We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location - great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Ranked #38 of 121 Hotels in Miami
st. louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location - great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Went to Miami to celebrate 21st anniversary and we stay at the Courtyard. I was able to use my sister's associate discount so I didn't have to pay alot of money but the hotel was very nice. The location was close enough to the bus line (we caught the bus to South Beach for $4.00 per person-round trip, cheaper than renting a car and paying to park) or you can take metromover. The staff was very nice. I ordered food from the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. They hotel had a business center, fitness center and a nice pool.

If you have kids in college and trying to taking a vacation on a budget, this is a great location to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stlbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    480
    196
    55
    20
See reviews for
332
261
46
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel! it was awesome, great location in Miami!!! Close to Bayside Market (about 6 blocks) and to the downtown stores. My room was on the 14th floor with an amazing view of the city and the bay!!!, also my bed was very comfortable!! you can spend the whole day in bed!!! The staff was very helpful and friendly, specially Lucila and Chris at the Front Desk and Peter (doorman), and our maid ( I did not remember her name)

We ordered room service and it was very good! The Ropa Vieja was delcicious!!! I had a courtyard club sandwich, it was good but the french fries were reheated...

I definitely will stay in this place again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ticoSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed here for one night before a cruise with five kids, including a baby. Something I read said there was a recent rennovation, and this was apparent from the rooms. Everything seemed new and clean in the rooms, although there were signs of the "old" hotel that had merely been covered with paint and that were already dinged and scratched (I noticed this mostly in the entrances to the elevators in the lobby. The room furnishings were typical for a Courtyard, but new. We needed a crib, which was provided (a pack 'n play). I don't know downtown Miami, but I had a sense the hotel may not be in the best part of town, and some of the people coming in and out of the hotel made me wonder what they were up to. Nothing specific there, so maybe I was just having a 'country come to town' reaction to a big city with lots of action. On my floor, the hotel parking garage was accessible directly from a door next to the elevator. I assume the same is true for the other floors that were adjacent to the parking deck. It made me think the hotel wasn't the most secure, since anyone could access the guest floors by entering the parking deck with or without a car. There was a shuttle for $5/person to the port. The hotel was a fine place to stay for a night before a cruise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesitant-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My family of five stayed here for the Christmas weekend. We had a wonderful time at this hotel...the service was exceptional, esp room service, the rooms were very clean, and the staff were all very friendly. However, the breakfast should be included in the price. The location is really convienient since there is a CVS pharmacy a block away, the major shopping street in downtown Miami, Flaglar Street is about 2 blocks away...good for shopping. Also, the Bayside market Place is a short distance away but walkable...my husband and i walked there almost everyday. i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the downtown miami area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

This Hotel is great for a one night visit prior to going on a cruise, I would not want to stay there for an extended period because of the noise, try and get a high room to the front overlooking the bay.
Wehad a room to the rear overlooking the construction work, but it was weekend so was not a problem, it is not the cheapest place for a beer but there are bars nearby.
All in all a good pre cruise hotel.
Better than the RED ROOF last year, avoid that place like the plague

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Continual noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OzYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I booked a last minute one night stay at the Courtyard Miami Downtown two days before a cruise from the Port of Miami. My rate included buffet breakfast and transportation to the Port. When I arrived at the hotel I was upgraded to a one-bdrm suite as I'm a Silver Elite Marriott rewards member. That was very unexpected and definitely appreciated.

The lobby looked like most other Courtyard properties I've stayed in, open and spacious with an eating area at the far end. The internet cafe was to the right of the dining area which included four terminals (free.. always a plus..) but there were some problems with the connections.

My room was nice, a spacious suite with separate living and sleeping areas. The bed was Marriott comfy however I could tell the hotel itself is old, but renovated, as the pipes in my bathroom were LOUD and the airconditioners were also loud. The room had that 'hotel smell' but for one night it was fine.

I ate at the restaurant in the evening and again in the morning and was very pleased with both the food and the service. I caught the shuttle to the Port in the morning and though there was an initial mix up with the time, the staff at the hotel were quite accomodating and called me to let me know the time had changed. As well, when the shuttle came I was at the internet cafe. Someone actually came over to get me to ensure I was not left behind.

All in all, this property reminded me of why I remain a loyal Marriott rewards member. It's not always because of the physical hotel itself as the last few I've stayed in can do with some updating and remodelling. What keeps me loyal is Marriott's service standard which is high and consistent, no matter what property you are in. The Miami Courtyard downtown provided the level of service I have come to expect and appreciate.

  • Liked — Laundry room!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank june252000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We arrived at the Courtyard Downtown after a very very long day of flying from Nevada. The lobby was gorgeous! We walked up to the desk to check in. I had booked the hotel through EasyClick.com and they immediately charged my card. However, they failed to make a reservation with the hotel. The lady at the front desk, Cedelia, was wonderful. She said that this had happened with EasyClick a lot. Luckily (due to numerous cancellations from looming Hurricane Ike) she had a room for us. It was a beautiful king room overlooking the pool and downtown. She even gave us complimentary breakfast buffet coupons for the next morning for our trouble checking in. Loved the room! We were too tired at that point to explore downtown or go to Bayside so we ate at the hotel's restaurant. It was good and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet the next morning was also good. Checkout was a a breeze. We caught the shuttle to the Port of Miami at 10:30 the next morning for $5.00 per person which was also reasonable. I will stay again the next time we are in Miami.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly staff, proximity to Port of Miami
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vonluvscruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#43 of 121 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,727 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#47 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,068 reviews
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#48 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2106 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing