We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay -- but expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Alberta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Okay -- but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for 17 people for a 1 night stay pre-cruise out of the Port of Miami.
Choose hotel based on location - which was good - 10 minute walk to the Bayside Shopping centre with shops and restaurants/bars and lots to see and do.
Check in was slow, desk clerk seemed to have something else on her mind and wasn't overly interested in doing her job. Didn't tell us about the breakfast or shuttle to cruise -- I had to ask another staff member.
Some confusion on booking shuttle bus to Port the next morning, but I did finally get it all sorted out. Good shuttle at only $5 per person, once you get it booked - AND CONFIRMED.
Our room was okay. We booked the king suite with hide a bed for our family of 4 and requested a roll away. The suite was a good size with SMALL balcony. Had small fridge and sink. Could use a renovation in the near future.
Elevators where very slow and busy and you had to wait a long time to catch one.
Every member of our group complained about the awful sleep they had - beds hard and lumpy and in our room we where woken up at 7 AM (on a Sunday) to a garbage truck right outside our room and workers tearing off shingles into the garbage truck.
Breakfast was basically a credit at Starbucks in the lobby area with okay food.
Overall, I expected more, or maybe too much from a Courtyard by Marriott. The location was good, but when 17 people have a bad night's sleep, location doesn't do much.
I would rethink choosing this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami you give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you for your feedback.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Check in was efficient and the manager was very attentive to help with restaurant selections. The room was well appointed and free wifi a plus. I was in town on business and the wifi was adequate to run my VPN connection which has been an issue with other hotels. Location is great and lots of restaurants within walking distance. The Starbucks bistro worked well for breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Attended conference at Hyatt which was booked. This hotel will provide you with the basics. Mostly clean rooms, comfortable beds, tv, and internet. Starbucks coffee and breakfast options available downstairs. The rooms seem a bit run down, probably wear and tear of being near convention center and having a high volume of customers constantly. The gym was good, although the weight/cable machine was broken on one side, a few cardio machines and lower free weights that are good for women.

The concierge did recommend some excellent and healthy restaurants that delivered which were delicious. Check in was too slow, especially late at night I would have appreciated more attentive service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLintheSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here Sunday, February 17th. It was cool that night and we found it quite funny that everyone was running around with scarves and hats and "freezing to death". We came from -30 so plus 57 felt like Summer. The hotel is basic but it's clean and the location is great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very basic hotel, though everything was in working order. Good location, friendly staff. Not a hotel to stay at for any food service -- basically a small facility on the reception floor about two steps up from a well-stocked office microwave pantry. Functional, but not fit to invite clients over for a bite. Stay here for the price and location, not for the frills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard for the boat and art shows and found it to be top notch! The staff was outstanding - always at the ready with a smile to answer questions and lend assistance. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Unfortunately the balconies were under renovation, during our stay as that would have been an enjoyable benefit. The hotel is conveniently located within less than a block of the free train that provides great access to many downtown spots. We look forward to heading back to the Courtyard for our next visit to downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler007FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel.

I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Miami.

At Your Service,


Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario. Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were really happy with the Starbuck's bistro - quick friendly service and good food. The hotel was surprisingly quiet as it seems to be popular with people on their way to or from their cruise ships. There is some traffic noise (Miami drivers like to honk their horns a lot). It is around the corner from a Metromover station and walking distance to Mary Brickell village and Bayside mall.

Room Tip: Maybe there are better rooms not so close to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyOLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#41 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,472 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#47 of 120 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#