We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Guided airboat ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coopertown Airboats

Coopertown Airboats
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our professional airboat guides will take you on a personalized, educational airboat tour covering approximately 9 miles of this unique environment. We first go into the vast open saw grass where you will see why the Everglades are called the "River of Grass"! You will travel by Airboat through a Hardwood Hammock (a small island of solid ground in the "river of grass"), into the Everglades National Park stopping at alligator holes and seeing the abundance of 'glades wildlife. See the Purple Gallanule voted the most colorful bird in Florida and the endangered Everglade Snail Kite as well as herons, grackles, turtles, raccoons and other Everglades residents! The Everglades are a truly unique and vibrant environment which you can only experience first hand! Unless you brought your hip waders, a private airboat tour is the best way to see it! (And much drier, too!) After this fascinating and educational airboat tour, relax and enjoy a taste of 'Down Home' cooking, Everglades-style. The Coopertown Restaurant offers such delicacies as frog legs, 'gator tail, catfish and more! All served in a friendly country manner that is distinctly "Floridian". "Belly up" to the bar and meet the folks of Coopertown! Learn some of the fascinating history of the area, and check out the guest book to see who else has passed through and enjoyed a ride on a Coopertown Airboat! Take a closer look at these fascinating creatures in our Alligator Exhibit! What a cute little guy! Popular enough to have a college mascot named for it! A ride on an airboat is the best way to Check out the rest of the gator population in Coopertown
Maynard, MA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guided airboat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The guide explained things well - time whizzed by. I originally didn't want to make the drive out but SO happy that I did! Worth the trip. We even landed on one of the islands, saw several alligators. Incredible! Don't miss this

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisafromMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    204
    60
    34
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hint of the Everglades!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

While visiting south Florida with a friend, we really wanted to take an airboat ride through the Everglades. But we were in Homestead. I found fantastic airboat tour after airboat tour, but they were all on the wrong side of the Park. Finally, I came across Coopertown Airboats. We were a little apprehensive on approach, because as some of the other reviews have said, it looks a little older, but it was an incredible trip. The airboats were loud, as expected, but they had cotton balls for our ears and the boat was packed with other fun tourists. It was such a cool experience to be driving a boat through what looks like a field of grass. Plus, we saw one wild gator and then got to hold a baby gator at the end of the tour! So if you can't get over to all the tours on the other side of the 'glades, go for Coopertown Airboats!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank phygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Coopertown Airboats is definitely worth the visit! Coopertown is easy to get to, and I enjoyed my experience there. Lisa made checking easy and fun, and we got to see some gators, in captivity, but most importantly, in their natural habitat, swimming in the channel. Having never been on an airboat before, I enjoyed the experience a lot. Our guide, Dan, showed us a number of interesting plant species, a few alligators and he even called a bird out from the underbrush to come up to the boat. As for the ride, it was a supreme blast. Our guide, Dan, was knowledgeable, friendly and funny. I was expecting a cheesy tourist experience but instead I was awed and deeply enamored with the scenery and wildlife. When we returned, he let us all pet and hold a baby alligator for a photo opportunity with our own cameras, not pushing to sell us any photos at all. Afterwards, he also recommended us to try the alligator tail and frog legs at the restaurant. Trying gator meat was a lot of fun; some say pork, but I think it really does taste kind of like chicken, but with a slightly chewier consistency. Would definitely recommend trying it out if you're in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeyCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“So worth the time, a great value too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a blast on our tour. It's relaxed, fun, you see gators and get a feel for the Everglades. Got to hold a baby gator. What fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and a great learning experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Four of us took a one hour tour at Coopertown Airboats. Our captain, Rick, was a very informed and witty fellow who gave great detail about the Everglades and surrounding eco-system. With only five of us on a seven seater, we had a great highspeed trip in and around the channels. Saw some gators and had a great time overall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank xzj84m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coopertown Airboats also viewed

 

Been to Coopertown Airboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing