We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This is not a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is not a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Please be careful when considering a short-term stay at the Flamingo! This is against the law and the fines are steep.
The Flamingo is a wonderful place to live, if you are looking for at least a one year lease. The newly completed South pool is spectacular and having the restaurant, store, drycleaners and dog groomers right there on the grounds makes it all so easy.
If you are a mature, honest renter, you will have no problems with management.

Room Tip: Find a true hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Sbb1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    13
    8
    23
See reviews for
25
28
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

WORST PLACE TO LIVE! They nickel and dime you to death. I ve lived here off and on for 5 years and here are the cold hard facts about the Flamingo. They will Nickel & dime you to death. The policies are always changing and they notify you always 1 day before the new change. They WILL TAKE 90% of your deposit. I ve always left my place 100% perfect, paid for carpet shampooing etc. and they ALWAYS take your deposit. google AIMCO security deposit, or AIMCO ripoffreport to read for yourself. Most apartments have mold problems, You can smell the mold in the hallways, and all the vents have block mold spores all over them. I also got pretty sick the past year, and I think this is to blame. They charge $200 per car if you want to park there, They charge you for bs insurance each month, they now charge for water, $1000 non refundable pet deposit plus $600 extra in rent per dog per year. They have NO guest parking anywhere so if your friend stops by they have to pay high prices for valet. One day late on rent is $200 late fee. If you lose your Flamingo card yup that s $150, The buildings gym is not free either, it s $150 to sign up and $50 per month extra. It s also always very loud, in the hallways, and outside, the paper thin walls and hallow doors don t help either. If you live in the front all you hear all day and night is the gate slamming shut and taxi drivers honking and yelling, seriously allllll day and night. The fire alarm going off in the whole building once every week too. My rent for a 2 bedroom was $2,100/mo when my lease was up they raised my rent to $2600 per mo. if I wanted to renew. Every year you extend your lease your rent sky rockets because they think now they got you, you d think they d want to keep you right...nope. The South pool has been closed for a year, and everyone says that the south tower is sinking. There s all construction machines all over the place after the company went bankrupt. They once lost my check and then charged me $200 that THEY lost it. They also now do not accept checks you have to sign up for auto pay. That is the only method they allow to pay rent. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT MOVE HERE! I only wish I read a review like this before I moved there.This place is nothing but con artists and scammers, always out to get a buck from you. Flamingo charged me to replace the sinks and cabinets in my apartment, (which i left in perfect condition. Odd thing is that flamingo maintenance came in 2 months before i left to measure them because they said they were going to upgrade the bathrooms, so essentially Flamingo is charging their old tenants when they leave to upgrade their old 80 s style bathrooms, nice huh? and one more note. Flamingo gives you a new broiling pan when you move in... if you use it don t leave them a brand new pan when you vacate, they will charge you $80-$100 for this stupid $10 pan that they make you think they gave it to you for free, so if you leave, go out and buy a new pan to leave them. Once again horrible building to live and and huge miss management going on over there, I would avoid at ALL costs!

Room Tip: Flamingo Southbeach is not even a hotel, it is an apartment. The city law is that it is illegal to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Sorry for the prior bad reviews... Perhaps it was the particular building? I had a great stay. Location was good, gated parking, mini grocery and liquor store inside of the complex. The rooms were nice and spacious (best to get a room on a higher floor). Clean and not crowded hot tubs and pool. You do your own cleaning. has a big kitchen, with everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeeker114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hi

Just wonfering if anyone has anyone rented an appartment through Feel Miami- Calico Penthouse 3? If so please get in touch!

Many thanks

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ej321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This place does a great job of marketing itself as the ideal place to live in south beach. Great looking amenities, friendly sales staff, amazing views. Do not be fooled. The place is filthy. There is dog feces everywhere and the place is plagued with fleas. If you have a dog they will be infected within a few days and you'll find yourself stressing over the well-being of your pets and spending 100s of dollars on medication that barely works since there are so many of them. Save the trouble, save your money for a better place. You do not want to live here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pete Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

First, the whole time there, they never fixed the washer/dryer! It never worked not even one day. All appliances were so old and even had rust on them, they never changed them out. Black mold came in from the vent. After living there three years they charged me 128.00 to repaint the walls, IT WAS WHITE like when I moved in. I live there three years. I had old carpet and they charged for use 258.00 for use. Four people cleaned the place to a perfection, we cleaned the base board washed mirrors absolutely...everything cleaned.... They never do anything you call about. I have always got my deposit back and Flamingo kept most of it for things that is NORMAL wear and tear. All I can say is.... DO NOT PLAN ON GETTING YOUR DEPOSIT BACK! Shame on them!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

If you stayed at Flamingo for less than a month, what you did is illegal.. Both City of Miami Beach and Flamingo Condo Association prohibit less than a month's leases on this property. I'm an owner there (can't afford to live in my home any more..) and also had a case where my "one year tenant" turned out to sublease my unit on a daily basis.. Had to do some major repairs after the few months the scam had been going on.. So yes, thank you for all the previous reviewers pointing out the issue and please do not rent from anyone, not an scummy internet agent OR the owner who agrees to rent for less than a month, if you want to be safe and respect the owner's problems and responsibilities regarding the property.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Raiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,892 reviews
Metropole Apartments
#87 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Bayshore
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
#4 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercury All-Suites Condo Hotel
#22 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Freehand Miami
#6 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments

Property: Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments
Address: 1500 Bay Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3252
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > West Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamingo South Beach Resort is a luxury apartment complex that is illuminated at night, providing a captivating outline of what is Miami Beach's premiere urban residential address. Located on Biscayne Bay in the fashionable South Beach district of Miami Beach, on the intersection of 15th Street and Bay Road, this premium location offers residents commanding Atlantic Ocean and Bay waterfront views, and an exceptional view of the downtown Miami skyline. The Flamingo has two brand new infinity pools, one with waterfalls, two hot tubs, private sandy beach and BBQ areas. Both pool decks with food and beverage services and a tiki bar. 2 blocks from Lincoln Road Mall, grocery shopping, gourmet dinning and stunning nightlife. 3 blocks from Miami Beach Convention Center and the Jackie Gleason Center. Guests enjoy 24-hour valet service (just $18/day! most hotels charge $35 and up) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flamingo South Beach / Calico Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing