We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel to stay at!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
Ranked #77 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel to stay at!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The rooms have a kitchenette super comfortable and clean pool is not to big but everything else is great

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomby430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Miami.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    30
    21
    20
See reviews for
59
24
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We usually choose Towne Place Suites because of their affiliation with Marriott and (usually) predictable quality and service. However, this time we were a bit disappointed. Although our stay was OK, it was not as good as we have come to expect from this chain.

The property is a bit tired:
- When we went into the room, the carpet in the hallway was torn.
– The room was sweltering hot! It was 90 degrees outside and the air conditioner in the room was not working. So the room was probably 90 degrees - with the thermostat saying it was set at 63 degrees. We called the front desk and they sent someone up in about an hour. After that, we had to leave and go elsewhere until the air conditioning was fixed. It was just too hot in there. Thankfully the problem was remedied by the time we returned.
- When I picked up the phone to call front desk, the phone plunger was sticky. In other words, you had to wait for a minute for the plunger to come up before you could get a dial tone... a bit "yucky."
- We asked for a roll out cot for our room, which the staff were happy to provide. However, they brought it up after we had left the room, and did not bring any extra sheets or blankets with the cot. If you need more sheets, they will not bring them to you; you have to go to the front desk and get them yourself. (if you need a cot, ask for sheets and blankets right away, because when I went down late at night and they were all out of blankets. They told us to check in our closet but the closet did not have any more blankets, just sheets)

Not the end of the world... just a bit less than we have come to expect from this chain.

Then, (ha ha ha) we woke up at 4am because the alarm clock in the next room was going off! We called the front desk, and they confirmed the room was vacant. Obviously someone set it as a joke, but not very funny. I think cleaning staff should always make sure that alarms are not set when they prepare a room, so that vacant rooms don't have alarms blaring in the middle of the night.

On the flip side, the staff were quite friendly and did help us with directions to local restaurants and shopping. At least there was always a cheery voice on the other end of the phone. The property is very close to the freeway and is easy to get to. We did have a reservation glitch and the staff were very helpful, so kudos to the team who work there.

I think this property is due for a refresh. If you do stay here, you may want to ask to see the room before you actually pay. I think next time we will go down the road and try the other Towne Place Suites property at Doral.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your concerns and praises. It's great to hear that the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
I will share your concerns with our team in an effort to improve our quaility.
I also wanted you to know that we have a renvoation scheduled this year that will address your your concerns about this property being "dated". As the renovation happens in stages, we have just finished installing new air conditioner units in our suites.
Again, thank you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
229 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A bit challenging to find but well worth it for a drop in overnight stay with a family of 6. Suite was clean and beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast is grab and go. Not hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuaelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the later part of February for 5 days. The entire property is run down. The staff is less than friendly and uncareing. The furniture in the rooms appears to have been purchased at a fire sale. The items don't even match each other. We had ants all over the kitchen area. We notified the front desk and were told that the ants come inside that time of year. They were supposed to treat the room, but the ants remained there the entire. We had to purchase ant traps. I stay at many hotels around the country mostly at Marriotts but this by far is the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. If you are visiting the area and you would like to enjoy your stay don't waste your money, unless of course you like ants.

Room Tip: You can't find one here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Pros: friendly front desk, decent grab & go breakfast, close to hwy, kitchen in room, comfortable bed.
Cons: dirty couch, tiny bugs, loud & creepy clientele, keys not working, paper thin walls, dark & weird smelling hallways.
Was scheduled to stay here for 3 nights, but canceled the last night and went elsewhere. Room was ok, though couch could have used serious cleaning. There were these tiny bugs, not a lot, but enough to notice. The walls are paper thin... I was awakened by the next room's alarm each morning and could hear every word of his conversations. My biggest complaint is the clientele (not the hotels fault). First night it was shirtless men in the parking lot drinking beer out of the back of their truck and whooping it up at the pool until 2am. The next night it was teenagers yelling in the parking lot at 1am, then loud guests having extended conversations in the halls at 6am. Geesh! If you must stay here, bring earplugs and stay in a room not facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and 4 nights. When we first got to the hotel there was a mix up with the reservation. We almost didn't get a chance to stay there. However, there was a representative there by the name of Ivy Santiago who was wonderful. She was customer service oriented, caring, kind, and extremely helpful. She made it possible for us to stay at the hotel. She is a true gem and they are lucky to have her. The only issue that I really have is the cleanliness of the hotel. There was some sort of brownish red stuff on the bathtub floor. We swore it was blood because that is what it looked like. However, the representatives assured us that it was just rust and not blood. Anyhow, we were scared to put our feet in the tub and had to go to KMART to get a bathmat. I thought that this was unacceptable. If it was rust then they should have painted over it or something. Also there was hair found in the drawer and in the corners of the bathroom floor. I am a neat freak and very meticulous so I notice everything. The good points about the property is that the rooms are spacious. Four of us stayed there and we all had our own space which is nice. The location is great nearby the major highways and restaurants. The beach is about 30 minutes away. Also, make sure you find your own breakfast they didn't have too much of anything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lashell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Booked this place last minute, one night before arrival to miami as i was on short notice. Fantastic value for price. Large studio with small kitchen and excellent size desk for work. The room is very spacious and can easily sleep 4 ppl. The overall cleanliness is also above average and i would definitely return. Just keep in mind that the hotel advertises its only 15 miles from miami beach/south beach but that is easily 35-40 minutes. not very convenient if the beach is your main destination. Free parking is also available and the breakfast included is only coffee and packaged muffins....

Room Tip: Get a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
1.3 mi away
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 4 in Miami Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
#2 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
7.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West/Doral Area
9.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes

Property: TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
Address: 8079 NW 154 Street, Miami, FL 33016
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Miami Lakes Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing