We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convienent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Ranked #36 of 120 Hotels in Miami
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convienent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a return trip from Cancun. We have stayed before and were not as happy as previous occasions. However, it is in a great location and I always feel safe in this hotel with my family.

We stayed at a VERY Luxurios hotel in cancun and i think that didn´t help our impressions.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank goseminoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    474
    191
    54
    19
See reviews for
328
255
45
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. This time though, as other reviewers have noted, there is ongoing renovations and construction the other side of the street. On the evening I arrived, 2/3 elevators were shut down because work being done. The front desk is being overhauled. On the flip side, rooms are nice and you get free Internet. Also, for the inconvenience of the renovations, a free continental breakfast is given, which is a good idea considering. Staff are nice and helpful. All-in-all, I still recommend this hotel, but all will be better when work inside and the building next door are completed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roombaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Currently there is refurbishment underway of parts of this hotel. So there is no proper lobby/front desk, no bar,, no restaurant, no room service. Continental Breakfast is served on plastic plates in the Conference hall.and mini-bars are dry!
Add to this - street work outside that persisted until midnight and another major construction site opposite the hotel for the morning wake up call.
It makes the $200+ rate I paid for an otherwise pleasant room, a poor deal.
If they are still refurbishing when you plan to book, demand a low price or go elsewhere.
I'd place the personal value of a King SIze Room currently at this hotel at - $80

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZozoCalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N IRELAND
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Stayed in hotel 2 nights after a cruise it was a very short taxi ride from the port the hotel was modern bright and a very large bedroom with 2 beds
Very friendly staff and good buffet breakfast
Not a lot to do around the hotel at night but close to the buses for South Beach

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from Fri 9/18 through Sun 9/20 and it did not live up to the Marriott brand I am accustomed to. I had read that this hotel had been renovated but it did not convey with the rooms. I cannot remember which room we stayed in but upon exiting the elevator to our floor, there was the strong odor of chlorine as if the swimming pool was on our floor. We mold in our bathroom which was indicative of the black spots in various places on the wall and shower curtain. The toiled ran sporadically throughout the stay and sounded as if it was being flushed or water was running. When we first heard this we thought we had left the water on. I did complain to the front desk and was offered a different room but because we were with another couple and had settled in, we declined the offer and just sprayed the bathroom with Lysol. We were also offered a free breakfast coupon, which was average, and 5000 points of which we have not yet seen. We paid for parking for the duration of our stay and upon our arrival on Saturday night we were told the ticket had expired. We took the ticket to the front desk and were issued a new one with no apology nor explanation.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or would I stay here again. The service at the front desk could use some improvement. We did enjoy the bartender on duty that Friday night, we did not get his name but he was a joy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ijohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed at the Courtyard hotel in down town Miami. Great hotel and staff, especially Jim at the bar who was vey friendly and knowledgeable. Daytime there are shops to visit in the area but the problem is at night, there is nothing around. We searched for restaurants and only found three in the immediate vicinity. There is a great monorail which circles the area, great views, free. At night you look down and just see empty streets, shops closed, This is for quite a large area, it was all very very quiet, scarily so. On speaking to locals its normal, there is nothing there a night. The only live area was Bayfront, 3 blocks away but that was very busy, tacky and loud. Not recommended. You have to drive to South beach or places like Coconut Grove (recommended) to find restaurants and any type of decent life.
In the heat of down town Miami there are two great restaurants, Fratelli Milano, 213SE 1st Street. This is a small very very friendly place where all know each other and everyone is made welcome. On sitting down a man eating neaby, who works locally said "Good choice" re venue. Highly recommended especially the food and staff.
Another restaurant was Puntino Italian restaurant 353 SE 2nd Street. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the manager Ernesto made our stay very welcome. The food was excellent. Again highly recommended food and staff

Helpful?
2 Thank oracleviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Wasn't the nicest Courtyard I have been to but it was OK. Really nothing special about this hotel. Location is OK cleanliness OK, staff OK, just OK.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bossguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#46 of 120 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,658 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#45 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#52 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,197 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2106 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing