We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant Staff/Clean Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area to your Saves list
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #35 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
165 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant Staff/Clean Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked this room last minute, after deciding on a cruise. This hotel was not part of the cruise package, as we booked too late. When we checked in, we told them we were going on a cruise the next morning and the check in person immediately asked her assistant to give us printed directions to the port and offered to give us a wake up call. The hotel was clean, staff very friendly and valet parking for downtown Miami was great. A plus was that we forgot allergy medicine and the hotel staff gave us directions to a CVS in walking distance from the hotel,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    465
    189
    53
    19
See reviews for
319
253
45
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous and pointed us to a local Brazilian steakhouse, where we proceeded to stuff ourselves! I would recommend it if you are looking for a quiet place to get some rest before your cruise. It's location is not very convenient to the South Beach Area, or any of Miami's renowned nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikeyb1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUISPAMSIS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here before a cruise. Rooms were nice and clean. Service was excellent. It is a short walk to Bayside Marketplace. Plenty of choices to eat and shop. They have a shuttle to the cruise terminal. We had no issues whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed her for business three days. While the location is great and I liked the service and the people working here, the hotel feels like walking into 1975. Stay away from the restaurant, we had a pizza while working and a breakfast the next day. Wouldn´t recoomend any of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel.

Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience, and your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly. We will definitely look at what changes need to made in order to provide the best experience possible.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Last 2weeks of 2013 I spend in Miami downtown; I loved this place due to location n wonderful staff. I remember how they helped me with my wi fi issue n get me another room with in couple of hrs since I complained. Fernando is one great guy out here who supported me with all require info... room was pretty clean n services were awesome....If I visit again I gonna stay in this hotel again. You never feel bore in this hotel due to location n very near to all attractions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shobhit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel, and with Fernando specifically.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you. We will commend Fernando on a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I too am a loyal Marriott member and chose this purely sight-unseen based on reviews and it being a Marriott. When we arrived and pulled in (downtown locations are always tight), we pulled into Valet and were stared at for about 5 minutes. Once we put it in park and got out and asked where to park to check-in, someone came over to assist. Check-in was easy however we got our keys and no mention of anything else - where is breakfast, where is the concierge, did we have any questions, etc. Oh well. However, once we got to our room on the 14th floor, the keys didn't work. We had to call down and have someone come up with new keys. The room was clean but small and the beds were horrible. We were down for a Miami Heat game and were happy with the location and price. This place needs a renovation and a customer service face-lift for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Riggs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel.

We do take every guest’s comment very seriously and we really appreciate the great feedback you have provided. Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience, and we will definitely look at what changes need to made in order to provide the best experience possible.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for seven days during Christmas 2013. Although the staff was very friendly and helpful, we expected more from a hotel located in Florida's most exciting and vibrant city.

We were disappointed from the moment we entered the door. The design of the lobby made you feel like you were back at the airport. Instead of a modern urban reception desk, they employ cold little kiosks that do a poor job of making you feel comfortable and welcome.

The rooms are just average. Our room which was supposed to have a good view, butted up against the neon lit Bank of America building. This building obstructed any view of the city. The bed was very stiff and uncomfortable. The fan for the air conditioner was positioned right at bed level which blew on my husband while he was trying to sleep. We had to move one of the chairs in front of it to impede the cold blast of air that was blowing on him.

The bathroom was small and barely adequate. There was simply a sink, a toilet, and a tub with no counter space at all. If it weren't for our hanging toiletry bags we wouldn't have had any space for anything. There was a tiny space just above the toilet but we were afraid to put anything there for fear it would fall into the toilet.

The restaurant on the premises called "The Bistro" was more of a cafeteria. Bistros are defined mostly by the foods they serve with French home-style cooking, and slow-cooked foods like cassoulet, or bean stew. The foods here are tasty enough but not of the Bistro variety. They may have tasted better had the ambiance been more bistro-like.

The only saving grace to this hotel is the location. It is literally within walking distance of many downtown destinations: Brickell Avenue, Bayside, Port Of Miami, and lots of good shopping. I was able to walk to Macy's to return some Christmas presents and walk back with no problems. This is a nice benefit as parking is always problematic in metropolitan areas.There are also some nice eating establishments along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north west corner away from the big building next door. This building dominate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel.

Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience, and your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly. We will definitely look at what changes need to made in order to provide the best experience possible.

We would like to thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#43 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,589 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#45 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,125 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#56 of 119 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing