We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larry and Penny Thompson Park
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time over Thanksgiving Weekend. Great for biking, beautiful pool, very clean facilities. Great for local RV travel and we felt like we were miles away when we were actually only about 45 minutes from home. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonlachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Larry and Penny Thompson Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

This park is awesome. We stayed here for a few days and wish it hd been longer. Very clean and friendly. Great for walking and biking. You would never know that you were in busy Miami. Close to stores if needed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at campground over a month in three seperate stays. After visiting several campgrounds in Miami, this is my favorite.

PROS
Bathroom and laundry facilities very clean.
Camper pads are very spacious.
Angle of pads allows unobstructed view of surrounding scenery in some spots (outer pod 1)
Friendly staff in office.
Campers seem to be more of a community and helpful to each other than in other Miami parks.
Varied wildlife on trails.
Private vendor provides gas service at reasonable price during season.
Close to grocery store, gas, and fast food.
Clothes lines outside laundry room.
Good walking / running trails inside campground and in adjoining park.

CONS
Unheated pool.
Occasional noise from surrounding community.
Staff encourages informal registration which resulted me in getting bumped once.
Litter in campground.

Room Tip: If you want an unobstructed view of surrounding park go for pod one sites 10-15.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AirborneShodan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is a great RV campground in Miami. It's run by the county. Place is pristine, bathrooms are super clean, pool is great. Big paved sites. Highly recommended.

Very close to expressways so can easily get to places. 24hr security so feel safe.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nico66Albi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Dogs allowed in camper area, but not 'tent camping area'. How annoying. Found out after we paid for a week of tent camping.
Set up in the back right corner behind the trees to hide the dog. It worked, but had to listen to the middle school have gym class outside all day. Pool was freezing. Seemed to cater to the 65+ crowd and 12 and under.

Room Tip: Not near the back fence! Kids band practice and gym class.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sport_paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just left Larry and Penny Thompson Park Campground. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely be returning in a couple of months. Campground is clean and manicured. Full hook up and 50 amp power. We were happy and our comvee was happy! :D

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANAMRAMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

close to the zoo, nice grounds, clean. surprising quiet and peaceful even though you are in Miami!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GK_in_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Cutler Bay
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Miami-Kendall
8.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kendall Airport Hotel & Suites
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
8.2 mi away
Miami Marriott Dadeland
Miami Marriott Dadeland
#70 of 124 in Miami
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larry and Penny Thompson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larry and Penny Thompson Park

Address: 12451 SW 184th St, Miami, FL 33177-3199
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Number of rooms: 440
Also Known As:
Larry And Penny Thompson Park Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing