We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Ranked #174 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May in an Ocean Front room and despite reading some bad reviews beforehand, we were relieved to find that our experience of the Majestic hotel was an enjoyable one. It was in a great location on Ocean Drive, ideal for sitting with a drink and people watching. We found the staff helpful and were always dealt with promptly. We were offered the Valet Parking service for $27 per night which we accepted as parking on the street is almost impossible! The room (including the bathroom and bedding) was very clean. Unlike some other guest reviews we personally had no problems with the water, electricity, WiFi or elevator during our stay. Although not the cheapest option in South Beach, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    127
    143
    103
    137
See reviews for
95
199
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

There are some complaints about the majestic hotel. If you are looking for 5 star than this is not for you . It's basically the same type of hotel in the strip . No need to find a pricey hotel , your in the main strip. It serves it's purpose , it has a bed and a shower. Not the cleanest however it does the job . Breakfast is above average. I did not eat any dinner there so I cannot comment on it. It's a no frills hotel but more
Importantly in the heart of south beach. I would stay here again . I would recommend if your just looking for a place to stay, it's affordable. If you want to get pampered go else where. The staff is ok, not overy friendly but not rude either. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthful2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a hotel with a great location then this is your place. The front desk staff was helpful. Room service was good also... But the food from the restaurant was HORRIBLE, don't waste your money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkinicole704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stopped for 2 drinks in happy hour- ordered 2 glasses of chardonnay at $9 each, got bill for $25 for poor chardy, and tips- wine not on happy hour rates, but not told and sign at entrance did not say either- BEWARE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel, we were upgraded to ocean view which was nice, the room was good, not great but more than ok as a place to shower and sleep. The people working in the restaurant outside are annoying, hounding you to eat there. Elevator doesn't work well. Overall, a good hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgreenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm not going to lie, I was completely freaked out re: staying here after reading the reviews but purchased a flight/hotel deal and didn't want to get charged for changing it so close to my arrival date. I was fully expecting a roach motel but it wasn't. Don't get me wrong, it's not the 4 Seasons but it's livable. I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and loved the location. You're literally across the street from the beach. My room was relatively clean but not glamorous. I didn't hear the noise other ppl were complaining about, but maybe I just lucked out on my room. The bed was comfortable and the cleaning ladies were attentive. There was a leak in the ceiling when it rained the last day and we were immediately moved to another room and profusely apologized to. All in all, I'd say you can't beat the price and honestly if you're in South Beach, the bulk of your time should not be spent in your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is horrible! The place is sooooo dated and it looks like it hasn't been updated in 20 years. As you walk to your room you can smell the scent of marjunia. The carpeting was so gross I won't walk on it barefoot, the electricity went out every time we used a blow dryer , we had either scolding hot water or ice cold water, when you tun on air your allergies go crazy because there is so much dust in vents, the keys to room just won work, and wifi which them claim they have hell no! When we requested a refund to go somewhere else they offered us free breakfast which after making the mistake of eating there the first day I won't let my dog stay there. The only good thing bout this hotel is the location but its not worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxymifflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
foxymifflin- I am sorry to hear about your and your friends experience, The Majestic was recently renovated in January 2013, the rooms are definitely smaller that most hotels due to the fact Majestic is a historic art deco building. Most all properties in South Beach are historic and offer the same room sizes, I would suggest future accommodations in Downtown Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#110 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#165 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#80 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#75 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Property: Majestic Hotel South Beach
Address: 660 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing