We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vile disgusting with mercenaries for staff!!”
Review of Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #206 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Thankfully we didn't stay in the hotel, but we did have the misfortune of stopping for dinner, drawn in by the 2for 1 specials on drinks and the special meal of the day we decided to have dinner here!

Cocktail was big but we were refused our free cocktail as apparently the reason is big is because both your cocktails are in one glass! $25 dollars for one cocktail was a shock! The special Fillet mignon and lobster ail was disgusting, the fillet was more like mutton tough fatty and tasteless, the lobster was disgusting and and anything but fresh, we also had a pizza which was clearly just a frozen pizza cooked very poorly maybe $2 worth not $15 and it certainly wasn't homemade or fresh as the menu promised.

From the second they had you seated the staff were uncaring rude and hostile, the table was wobbly the chairs uncomfortable and I had the feeling I was being ripped off from the moment we sat down, though the hostility of the staff made me feel unable to get up and leave!

Never eat or stay here, this terrible meal and experience cost us $98 for a bad steak and lobster a pizza 1 beer and 1 cocktail truly the worst experience I have had anywhere in the world by a long way!

This place needs shutting down! If I could have given no stars or minus stars I would!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trevski220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed in the hotel, but judging by the reviews, it sounds a lot like the hotel's restaurant, the Sea Cafe.

Worse scam ever. How can a restaurant advertise lunch specials for $10-25 a plate, and then verbally offer a special that isn't on the menu but happens to cost 10x as much! We were billed over $200 for a single beer and a single seafood "special".

Why haven't the cops shut this place down? This is a classic bait and switch scam.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not a great hotel, let me get that out of the way...but it is ON the Ocean, cheap, and convenient. My room was newly (cheaply) redone, bed was clean, fresh towels were there, TV worked, everything you need in a hotel room. Location is great, if a bit loud. It is by no means clean or luxury or amazing, but for an affordable place to crash for a couple of nights, not too bad.

Room Tip: In the back! Away from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

there was pubic hair on our towels so we took them to the front desk. after we came back from dinner we were supposed to get new towels. They gave us these new towels which were the same towels!!! they didn't even take the pubic hair off of the towels!!! besides that, these were hotels rooms of a dirty crack house. i would rather sleep on the beach! thanks for the bad stay and no refund!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel is located at 740 Ocean Drive between 7th and 8th Streets... right in the middle of the main action on Ocean Drive and directly across the street from the beach.
Perhaps our expectations are not as high as other reviewers, but we did not find this hotel to be that aweful. It is true that our hotel room was extremely sparce (small T.V. on a tiny stand -- no remote available / nowhere to sit our bags -- no dresser or chest of drawers, just a tiny nightstand with two small drawers / only one set of bath towels --- had to ask for more)
Although the hotel itself is old and some parts of the room show its age, on the positive side, we did not see any dirt or bugs. The air conditioner was great and really put out the cold air, which we needed as we were here in the height of summer heat. The bathroom was clean and the carpet, bed, etc. were also clean. Several mirrors in the room so I could put on makeup while hubby was in the bathroom.The front desk clerk and the maid were both very friendly and helpful. Surrounding hotels were at least $50 to $100 more per night. Everything in South Beach is way overpriced and expensive, so unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room (we didn't), this hotel is worth the savings. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: All restaurants right around this area of south beach are way expensive. Try to find other places t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

OMG do not go there! This hotel is really the worse hotel I ever been!
Do not trust the photos on their website; they are absolutely not representative of the reality. The room was tiny, dirty, the air conditioning was very noisy and the carpet was disgusting.
The first morning we found insects in the bathroom and under our mattress. We asked to change room right away. The second room was not better but as we had to pay in advance we unfortunately did not have extra money to change hotel. The towels were disgusting; they were stained and I found hairs of a previous person in it.
Our last night was certainly the worst as we found a big cockroach in the bathroom. I was terrified to saw this insect as it means that the hotel is really dirty.
Furthermore, the parking valet service was expensive, 20 dollars per day. There are some cheaper services at the next hotel (half the price). And if you want to park your car after 12pm, you will definitely have to wait at least 40 minutes...
The only good points in this hotel? It is on Ocean drive, in front of the beach. The restaurant located at the hotel entrance is nice and staff friendly.
For sure I will never never never go back there again!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, don't choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

If u are looking for a really cheap hotel on south beach this is the place.however there is a catch.service is bad,rooms are ridiculous awful,it is not clean. It's however right on south beach strip.the only good thing

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#77 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#182 of 212 in Miami Beach
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#196 of 212 in Miami Beach
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#151 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,129 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#141 of 212 in Miami Beach
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#143 of 212 in Miami Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Hotel

Address: 740 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#125 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $90 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boulevard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Miami Beach
Boulevard Hotel Ocean Drive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing