 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,376 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#134 of 214 in Miami Beach
191 reviews
Seagull Hotel Miami Beach
#143 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boulan South Beach
#130 of 214 in Miami Beach
470 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#117 of 214 in Miami Beach
257 reviews
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#96 of 214 in Miami Beach
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites of Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites of Dorchester

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7413
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $164 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suites of Dorchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Suites of Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Of Dorchester Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Of Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing