We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and atmosphere”

Guru Indian Restaurant and Wine Bar
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

After carefully reading the mixed reviews of other experiences at Guru we decided to risk it. I'm glad we did. I love Indian cuisine and have eaten in numerous Indian restaurants around the country, coast to coast. The food here was good but the service was excellent! We had the best server. He was informative and very professional. The portions I thought were large and the prices acceptable for South Beach. I've had worse Indian food in lesser know cities and paid more. I'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danibee1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    12
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant near South Beach”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good indian food and in close vicinity to South Beach. Great yellow dal but paneer makhni was but sweet. Overall good food and bit expensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mayank_Grover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be prepared for 15% automatic gratuity!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place was all about presentation of the food. I was so tired and hungry after a long drive to Miami that I decided to try this place.Nothing great about food here except presentation. I have had a lot better Indian cuisine in Charlotte, NC. The ambience was ok, food is presented well, is pricey and average tasting and yes they add 15% gratuity to your check. I like spicy food and asked for more spicy but still this food was bland. I tried Mango Lassi which tasted sour, Indian chaat, Paneer Makhni, Mumbai aloo and Gulab jamun. Nothing was out of this world. Gulab jamun was a shame! The check and gratuity really burnt a hole in my pocket. It was my birthday so I just let it go. Overall, this place is too pricey and food is not that great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie_charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Horrible experience. Stay away”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Here's a horror story for all my fellow foodies. STAY AWAY!!!! Ordered food to our hotel located in south beach 10 minutes away from this restaurant. Spoke to owner Adish who said food will be delivered in 30 minutes. After about 45 mins and no food called restaurant and got hung up on. Called back and some lady who didn't speak English answered phone and basically said 5 minit 5 minit(whatever that means) after waiting for about an hour and 15 minutes got a call from the delivery lady saying she couldn't find the hotel ( mariott south beach?) had to go downstairs and basically flag the lady down. Realized she was just an employee that was being overworked by her slave boss( she spoke minimal English and the hotel employee said this restaurant is known for hiring illegal immigrants) recieved food which was just tasteless. . Chicken was chewy and old.Wasn't disgusting but wasn't oh my good this is so good type of food. Can't really justify the pricing. Called the owner for the next two days to complain but he avoided my call repeatedly. Finally got a hold of Adish( claims to be owner) and was told that he won't refund my money. Offered me a ten percent discount for my troubles. What am I going to do with a ten percent discount to a restaurant that has below average food in a town I don't live in? Bad service below average food and a rude owner who just doesn't care. I bet this place wont be around next year at this rate. If you value your money and want goof service stay away from this place or you will regret it

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haroon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ordered food, very expensive.. food portions are VERY VERY SMALL, food is SPICY when we ordered mild, we will never order from here....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ravi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guru Indian Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing