We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome Location - Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Ranked #174 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome Location - Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our stay in South Beach was awesome....Took in a Heat game, the beach (record high temps) and the night life. The Majestic was a great place for us since it's location is in the heart of the Art Deco district and right across from the beach. The staff was amazing! Awanda who worked the afternoon/evening shift is such a blessing. She was extremely friendly(as all the staff was), helpful and just a joy to be around. Parking in all of South Beach is an issue so we chose to use the valet service provided by the Majestic. None of us, including you, like to pay for parking, but we found that the cost for the valet service was only slightly higher than what you would pay in a parking deck a few blocks away so we chose the valet service. All we had to do was ask for our car 20-30 minutes in advance. The 4 times we called for our car we never once had to wait for it. When we got downstairs the car was always parked right in front.
As far as our room goes and the feel for the Hotel in general, I would compare it to the more expensive hostels found in Europe. The rooms are not overly large but are clean and tastefully decorated.
Some things to know - there is a resort fee of $12.50 per day that is added that you will not know about unless you read your reservation document. We were aware of it, but I know others have posted they did not know about it. Another item to be aware of is that every place we drank and dined at in South Beach had a 17% gratuity added to the bill, no matter the size of our party.
The only thing preventing me from giving the Majestic a 5 rating it the fact that there are renovations taking place at the Hotel. Although we did not hear any noise from it, the first floor hallway, that can be seen the moment you walk in, is full of furniture, old carpet and renovation items. It is very unsightly. If I had a suggestion, it would be that they put up a false wall to hide all the work. Other than that, WE WILL BE BACK, hopefully soon. Thank you to the entire Majestic team!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crhodesnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew C, General Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
crhodesnc- Thank you for the great review, our renovation is complete please come back and see our new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    127
    143
    103
    137
See reviews for
95
199
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spectacular view, spectacular location, in the heart of the south beach. My wife and I just go downstairs go to the beach (across the street) during the day time and walk around the street during the night time. This hotel had a live music in the restaurant downstairs. Parking is a problem in entire south beach but we parked it for three days and didn’t require car at all. Rooms were okay (like old/historic Miami style) but that is what we were looking for, a good Miami style stay. And on top of that they gave us exceptional services. Front desk lady – Ms. Wanda and the general manager of the property were so nice, they made my stay even better with their good welcome. I had a wonderful stay there.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are renovated! ask for those. You might have to compromise on the view, but rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Majestic is in a great location and is not a great hotel but it's adequate. You will probably be nervous walking to your room but when we opened the door we were relieved as the room was adequate and clean. The front desk staff weren't all that friendly but they were not rude. One thing that was annoying, every time we came and went from the hotel we were approached by the people in the restaurant in the hotel approached us and gave us a hard sell to eat there. They would offer various discounts and give us their cards with their names and phone numbers. I am not sure if they worked for commission but they acted that way. This place is really noisy on a Saturday night and 4am Sunday morning when the bars close.

There is a public parking garage 1 block away that is less expensive than the valet.

I was pretty surprised that they charged us $12.50/ day resort fee because it is certainly not any kind of resort. The only thing I could see you get for the $12.50 is 2 bottles of water and beach towels /day.

It is and adequate and reasonably priced place if you have a reason to be in South Beach for a long weekend. I wouldn't go there to hang out at the hotel because it is not a resort.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face 7th street because it is noisy on the weekend. Use the public parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we expected for the price. It was nothing special, but it was in a great location on Ocean Drive, sirectly across the street from the Beach. We stayed there for one night and I woudl definately stay again for a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here on 5 November 2012 for one night. We flew in from London and were picking up a rental to drive to the Gulf Coast the next day. We didn't need anything extravagant, closeness to Lincoln Avenue (for evening dining and entertainment) and the News Cafe (for breakfast) were important factors. From that perspective, the Majestic was fine for us. The art deco hotels here which have not had a make-over tend to be small and tired - a fair description of the Majestic. I couldn't honestly recommend it other than as an OK place for one night. We had no issues with cleanliness and the guy on the front desk was pleasant and helpful. I'll rate this 3, but it could easily have been 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The valet parking was a joke - took ages to get the car picked up, then when we wanted it back to go back to the airport it took FOREVER, even at 8am on a Sunday morning. There's a car park a block away on 7th, I'd just park there instead.
Location is great, and even though our room window faced a wall, it meant it was a bit quieter. We slept well & were not disturbed.
Bathroom was clean, but I was not over keen to stand on the room carpet without shoes on.
Front desk staff weren't great - telling us that the clocks didn't change, when in fact they did! Luckily it was back, not forward or we'd have missed our flight between that & the valet parking disaster.
There is $12.50 "resort fee" which according to the sign at the front desk covers basics such as hairdryer, safe & beach towels. Really??!! If you're having to work that hard to justify it then just put your prices up $10/night.
There is a multitude of choice in the local area, I'd definitely try somewhere else before staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Considering the price you pay to stay at this hotel, you will be disappointed with what you get. You can get much better value for your money at many of the other 3-star choices in South Beach. The room was alright - nothing to write home about - would have been acceptable at a lower price point. The rugs were pretty disgusting but everything else was decent. Pretty loud since it is right on Ocean Drive. Don't waste your money - pick something else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CricketKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#110 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#165 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#75 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Property: Majestic Hotel South Beach
Address: 660 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing