We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in the heart of Ocean Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Ranked #189 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in the heart of Ocean Drive”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The room was adequate but somewhat dingy. The lobby was hectic as the restaurant staff sat to eat and serve the tables outside. Providing staff meals in the lobby didnt seem to provide the most professional atmosphere, but I guess they don't have another spot. The receptionist was helpful.

The location of the hotel is ideal for those going to the beach and want to be in the heart of Ocean drive. The hotel provides beach towels and chairs.

The hotel was a good value for the price I paid (less than $100 before taxes and fees), but poor value at prices that my friends tried to book at subsequently.

Poor service in the restaurant as well as being overcharged due to a misunderstanding by the waiter. Avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Traveller954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Majestic. We are glad that you were able take advantage of some of our good summer/off-season rates. We will be continuing some upgrades to the property - one of the next things on the list is the Lobby. We will be working with the Restaurant Owners to try organize it a bit better with some new furniture. We appreciate your comments as we try to continuously improve our guest experience. We hope you come back to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    160
    181
    137
    186
See reviews for
143
254
53
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

hey, my name is keren. i was at the majestic hotel for a few day and i enjoyed it a lot.
but the thing i will remember the most from my staying there is AL.
that was my first time at miami and i didnt know what to to or where to go. Al helped me find transportation, attractions and everything i needed, all with a great smile.
thank u Al

keren

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words about Al, our Front Desk Associate. He does strive to make sure that our guests have a pleasant stay while visiting South Beach. I am sure he will greatly appreciate your comments. It is so nice when his efforts are recognized.

We hope that you are able to come visit again soon! Thank you for staying at the Majestic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed at the Majestic from 6/15/11 through 6/22/11. Check-in was relatively quick. I have to start off by saying as far as location - it doesn't get better than this. It is within walking distance of all the eateries and bars on the strip - not to mention directly across the street from the beach. And it's just around the corner from fantastic shops on Collins & Washington Avenues. The Majestic's staff is pleasant and helpful.

Lobby isn't too impressive since there's an outdoor restaurant that operates from there. Lobby's also constantly busy with waiters running in and out with their orders. And every single time you walk in or out be prepared to get harassed by the restaurant's staff about eating there, offering you discounts, trying to get you to sit. The elevator is dated and offers quite a bumpy ride. We were in room 365. It was a basic room - one queen-sized bed, sparsely furnished, with a flat-screen television. The bed was very comfortable, pillows were good, bed linens were crisp. The two windows offered no view other than the back alley and, if you looked through you could see a sliver of the beach, hence their calling this a "partial ocean view" room. The bathroom was clean however there was no toilet paper holder and when we turned on the water in the tub the entire fixture (spout) flew off and we had to call to have it repaired which they did the next morning. Their towels are like sand paper. The room key-cards had to be re-programmed once a day, sometimes twice.

Hotel said it offered Wi-Fi and although we picked up a signal it never connected. Parking is $25/day (valet). The restaurant that operates from the lobby (Oceans On 7 or OO7), is "ok". You're better off going off the strip to some of the diners on Collins or Washington Aves to get more for your money - at least for breakfast.

Overall I would say it's a nice enough place for the price. However I would not stay here again. Once was enough. But had I known I would request Room 351 (faces front towards beach and Ocean Drive) and it has 2 queen beds - making the room a little bigger and more bearable to be in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayDee2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at the Majestic. We are so happy that to hear that our staff was "pleasant and helpful" during your stay with us. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of all the great shopping and dining choices close by. We hope when you ready to return to South Beach that you re-consider coming to visit us. Our historic elevator will be receiving a facelift over the next several weeks. We are also shopping for new towels and some other items which we hope will make our guests' stays even more enjoyable.

Thank you for staying at the Majestic and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardonia, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Majestic several times (even back when it was connected to the Avalon)...NEVER had a bad experience and if I had a complaint- it was readily satisfied. I read some of these replies and I can't belive what I am reading- HELLO- it's a boutique type hotel- not a high priced chain hotel!!!! Try tipping the housekeeping staff and I am sure your room will be spectacular when you get back! The front desk manager is always pleasant and helpful. If you want the luxuries of the luxury hotels on South Beach then go pay $300-$400 a night. Just got back home yesterday and we are already trying to figure out how to go back for a weekend. WE LOVE THE MAJESTIC AND WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We were thrilled to read your review. We are so glad you are able to appreciate the classic boutique experience we strive to provide our guests! We hope at our Ocean Drive rates, people can take advantage of the beautiful beach views as well as some of the great eating and shopping choices that surround us. Thank you so much for you wonderful feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This Boutique Hotel has become my favorite. It is perfectly situated for quick access to the South Beach action either North or South of the hotel. The staff is very helpful and the restaurant/ bar has a nice, tasty menu. Beach access is simple and the view is just as good, if not better, than other hotels. No pool on the property but there are sister properties close that are available at no charge.

Room Tip: North corner room with views of Ocean Drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review. The Staff has been working hard to ensure our guest experience is a pleasant and enjoyable. We are also happy you were able to take advantage of our central location to the beach as well as the South Beach activities that surround us!

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

First, this hotel doesn't deserve 3 stars. I was pretty disappointed how was it in real, after paying over $300/night unfortunately it haven't met my little expectations. The good thing is the location because you are in the middle of fun - Ocean Dr. (consider the noise late night!)
The lobby is crowded and it feels like no AC working there, besides that - it stinks "old" there. The room (king bed) is super tiny, but somehow clean (plugs +ecc are dirty); tiles, shower, sheets were very OK. Pillows are uncomfortable. View from a window on another wall and dumpsters I think, but really didn't care (my friends' room had a nice ocean view). LCD TV, bottled water, safe, dryer, iron+iron board, coffee maker in the room. For hot water I needed to wait a while but that was fine. No refrigerator in the room, the ice machine is downstairs and you better not use it for drinks because you have to grab the ice with your hands (or a cup)!
Next day the houskeeper didn't leave any soap / shampoo / conditioner so I needed to go downstairs and wait for my turn to have it (but I'm cool with that, it happens..). The guy working at the desk was kind, fortunately.
Like I said, the lobby is very crowded, there are waitresses walking with food/drinks and there are plenty people going downstaris to the restroom. Corridor upstairs is old, small, dark and it stinks bad, the worst thing is they use some cinnamon air refreshener to kill the bad smell so imagine the unpleasant, heavy mixture you need to breathe!
We ate once there, a birthday-honeymoon-dinner. A waiter offered a platter for 3 persons and we were ok with that. Unfortunately shrimps and crab was in 2 pieces so we needed to share somehow. Salmon and mahi was in a 1 big piece (which was ok though). Tilapia fillet in that kind of plate shouldn't have appeared. Mashed potatoes was a big greasy lake of butter or oil. Salmon is oily in itself but that piece made me feel bad - too greasy. It was not worth $140 (I had a platter for 2 persons @Atlantic hotel, paid $250 but that was a blast, too expensive though). The waiter, though, was very nice, he offered some free drinks and even sparkles for our special day.
Overall - one PLUS for the hotel is the location, rooms are pretty clean, but I'm not very likely to come back there.
PS. If you still considering this hotel - take a 2 beds' room instead of 1 king: the room will be bigger.

ROOM - small but clean, no bed bugs :)
CORRIDOR - tiny, stinky and dark
LOBBY - crowded, no AC feeling, only fans
SERVICE - desk guy and waiter - very kind people
LATE CHECK OUT - noon

Room Tip: small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our great location on Ocean Drive. We are so sorry to hear that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We will review your comments with our staff so that we can continue to strive to provide our guests with great vacation experience. We are also sorry you had such different dining experiences with our on site restaurant operator. They actually own and manage the operations at Atlantic as well.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you reconsider staying with us on the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I booked this hotel for 2 nights before going on a cruise and it was perfect, the location was excellent and the guy at the front desk was very helpful with hints about what to do on our short stay. The room was nice with a good view of ocean drive. The elevator is kind of old but it goes according with the art deco style of the zone. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacoGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambean, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our central location and enjoyed your view! We were also happy to hear that our staff was able to help you make the most your short trip to South Beach.

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as your kind recommendation. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#172 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#173 of 208 in Miami Beach
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#103 of 208 in Miami Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel South Beach

Property: Majestic Hotel South Beach
Address: 660 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing