We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“poorly equipped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mutiny Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mutiny Hotel
Ranked #16 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“poorly equipped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. While the location is great for Coconut Grove/Coral Gables touring, and there are a number of great attractions, the unit was disappointing. Bed was comfortable. Place is right on Biscayne Bay -- pretty. We have stayed in a lot of units with kitchens over the years, in both the US and Europe and this was the least well equipped we have ever seen. So, if you want a place to cook you may want to go elsewhere. There were no knives for cutting meat or veg, no cookware for the oven, no spatula, very limited number of utensils, so you have to wash as you go, and no linens or scrubbies to clean dishes with. Not to mention no pot holders for handling hot pans -- ouch. We called down to ask for a potholder and did rags and were told that they provided paper towel, as if that was enough. I mean who expects to have to pack potholders, dish rags and knives when they go on vacation, really? Also limited and poor was the wfi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear CynthiaB,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear that you had an uncommon amount of issues within your suite. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience exploring our great Coconut Grove location.

I have personally addressed your issues with the managers in the appropriate departments to ensure that our standard of service and amenities are not compromised.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    205
    66
    41
    28
See reviews for
257
201
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at the end of a long holiday for 4 nights. This hotel is excellent we expected a good hotel room but actually had suite. Excellent facilities, wish I could have brought large American fridge home with me. Pool area was excellent, but empty bar us (winter in Miami) was like a private pool wonderful. Maybe we are made of hardy stock from Scotland, Americans all had jumpers on while we sunbathed!! Good location would highly recommend. Only small complaint hotel wanted to charge over going rate for bottled water and wi fi!! A wee bit greedy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear CatherineS,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a helpful and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team adn celebrate another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our family of four stayed at The Mutiny and while we loved the location and the view from our small balcony, our room was not ok for a family.

Firstly on the positives, Coconut Grove is a lovely place and we loved the outlook and the view over the Marina. The pool and spa area was lovely also. There was a terrific wholefood type supermarket just down the street and plenty of restaurants and shops close by.

Sadly, on the matter of our room, we had booked a one bedroom apartment with a fold down bed for the kids to share. We advised there were four of us in advance at the time of booking. The fold down bed was a shocker....it didn't actually go down fully flat but was on an angle and was really uncomfortable. We spoke the girl at the front desk who checked and said this was 'normal'. Having stayed in many places with this setup, this was not normal. The bed was really uncomfortable and our unit was really small. With the bed unfolded, you cannot walk around at all and there is inadequate space for luggage. The bed couldn't sleep the two kids so our youngest child slept in with us for the second night.

Our room overlooked quite a busy corner so there was quite a bit of traffic noise and, one of the reasons we got a self contained apartment was to avoid the cost of eating out all the time. With the kitchen, this is small however, has a full size fridge and does have an oven. Sadly, there is no cook wear to use in the oven. No baking tray, no trays of any sort. I asked room service if there was a tray we could heat some food up on in the oven. The security guard had to come up with the person who was in charge of this who didn't appear to speak any English and he interpreted for me. The answer was no. There are no trays or anything at all I could use to heat up food in the oven. They advised there were saucepans which was true however, difficult to heat up pies in a saucepan on the stove top.

If you are a couple looking to eat out all the time and you don't mind some traffic noise, this place is clean and fine however, for a family, this wasn't ideal. We did talk to the girl on the front desk with our feedback who said she was sorry but that was it. Basically, so sad too bad.

Room Tip: Pick a room which is not near the busy corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear GemWa,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience.

I am saddened to hear that you had an uncommon issue regarding your sofa sleeper within your suite. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel amenities and our great Coconut Grove location. I will personally share your comments with our team as we strive to eliminate the hiccups that you experienced.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is a MUST stay when in Coral Gables.The staff & management are as friendly as it gets. Restaurant is great, room is clean & charming w/ modern amenities. Thank you for a wonderful stay! -DR

Room Tip: A balcony over the pool is the spot to get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenrockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear DarrenRockwell,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations by providing a clean and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were here for business and had no idea what to expect. Well, no problem. The place was top drawer all the way. Extremely well located. Rooms lavish and tasteful. Food terrific. Staff were all right out of a movie. Can't say enough. Look forward to goinb back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Sarah R,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that the entire staff exceeded your expectations by providing a friendly "Hollywood" hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in The Mutiny last week for business. I was extremely comfortable and this fully self-contained unit was luxurious. It had everything-washer/dryer, bidet, dishwasher, Bose sound system with commercial free channels! It was so nice to have the staff leave fresh fruit and cold water as a welcome. Breakfast the next morning on the pool deck was lovely....loved the waterfall and the service was so friendly and accommodating. We ended up having our meeting in the unit that day instead of the lobby, as it was so beautiful! Raisa is the manager, and she does such a wonderful job leading her staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethBDonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear ElizabethBDonn,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities. It is a pleasure to hear that we exceeded your expectations by providing a clean and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent property and very friendly and attentive Staff. Great location to Coconut Grove, Coral Gables and Miami. Rooms are spacious and clean, well appointed and comfortable. I have to go back again in a few weeks and will stay here again. Restaurant food is excellent, and service wonderful. Had a meeting in my room, and was a quiet , perfect place to meet. Great choice t stay if you are coming to the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg A, General Manager at The Mutiny Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear MichaelF,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Mutiny Hotel and taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your experience.

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy our hotel amenities, as well as, the restaurant. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations by providing a clean and friendly hotel experience. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfied guest.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance and I look forward to your return to the Mutiny Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Wishes,

Greg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,966 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mutiny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mutiny Hotel

Property: The Mutiny Hotel
Address: 2951 S Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33133-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mutiny Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations can boast such a distinctive and colorful character as Coconut Grove. In the heart of this tropical paradise sits The Mutiny Hotel, a luxurious all-suite property neighboring the pristine waters of Biscayne Bay. A bright swatch of coral set against the intensely blue South Florida sky, the Mutiny's 12-story tower epitomizes the South Florida style; vibrant colors compliment chic accommodations elegantly decorated in a modern-lavish motif. Long a playground for the elite, The Grove - as it is known by locals - is also a second home to many celebrities, artists, and jetsetters. Its entertainment and shopping district reflects the quirky-yet-sophisticated nature of its residents, and visitors can find everything from haute couture to haughty kitsch in the many shops at CocoWalk, steps from The Mutiny's front door. After all, where else can you see stars in broad daylight, dance through an island festival, and enjoy dinner at a funky cafe? Only at The Mutiny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mutiny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiny Hotel Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing