We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We did enjoy our stay at The Mutiny, which rents out condos but is run like a hotel. The location is great if you want to explore Cocoanut Grove and Biscayne. Adjacent building construction noise was very annoying. I know The Mutiny cannot control that, but we were not even given a heads-up during booking or even upon check-in. Otherwise, it was a very friendly and helpful staff. We'd return, but only if the construction was over.

Room Tip: Get a high up room on the south side. Better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Jackmac31406,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with the team and celebrate another satisfied guest.

I am sorry that the construction that is going on next door was disturbing during your stay. They are making great strides with the project and it will be completed soon.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    203
    65
    41
    28
See reviews for
256
199
24
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a wonderful experience. I stayed here for five nights from January to February for the Don Francisco Sabado Gigante Show and I had a wonderful stay. The staff was very attentive and professional. I have a special mention on behalf of Mayra Gil, who made my stay very pleasant and memorable. I want to thank her for her attention and service. She is a lovely person and great employee that she should be commended.
I recommend the Mutiny Hotel to everyone. It's a wonderful place to stay in.
Thank you
M. Rivas

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rivas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Rivas15,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with Mayra.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here six nights in February for the Miami Marathon and we had a very nice stay. A couple hiccups, but staff handled our concerns very well and overall our stay was wonderful.

The area surrounding the hotel is very walkable; with plenty of options for dining and shopping close at hand. The fitness center, back pool/patio area is very nice and we felt very much at home with our own kitchen, washer and dryer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Vicmaurer,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience. Also, Congratulations on completing the Miami Marathon.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team as we strive to eliminate the hiccups that you experienced.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Everything about this marvelous place is attractive: the rooms, the fitness room, the restaurant and, especially, those who work here. They are friendly, courteous, ready to project a positive image of the Mutiny Hotel.

Special mention on behalf of Mayra Gil, who made my stay here not just pleasant but also memorable. Mayra is a lovely woman, warm, and efficient. She should be commended.

I strongly believe that employees who deal directly with the public play an extremely important role in shaping the public images of their employers. Rest assured that Mayra Gil projects the best image of Mutiny Hotel.

Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear PatriciaF,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with Mayra.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights in January. The hotel is in a nice walkable area. The room is a good size with a full kitchen and a washer and dryer (only some units have washer/dryer). Considering it was the same price as a hotel, I'd say the value is certainly there. The fitness center and pool area are nice. The staff was helpful. The room was a bit 'worn' - tub was missing some grout but was not dirty and only one speaker worked on the stereo, cabinets were worn on the bottom. This may stem from this being a condo/hotel and perhaps major things are up to the owners of the unit. Regardless, I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear MarkT,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities and the great location in Coconut Grove. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience.

We are currently replacing the stereos in each unit with BOSE Wave Radios. At the time of your stay we had only been able to replace them in half of the units. I welcome you to return and experience the great sound technology that is in each room. We are constantly trying to improve and I will personally share your comments with our team as we strive to eliminate the hiccups that you experienced.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I'm still high on this hotel even though this last stay had a few hiccups. The television in the front room only had 4 channels, finally I gave up getting it fixed after three calls to maintenance (the last call at 8:00 p.m.), the internet was sporatic with access being denied due to an excess number of users, and getting the shower to work was a challenge. But this hotel still has the best location in The Grove and the staff is fantastic. Will still come back, maybe I'll have a better room next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear JohnE,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear that you had an uncommon amount of maintenance issues within your suite. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful customer service from the staff and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities and our great Coconut Grove location. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team as we strive to eliminate the hiccups that you experienced.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. While the location is great for Coconut Grove/Coral Gables touring, and there are a number of great attractions, the unit was disappointing. Bed was comfortable. Place is right on Biscayne Bay -- pretty. We have stayed in a lot of units with kitchens over the years, in both the US and Europe and this was the least well equipped we have ever seen. So, if you want a place to cook you may want to go elsewhere. There were no knives for cutting meat or veg, no cookware for the oven, no spatula, very limited number of utensils, so you have to wash as you go, and no linens or scrubbies to clean dishes with. Not to mention no pot holders for handling hot pans -- ouch. We called down to ask for a potholder and did rags and were told that they provided paper towel, as if that was enough. I mean who expects to have to pack potholders, dish rags and knives when they go on vacation, really? Also limited and poor was the wfi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear CynthiaB,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear that you had an uncommon amount of issues within your suite. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience exploring our great Coconut Grove location.

I have personally addressed your issues with the managers in the appropriate departments to ensure that our standard of service and amenities are not compromised.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Property: The Mutiny Hotel
Address: 2951 S Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33133-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing