We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“decent and save option for tenters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larry and Penny Thompson Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larry and Penny Thompson Park
Save
You added Larry and Penny Thompson Park to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Seattle
Level Contributor
164 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“decent and save option for tenters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There is not really another choice in Miami for tenters, but for $16.95/n with tax, there is nothing to complain about. The tent campsites are on a big field with trees and you basically just look for a spot you like. They have tables and grills spread around in that field and you just pick one, pitch your tent and you are good to go. The location is good and close to the Zoo in case you want to go there. The drive to DT Miami is about 20-30min depending if you take Hwy 1 or the Turnpike.

The bathrooms are nice, spacious and clean and they also offer good laundry facilities. They do offer a pool, but it is only seasonal and wasn't open when we were there.

There are a lot of RV campers here, that seemed to stay there for longer periods of time.They even have their own white picket fence and it looks like a permanent home. There was a small area w/o hook-ups for RVs when they are overbooked, but it doesn't seem pretty and nice over there. It looked more like an RV parking lot, nothing you would want to stay longer. I guess it is enough for an overnight stay.

The staff was always friendly in the office, make sure to check in by 5PM, that is when the office closes for the night. There always seems to be a ranger driving around, checking in on things after hours. It really made us feel safe, especially when you are in a tent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Well this place is pretty primative. Wifi near the office, no cable, I have no clue why anyone would put posts that are three feet tall near the parking pads so if you an RV forget using your slide outs. On the good side the kid at the desk, Chris was polite and efficient, he even refunded our money when we said we were not able to park and left for another campground a little more west. This could be a great place too bad Dade county doesnt realize it because they havent done anything in 40 years and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuhoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed here three times for 3-5 days each time. It is located in southwest Miami and is a good location to access a number of Miami places. We have family in a nursing home close by which makes it very convenient. We have found the spaces easy to get a 35' fifth wheel into. Hook ups are easy and the park is well kept. Have enjoyed meeting other people who camp there. Staff is very helpful and it is reasonably priced. Shoulder season is a good time to go; it is easy to get spaces then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JackM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were somewhat skeptical but upon arrival we were very happy. Very well laid out in 10 circular pods so that everyone gets a decent view with fairly easy access. The place was fullof big rigs but we had our truck camper. Showers were hot and clean very nearby that have several sinks and toilets. Security was wonderful with constant patrols. Miami Zoo was a far opposite of the park but no smells or noise. Park was 43db which is quite quiet for urban environment. Grounds well kept with more than sufficient staff. NO WIFI but a friend from MiamiDade says therethe will be byhere next winterbut season. Only negative is nothing is close by so you need a car to get around. I think we may spend next season here. I give a top rating. Call ahead they are full most of the season.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank InspiredSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stay here! We tented it for 6 nights in January for $16.95/night with tax. (I think there maximum in a month is 7 nights for tent campers) Everything about the stay was fantastic! No electric at the campsites BUT they have this awesome community center that is open from 9AM to 10PM everyday that has outlets, a huge TV with Direct TV, bathrooms, water fountains, a book shelf, a coffee maker if you have coffee. We spent at least some time in here everyday. Well worth the $16 with all the amenities of the community center. A lot of RV campers here, that it seemed like they stay for an extended period of time, they have events in the community center daily at varying times. Bingo, arts and crafts and such. They all like to talk and play card games at night that is for sure! The staff was always friendly in the office, make sure to check in by 5PM, that is when the office closes for the night. There always seems to be a ranger driving around, checking up on things. If you get there later than 5PM we saw the Ranger check in a couple people. The camping is primitive and basically camp wherever you want in a field. On the weekends it got busy, boy scouts al over the place when we were there. No worries about wild life as far as what we saw, some cats wandering around that is about it. They have plenty of bathroom facilities, maybe 6 on the whole campground. We always walked to one a little further away where the RV's were located rather than the tent site one. They seemed a little more well kept, with actual doors in on the shower area. The city that surrounds the campground looks to be a little sketchy, bars on all the windows of the houses and such. We never really found out if it was a great area or not but once your in the campground with all the people around I didn't once feel uncomfortable. Over all we will be back when we are back to South FL.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank briannasipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Larry Penny Campground for 1 night in an RV.

Link: http://www.miamidade.gov/parks/parks/larry_penny.asp

This place is run of the mill - no privacy, you park your RV next to another one - the restrooms are decent but outdated and hot showers are available.

The RV camp is a mix of long term renters and one-nighter's like us and given a choice we would want to find another campground closer to Miami.

The only saving grace is its close to a bus route(#137) and the price - It's about $35 per night and considering the high cost of hotels in Miami, this is a good bargain!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Tampaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time over Thanksgiving Weekend. Great for biking, beautiful pool, very clean facilities. Great for local RV travel and we felt like we were miles away when we were actually only about 45 minutes from home. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonlachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larry and Penny Thompson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry and Penny Thompson Park

Property: Larry and Penny Thompson Park
Address: 12451 Southwest 184 Street, Miami, FL 33177
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Number of rooms: 440
Also Known As:
Larry And Penny Thompson Park Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing