We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at the mutiny for a work trip and it was great . Rooms were spacious and very clean. Location is very convenient to shops and restutaunts. Pool area and restutaunt was nice too . Overall if I needed to be in the grove area did stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnstats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mnstats,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel location and amenities. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    208
    68
    41
    28
See reviews for
258
206
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I chose The Mutiny for a 2 night stay in Miami before leaving on a cruise. Booking two months in advance & requesting a 2 room suite to accommodate my wife along with my step son & daughter, I also asked for a room on higher floor with a view of the water/harbour. When we arrived, we got the 2 room suite but was on second floor and it overlooked the alley. When I inquired into my request for the higher floor with a view, I was told all of those rooms were already given to other guests. So much for requesting a particular room and paying for one night in advance!!! I can say the room was clean enough. But the holes in the wall of the master bedroom where it looked like there may have once been a headboard, the missing smoke detector in the 2nd bedroom, missing light in the main bathroom & the one light that did work, blinked on & off were all issues that led to my dissatisfaction. The front desk staff, who were always very friendly, thanked me for bringing it to their attention but they didn't do anything about it while we were there. The exterior of the hotel made the place look very attractive as did the lobby. But the room certainly wasn't as well maintained. Hopefully, after we checked out, they took steps to fix these issues in the room. We did have a great breakfast in the hotel restaurant where the portions were plentiful & the service was very good. Coconut Grove is a really nice area but there were other hotels we walked by in the area that we would likely stay at next time we're in the area. This place "was" at one time in the past (maybe the 70's), THE place to go. But it no longer would be my 1st, 2nd or ever 3rd choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear GeoffM,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear of the uncommon number of shortcomings that you experienced during your stay. I have personally addressed each one of the issues listed in your review above with the applicable manager so that during your next stay you will not have the same experience.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Firstly the positives - good location from which to get on all main routes around Miami. Starbucks with free wifi within 5 min walk. Lovely marina just across the road. Friendly staff, efficient valet service.
Now for the not so great - the air con in our room was super noisy. It was like having a motorbike revving throughout the night. We called maintenance and he said it was normal and all the rooms were the same. We were only there for 3 nights (otherwise we would have checked out) so decided to put up with it along with some ear plugs! I note that other reviewers found their apartment impeccably clean. I would not describe ours as such. I would say it was adequately clean, though the coffee table in the lounge was dusty and the bathroom floor had thick black hairs in the corners. They definitely did not belong to us. The fridge also could have benefited from a good clean. Wifi in rooms was $10 a day but free in reception - who wants to sit in reception in their device? Pool area was ok, spa tub closed for reason unknown. All in all I was disappointed with our stay, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for and at less than $250 per night in Miami it would appear you get this.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear superwrong,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear of the uncommon number of shortcomings that you experienced during your stay. I have personally addressed each one of the issues listed in your review above with the applicable manager so that during your next stay you will not have the same experience.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked this hotel through the internet on 21 April. The period of our stay ( I would go with the family ) would be April 28 to May 2 . As I was going from Brazil and the arrival time is very early ( 4:10 on 29 / 04 ) , I booked a day before so I had no problem entering the room , as we all know, that always happens entry after 15:00 . Upon arriving at the site , I've been " reprimanded " by the attendant had not appeared since the previous day . He told me he would charge me this day .. In no time , I questioned it . ALWAYS do well in my travels .. After that came the biggest surprise ; had no room available so far ... I can not believe it . I make the reservation , pay for this " night " that just showed up at 06:00 and I can not use it . So why should I pay for it ? If the input is 15 and the output is 12.00 the next day , why was " questioned " about it ? Unfortunate that attitude . I have stayed in many hotels in Miami , and the world, and this is the FIRST time this happens . A total lack of ation of the attendant day ( today , April 28th , 06:30 ) . Be careful when booking this hotel! !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prsj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear prsj2013,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear of the uncommon check-in that you experienced during your stay. I have personally addressed this issue with our Front Office Manager so that during your next stay you will not have the same experience.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Generally speaking I'm a firm believer in both buyer beware, and you get what you pay for. That being said the rooms are spacious impeccably clean and well appointed. Valet is attentive and responsive. However on day one (of 5) I complained about the temp of the "heated pool" 70 degrees in the water. They sent a security guard to check it who told me the pool heater was rebooted, and it would be rectified. I took the liberty of the next two days to rent pool side cabanas at a beach resort as to give it time for the pool of 30,000 gallons or so to cycle and warm. (I know these things are not instantaneous) however on day 4 the pool was just as cold. The same individual was sent to "fix" the pool heater and advised me the pool heater has been broken for over a week and they are waiting for a contractor to come repair it. Now I didn't fall off the turn up truck yesterday, so he was either lying on day one, or day four or both.
When, I asked the front desk for a manager I was denied a manager and told she would take care of it.
Well, it's still bone chilling. Hardly what one would expect for $318 per night including tax.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed07093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ed07093,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear of the uncommon communication shortcommings that you experienced during your stay. I have personally addressed this issuewith our entire staff so that during your next stay you will not have the same experience.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here on the last leg of our Florida road trip. And couldn't have chosen a better last stay. This wasn't a hotel room but a very smart one bedroom apartment which was spacious and very comfortable.
It is situated in the very smart district of coconut grove (madona has a house here). There are very chilled restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity, and lots of shops and a cinema where you order a meal and then eat it at the table near your plush seat whilst watching the movie.. Very novel!!
The hotel also has a nice little restaurant and a great pool area, highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Bob B,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that local Coconut Grove area exceeded your night life and entertainment expectations.

I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,
Cliff B
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

It had been quite a while since my last visit and it was great to be back!! Although it was a short stay, my friends and I had an amazing. It really is so nice being able to go out for a drink or dinner and not having to drive. Raul was wonderful as always!! I can't wait for my next visit to Miami to stay at the Mutiny. :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank melodymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, Front Office Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Melodymc,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that Raul exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Cliff Baldwin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#44 of 124 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Property: The Mutiny Hotel
Address: 2951 S Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33133-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing