We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and quiet and good breakfast at the Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Ontario. Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet and good breakfast at the Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were really happy with the Starbuck's bistro - quick friendly service and good food. The hotel was surprisingly quiet as it seems to be popular with people on their way to or from their cruise ships. There is some traffic noise (Miami drivers like to honk their horns a lot). It is around the corner from a Metromover station and walking distance to Mary Brickell village and Bayside mall.

Room Tip: Maybe there are better rooms not so close to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyOLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    482
    196
    55
    20
See reviews for
333
262
46
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two night in February, we arrived late in the evening and were met by Claudia on the desk, we checked by the nicest person ever on a hotel reception desk, she always had a great smile and always came to say hi, the hotel has just been refurbished and we had a great room, large, and quiet, great comfy bed, we had breakfast from the coffee bar and it was fine, the was also free coffee, the breakfast was good value and there restaurants within a few minutes walk, we also went to one and had a great meal, the Miami people mover stop within 2 mins walk from the front door, I would stay here again for certain, the pople mover will take you almost anywhere, fast and free

Room Tip: we had room 910, great room, near the elevators, but never heard any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob6852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel.

We will definately give Claudia a recognition in our next associate luncheon.

I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you should the opportunity arise.

At Your Service

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in January for 1 night pre-cruise and it was a wonderful stay. I was greeted immediately and check-in was easdy. The room was clean and spacious. There was a big window that faced the water, but we overlooked buildings in the construction phase. The location was perfect, Bayside is walkable, a CVS on the next block, a liquor store close by and even a Marshalls!

The lobby is small, but has a nice sitting area. The staff were very nice and helpful.

The ride to the dock was about $12. WATCH the cabbies, because ours had the meter running as he was loading luggage and he certainly took his time driving. He also came with a friend/wife in the front seat, which took space away from us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel. I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you should the opportunity arise again.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for five nights recently in February. I found the staff unfailingly helpful and friendly during this time. The rooms and bed were comfortable; during the stay I had both a king suite and a king room at different times, both of which were clean and of decent size. Bathroom was a a decent size, with good water pressure, although the toilets are set at an angle, which I found slightly odd. Decor was slightly dated, however there were no other problems with the room. Wifi was available for free throughout the hotel, but usually was somewhat slow.

The major downside of the hotel was a lack of breakfast and dinner options, there was no buffet or table service available, but there was food for purchase at a coffee stand. Fortunately, there was an Au Bon Pain next door. Also, there are some nearby restaurants and bars for dining in the evening.

Overall, I would give the hotel 3.75 stars and would consider staying here again if in Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARAK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel. I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you should the opportunity arise.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked into this hotel for one night, pre-cruise. We arrived at 3pm and were given a room on the 14th floor, with a king-sized bed. There was a sign on the door to the balcony warning patrons that the balcony was off-limits because of on-going construction. There was actual on-going construction in the next room, with someone using an electric jack-hammer on the adjoining wall. The floor safe also did not work. The young man at the desk was very helpful and politely gave us another room, this on the 4th floor. Not a king, but two doubles. That was OK, but the awful odor in the room was not: it smelled as if someone had vomited on the carpet and an unsuccessful attempt had been made to clean it using copious amounts of Javex. So, back down to the front desk. Again, no problem changing to a third room, this time on the third floor; facing a construction site across the street. The thick window actually did a good job of muting most of the noise. The earplugs that we always bring with us blocked out the rest of the noise. Only a faint, musty-moldy odor in this room, so we took it (only staying one night, after all). Will not be coming back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank migresch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained and clean for our guest. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami you give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Peggy JImenez
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

our family decided to stay at this hotel before our cruise. One of the things we required when we were booking was a breakfast. when researching the courtyard marriott downtown maimi, their website indicated that they have a breakfast buffet.
This morning we arrived downstairs for breakfast and we were told they switched their restaurant about 3 months ago but they never updated their website. They now have a bistro style restaurant where you order from a small menu. the food was not bad but when you expect one thing and receive another, it is very dissapointing.

The other thing I don't like about this hotel is the layout of their bathroom. the door opens out into the bedroom. it swings out wide and is a tight squeeze . the bathroom sink is small and right next to the towel holder. so when I was washing your hands, I hit my shoulder on the towel holder several times.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful. I can't say I would stay at this hotel again, but I cannot complain about the staff. they were very accommodating and that is a reason why I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback I am so sorry to hear that there was some mis understanding with regards to breakfast. The hotel converted to the Bistro Concept 2 1/2 years ago. We did offer breakfast to our guest during our exterior renovation during the months of June to mid December 2012. Once our renovations were completed we did not offer this amenity.

Please accept my apologies for letting you down. . We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Once again Thank you for your feedback.

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel boasts of a recent upgrade but the upgrade does not go beyond the lobby. The rooms are very old, with an air conditioner built into the wall. The beds are old and lumpy along with the furnishings in the room. Rooms are not as clean as they should be. Lots of dust on the lamps. It is an ok location, but the hotel is not the best. I was stuck by a protruding nail out of the carpeted floor. The hotel would not accomodate my request to move to another room. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wadhamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained and clean for our guest. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#44 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#43 of 121 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,739 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#48 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,255 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2106 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing